We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip & trendy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel to your Saves list
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hip & trendy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel is a typical Morgan's hotel, hip & trendy. The check-in went quick and the staff was friendly en helpful. Our room was very good but not so clean. The floor wasn't cleaned for our entire stay. This must be better for a hotel of this quality. The restaurant and especially the Skybar with pool are great. The cocktails are very good and the atmosphere is nice. You can find better food in Hollywood so the restaurant isn't a must but it is nice to eat there first and then go to the Skybar.
In total we enjoyed our stay and come back when we come to L.A. again!

Room Tip: the rooms with balcony our nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hi Lukd,

Great feedback, thank you. I am glad you enjoyed yourself while staying with us and enjoying your time at our restaurant and pool. Please reach out to me directly in the future should your travels bring you back to LA at MondrianLA@mhgc.com

Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    311
    156
    85
    74
See reviews for
86
435
69
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I would just like to start and say that I will definitely be returning to the Mondrian, celebrating my 21st birthday was made even better by the staff here in this amazing hotel.

I wouldn't recommend it to my parents, who like the quiet vibe when travelling, but for three 21 year old girls it was perfect. Anyone writing on here complaining about noise obviously should have read reviews beforehand about it. This isn't the place to stay on the weekend if you have trouble sleeping, they do have pool parties (which are awesome fun) as well as other events.

We had a King Studio room which was amazingly decorated, the staff were helpful with every request and were very kind and caring. The manager Ryan was specifically helpful throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Book early to get a discount on the Mondrian website
See more room tips
Green Features: They had a sign saying they would collect separated rubbish which was a nice change along with the usual "will change sheets as requested" and "will replace towels if left on the floor"
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hello Rhrogers1,

Thank you for the great feedback, It is always a pleasure to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay with us. Please feel free to reach out to me directly should your travels bring you back to the LA area.

Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We loved our stay at The mondrian. Our room was great and the area was safe and clean. The concierge was helpful and knowledgeable of the area. The front desk staff were AMAZING! We've never felt more welcome in a hotel. The front door staff were great and helpful. Couldn't suggest a nicer place to stay. 11/10

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hello Brock A,

I am happy you enjoyed your time here at Mondrian LA. Thank you for your feedback it is always nice to hear great service. Please feel free to reach out to me directly should your travels bring you back to the LA area.

Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Sweet baby Jesus those rooms are ugly! The wallpaper, those off-pink, cheap translucent curtains that separate the room from that useless corner with the tiny sink and desk. That gross, fungus loving, plastic chair in the shower, that tub stuck in the corner of the shower stall. The evil queen mirror thing in the middle of the room. What??

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hi 5StarBohemian,

Thank you for the constructive criticism, we strive to provide the best service possible and we understand that we could not meet your expectations when it came to our décor and design of our rooms. We truly respect your opinion very much and trust you find a hotel suited for you.

Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I come to LA for work often, and my company puts us up here. I can't say enough about how well the hotel treats. They're very flexible with our needs and the staff goes above and beyond to make sure we are comfortable and well taken care of. Whether we've needed printing for a presentation or it was an extra bottle of water on the house, customer service is no.1.

Though being in West Hollywood, it's a popular and busy spot. Full of scensters, star makers and wanna bee's, the weekends are the hardest to handle, since the hotel hosts exclusive parties. While i understand this is the bread and butter of the hotel, it can be disturbing to it's guests who are not there to party. So, i've learned to just meet up with friends or take myself out of the equation on Friday/Saturday eves.

Access to the pool is the only thing i would argue. Policy is no reservations, yet some one's got pull because there are reservation tags put on choice beds well before 9am. I've learned to just get down there early, and stake my claim. It can be a bit dog eat dog.

When the pool parties begin at noon on the weekends (yes, daytime pool party), it can get crowded and the non-guests start staking out territory. The staff does their best to manage the beds and give preference to paying guests. But on occasion, a scenster will nab one, and it's hard to ask them to move.

I would also suggest eating outside the hotel: you'll save money and there's a lot more to explore over on 3rd st, Melrose and Santa Monica just a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hello Meapale,

Thank you for your feedback, this is good information and we definitely do our best to accommodate everyone at our pool. Our parties are fun and full of great people and understand that it may not be for all. Please reach out to me directly should your travels bring you back to the Los Angeles area.

Regards,
Luis
MondrianLA@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I went to a party at the Mondrian's SkyBar and this place is gorgeous, even at night. The lounge is awesome too and quite a few people (including us) were doing selfies and 'photo shoots' at this very contemporary modern hotel. Love it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hi Aidhakhalil,

I am happy you had a great time at Skybar, please reach out to me directly if you return at luis.saldana@mhgc.com

regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very stylish and glamorous hotel. Cosy rooms, nice reception and a popular roof terrace.
Exactly what you need in order to get in the mood of the city that lives under the lights of Hollywood.
The only disadvantage is that duting the evening you get some noise from the rooftop bar in some of the rooms.
You should also be prepared to use your own car or a taxi for almost everywhere you need to go, although the hotel is situated near the famous West Sunset Blvd.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello Dimitrisk,

Thank you for your comments, its great to hear you enjoyed yourself while visiting us. Please feel free to reach out to me directly in the future should you visit us Los Angeles again.

Luis
Luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#13 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new incarnation of one of the original luxury boutique hotels draws its inspiration from the serene coastal landscapes of Southern California and captures everything the Sunset Strip stands for – excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests are bathed in a sensuous daylight that highlights the creamy whites and warm marigold palette of the entryway. Mondrian Los Angeles also celebrated the recent introduction of three new public spaces, including new poolside cabanas, a lobby bar and café, and specialty curated lifestyle shop, BASE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.