We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time at the Mondrian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel to your Saves list
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing time at the Mondrian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at the Mondrian for five nights on November 2012. My stay was close to perfection from check in to check out. The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful (allowing me to check in before the official time). I stayed on the 8th floor in a large room facing Sunset. The room was amazing: the most comfortable bed, great amenities and a nice sitting area. Though I was told the windows in my room were recently replaced to block out the street noise, I have to admit that early morning you could still hear a bit the traffic and garbage trucks. I was not bothered by that but if you are a very light sleeper I would ask for a room facing the other way. I got a package that included breakfast. The breakfast is prepared by the restaurant situated on the ground floor and the food was unbelievable. One thing to mind is that the package in fact allows for $25 per person for a breakfast order and it is rather difficult to stay within this budget with the restaurant prices so if you wish to have a full breakfast you should be prepared to add between $10-$20 per person depending on what you order. To sum up, one of the best hotels, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
If you think our breakfast is unbelieveable you should try dinner at Asia De Cuba! The Butterfish is to die for and you can wash it down with an ice cold Mojito! I'd eat it for breakfast if the Chef would cook it for me. Glad you had a great experience with our team and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    312
    157
    85
    74
See reviews for
86
437
69
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked this hote pretty last minute and ws not dissapointed with ou choice. The bedroom had a great view of L A and A balcony to sit out on. The Pool was covererd when we were there as it got a little chilly at night when it is used as a very relaxed bar. We ate in the hotel several times and for breakfast and the food was good. As with all hotels, you only get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Glad you had a great time! On your
next stay check out our new Cabanas and coffe bar which is slated to open mid December. You know we won't dissappoint!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you are seeking comfort & peace in the middle of the big city West Hollywood? Look no more, The Mondrian shores up a great place to call home when you visit West Hollywood. Clean, quiet and very comfortable, the staff is ready to please you from start to finish. You can easily find everything you need to rest in peace after a long night on the town. The rooms they offer comes in variety of layouts that fits everyone's particulars for which I have many. Room service is fantastic, the food was hot and tasty delivered in 15 minutes controlling my stomach growls. The front desk was amazing with our check in and very friendly, The room we stayed in was on the top 12th floor facing the skybar and pool never once did we hear any load noises coming from the crowd due to the double door and window installation to ward off noise. simply put, The Mondrian and staff thought of everything in advance to make our stay the best possible. Thank you everyone at The Mondrian!

Room Tip: I like the balcony rooms. It gives you a chance to see everything below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hello Troy...So happy you had a great stay with us recently. We like to classify ourselves as an "urban resort" and it seems that we fit the bill in this case! I do hope you had a chance to visit Skybar and try some of our signature drinks as well dine at our classic restaurant, Asia De Cuba. It should be known that Asia De Cuba does our Room Service for the hotel as well....as you stated it is "fantastic". Hope to see you soon Troy..thanks, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just wanted to correct the review from Antni Finney with whom I travelled on to this hotel with. The bottles of water "kindly" offered to us at check-in, which we thought was a nice touch after a 10hr flight, were in fact, charged to our minibar bill at $7 a piece. No mention was made of this when we arrived, we were merely asked if we'd like a bottle of water after our long trip, which we felt was a great welcome to the hotel.

Had we rejected them if they'd told us we'd be charged for them...? No, we wouldn't but it would have been nice for them to be open/up front at the start, especially when you're tired from travelling.

I took a bottle out of the minibar during the stay so was shocked at check out when I was charged $14 for what I believed was one bottle of water. When I queried the minibar bill at the end of the stay, the lady who checked us out just smirked when I commented that that was quite steep for a bottle of water.

Everything else about the stay was great but a nice touch ended up leaving a bad taste in the mouth - time for a $2 bottle of water from the store down the road......!!

Room cleaning could have been a little better. The previous occupant of the room kindly left us a pair of socks in the wardrobe which the cleaning team had overlooked....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very sorry your are under the impression that we charge for water at check-in. Just to let you know we have never charged for this amenity. It is complimentary. The charge your are referring to was for water taken from your minibar. No worries though, I went ahead and adjusted the charge. It seems that, besides this issue, you had a nice visit. Peter, we truly appreciate your patronage and hope to have you back with us again very soon! Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Good: location, vibe, luxury features - the TV mirror is sick. Friendly service. Nice pool deck (though the pool itself is the size of a glorified hot tub). Day bed more comfortable than bed. Great views of downtown LA. Nice bathroom amenities.

The Bad: was promised a king suite but bed was a queen. Queen bed was not comfortable - mattress felt cheap.

The Mark: makes it mostly. Great stylish spot though the Roosevelt and W are still the kings of Hollywood, for now

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am very pleased you had a nice stay with us recently. I do sincerely apologize about the bed size and mattress. Not what we would want you to experience. I do hope this does not keep you from returning. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The rooms are modern, contemporary - elegance with that 'Stark' cutting edge appeal - but honestly, it was the service that made the difference. This hotel is about staff who really do seem to care about its customers. Rare in this day and age!

Peter was our waiter in Asia DC - he was first class. We were there with our daughter - who is nine and we had a short timeframe due to going to a show - Peter made our dining experience so, so enjoyable - Nothing was too much trouble. Plus the food was really exceptional.

In fact everything about this hotel was about what you want when you are away - we felt as though nothing was too much trouble. A "The answer is yes....now what's the question?" mentality.

I called in advance to book a roll away - "We can organize a better room with a sofa - no problem" - we need a quiet room... "Of course - we will put you on the quieter, city side.." And with a smile too...

(We stayed on the Tuesday before Thanksgiving - so it was relatively quite in the hotel)

We actually asked for the duty manager and conveyed our thanks for a lovely stay before our departure - I can't remember the last time I wanted to do that.

A very, very nice stay - and a very, very nice staff. They made our mini 'city break' enjoyable and special - so THANK YOU!

Room Tip: The city side is apparently quieter - our room was fourth floor and we experienced no problem with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am extremely pleased you had a great stay with us recently. Thank you, as well, for your very nice comments regarding Peter, our Server at Asia De Cuba. I am glad he was able to provide you with great service and a memorable experience. Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We received a warm welcome at the Mondrian. With complimentary waters on arrival, we were checked in and given a tour of the room promptly.

The suite was a good size overlooking the mansions in the hills at the front of the building. The room was well appointed, with a large wet bar area, sumptuous sofa in the lounge and a really comfortable bed. The mattress was enveloping and the pillows were plump and supportive. The large TVs concealed within the mirrors were an interesting piece of design, but seemed to needlessly take up space in the room. There was plenty of hanging space for clothes in the bedroom. The bathroom/wet room was stocked with nice toiletries, plenty of fluffy towels and was spotlessly clean.

Minor niggles. No in-room tea/coffee making facilities (tho you can get filter coffee in reception from 6am) and the mini bar charges are extortionate... $14 for a bottle of water! Also it felt a bit mean to charge $10 per day for wifi access.

Definitely recommend dining at Asia de Cuba. The service was exceptional and the tasting menu with wine was great value at little over $60 a head. It's worth contacting the hotel before you arrive to make your reservation as it gets pretty busy! Outside dining is probably the way to go with great views out over LA.

As residents at the hotel you are given entry to the sky bar. This is really popular with queues down the street, so it's handy to be able to walk in through the hotel. Both the cocktails and ambience are great.

All in all, a pleasant stay at a design-led hotel that I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of your recent visit. I am very happy that it seems we met or exceeded your expectations on many levels. Your patronage is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#13 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new incarnation of one of the original luxury boutique hotels draws its inspiration from the serene coastal landscapes of Southern California and captures everything the Sunset Strip stands for – excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests are bathed in a sensuous daylight that highlights the creamy whites and warm marigold palette of the entryway. Mondrian Los Angeles also celebrated the recent introduction of three new public spaces, including new poolside cabanas, a lobby bar and café, and specialty curated lifestyle shop, BASE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.