We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite hotel in L.A” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Exclusive Special Rate
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Favourite hotel in L.A”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've been to L.A a few times and always end up going back to the Mondrian (Sky Bar) for the best mojitos, views of the city and pool scene. This hotel is in a great location on sunset...right near the Chateau Marmont (great for a few drinks) and right near Hollywood Blvd, although not in walking distance but a short drive away and far enough from the hustle and bustle of tourists. I love this hotel, great place to watch beautiful people. Be warned, this is not a place to walk around in sweats and t-shirt :) dress to impress and you won't be disappointed. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Amber e…. Wow! It sounds like you got the total Mondrian LA experience….and more! The mojitos are to die for! A cold mojito and lounge chair by our pool…Could anything be better? Thanks for the amazing post and we hope to see you over summer at one of our many pool parties. Sunday pool parties begin right after Memorial Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    274
    136
    69
    66
See reviews for
63
376
57
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pulling up at the Mondrian there is a group of teenagers clutching taking photos with their phones and screaming, security are keeping them at bay, all very Hollywood! The bellhop has secured our bags and we are at reception with bottle of Mondrian water (how very LA) within seconds. The staff here is seriously slick, and we are in our room only minutes from arriving. The staff are also seriously discrete, apologising for having to run the gauntlet of teenagers to get in, but never divulging who was staying to attract the attention. The rooms are seriously cool lots of blond wood and white, a lounge with a study, a great bathroom with Malin and Goetz products and the bed is seriously comfortable, made it the perfect LA base.
The Gym is well appointed and the bars and restaurants are fantastic, (sometimes reserving entry only to those staying in the hotel) The Pool deck and bar are a must when you stay here. A great place to stay if you want to feel like and be treated like a movie star!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Cheers MelbourneMannin! That’s Hollywood and Mondrian for you… sexy and stylish! Our rooms are like a love/hate relationship, you love it because it’s like a dream and you hate it because you never want to leave. Thanks for the post and hope to have you back again to face the gauntlet again (are you sure they weren’t waiting for you)?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location right on Sunset: good restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Five or six valets meet you to park your car, which you don't need again (first extra charge daily parking). Reception was lukewarm, the room was nice, but expected for the price. The TV is set behind a mirror that sits in the middle of the room. Trendy but not particularly useful. Nice toiletries. No ice on our floor - we had to order from room service every time. The fitness center is small as is the pool. The restaurant is pricey but delicious. No in-room coffee maker, and complimentary coffee ends at 9 AM.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello nLuvCbad. We do have a prime location to all the hot spots in LA. Like you said, walking distance to amazing shops and LA landmarks. Hope you where able to walk a few feet to our amazing restaurant Asia de Cuba in the hotel lobby. The salmon dish we serve is just incredible. Hope you come back and visit soon. Thanks for nice remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I have stayed there in the middle of March. We enjoyed our stay very much,but the room didn't have balcony. The room was big enough for 2 people. The bathroom was amazing, lot of light, space, mirrors,dressing table to do makeup, hair drier, soap, shampoo, etc.,a lot of clean towels. There were no bathrobes and slippers though. It was disappointing. There was some package of slippers, t-shirt etc.,for the add. money, but I think for that kind of hotels at least the slippers should've been for free. The room was always clean, the maid cleaned it when we were out. The king size bed was super comfy!!! I had slept there like i've never slept before, no kidding'. There was a fridge full of drinks from juices to Vodka, big variety. TV, OMG you're gonna love it! The room itself was very fashionable, furniture was nice! The pool area was very nice and pretty big. The same area at nights works as SkyBar, you should definitely go there! Even I wasn't stay there I would definitely go for breakfast to Asia de Cuba restaurant which is right next to SkyBar area. Their food is just wonderful and delicious! The location is good, there are a lot of taxi right next to the hotel (but don't use Independent taxi, the worst service ever and they always trick you with the price), restaurants, bars, malls are 15 minutes walking. The staff in the hotel is very friendly and helpful. Our flight was at 10am so around 11am we were at the hotel and our room was ready.
So I would definitely stay there again, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Babochkina! I am overwhelmed by all the complements here! I LOVE it!!!! Doesn't the room make you feel like you’re in a fantasy? The television in the mirror still trips me out. Sorry about the lack of bathrobes in the room. It is a standard to have them in the room. We do have slippers on request. Glad you where able to experience the sensational food over at Asia de Cuba. The calamari salad has to be the greatest thing created!!! Hope you and your husband join us again soon. Let me know when you are coming in and I will do my best to get you a balcony room. Thank for all the great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Mondrian in December 2012, our first stop on our honeymoon and first time ever in LA! We were greeted by lovely reception staff who made us feel more than welcome with celebratory strawberries and chocolate. We were on the 12th floor and our room and view were both Spectacular!!!
The concierge (Greg Hall) was absolutely amazing, he helped us plan out 4 day stay in LA and we were not at all disappointed, he also organised champagne for is on arrival. Greg is an asset to the Mondrian and a lovely person!
The food... Amazing
Service...... Extraordinary
Location...... Perfect
We wouldn't stay anywhere else in LA, can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Sunshineandlollipop Congrats on your marriage!!. Hope the wedding was amazing... because I see the honeymoon was!!!! Greg Hall is a wonderful asset to the concierge team and the hotel. Thank you for recognizing him. Hopefully we will see the both of you on your anniversary! Thanks for the comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in July 2012. Overall great experience with one hiccup which I have to drop them a star for. Upon checking into our 1 bedroom suite we were put into a smoking room on a smoking floor. It was disgusting to say the least as a non smoker. We had requested a non smoking room upon booking and actually I wasn't even aware hotels even permitted smoking in rooms anymore. The front desk girl at first said non smoking rooms are only a request. What! Hey if you request a non smoking room you expect one. Anyway they didn't have another suite so they put us in a King Corner which was smaller but had a much better view of the pool area and beyond. We actually liked it better than the more expensive 1 bedroom suite. They credited our account the difference because this was a less expensive room.

From there it was pure bliss. The pool was great to relax all day. The food in the restaurant was great and Skybar at night was great. When back in the area I will stay here again but will make it clear a smoking room is not an option when booking.

Room Tip: The King Corner is nice. The 1 bedroom suite has a poor view and other rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi MacdaddyVancouverBC. Love the “pure bliss” part! Unfortunately our hotel does have some smoking floors available. A must for our European travelers! I do apologize for your experience. At times, due to occupancy, these last sell rooms are used. Glad a good alternative was found for you. Hope you get a chance to check out SKYBAR again this summer…it’s totally off the hook! Next time you book with us, contact me directly. I will make sure you are well taken care of!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I took my 10 year old to the Kids Choice Awards (Nickelodeon Awards) in LA over the weekend and we used Jetsetter to find a hot hotel. the Mondrian was unreal, super sexy rooms, pool and lobby. But the thing that stood out was their staff. Everyone was so NICE and helpful. I wasn't one of the supermodels lounging by the pool, instead was a yoga mom squiring my kid around. From the desk to the valet to the concierge, the folks were down to earth, helpful and genuine. The crowd was Hollywood meets South Beach with a lot of good looking wannabees. We never felt like we didn't belong and the kitchen even made my kid breakfast for dinner. If you want to get a quick feel of what it means to be a star, this is it.

Room Tip: No advice, didn't see any other rooms. I asked for room on strip for noise reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Guest Experience Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Well Hello KellyandMckenzy- loved the comment! Mondrian LA has to give you the coolest mom award. Taking your kid to the Kids Choice Awards and staying at awesome hotel…what a treat! Our staff is amazing and they each bring something special to this hotel. That's a big reason why people come back year after year... as well the amazing food at Asia de Cuba and with Skybar still rocking strong! We look forward to having you and your kids back again. Cheers.... p.s. breakfast for dinner is the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood
Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new incarnation of one of the original luxury boutique hotels draws its inspiration from the serene coastal landscapes of Southern California and captures everything the Sunset Strip stands for – excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests are bathed in a sensuous daylight that highlights the creamy whites and warm marigold palette of the entryway. Mondrian Los Angeles also celebrated the recent introduction of three new public spaces, including new poolside cabanas, a lobby bar and café, and specialty curated lifestyle shop, BASE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.