We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, noisy nightlife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location, noisy nightlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

STayed here for 4 nigthts on my way to Hawaii. Nice crowd, soso spa, great pool but super noisy at night. The place turns into a nightclub after 10pm on a friday and saturday night. Location is unbelievable with a great view of west hollywood and beyond.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Glad you had a good visit with us recently! Thank you for your nice remarks and hope to have you back with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    289
    146
    81
    73
See reviews for
80
414
64
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had written a review here on the Mondrian, after a 4 weeks stay at this hotel in 2006. My review was mostly negative, as I was ver disappointed of the rooms, and the lack of service. Design and goodlooks were more important then other aspects such as service and quality of rooms.
However, following major works in the hotel in the recent years, I wanted to give the Mondrian another chance, especially as my other favorite hotels were not available
I have stayed now 2 weeks at the Mondrian in october, and booked a 1-bed room suite. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised by the improvements. The rooms have all been remodeled and are much more comfortable and practical then the previous Philip Starck design version. Also, the service seem to be improved considerably. Check however several times the booking rates on their website, as these might change after hour booking, and you might find better rates for the same type of room after you have booked it. In this case, it I advice to cancel your booking, and rebook the same room at the lower rate ( in my case, I got free parking and breakfast, as well as a lower rate then the initial booking). Overall. I can now recommend this hotel for singles and
or young couples. It is definitely not a hotel for families for kids
If offered the choice between the Studio and the one-bedroom suite , go for the later option, although both are sold for the same rate, as it is slightly bigger and more practically laid-out..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am so happy you gave us another shot after all of these years! Seems you were not disappointed....thank you for your nice comments. I will definitely pass them on to our team. Hope to have you back with us again very soon. Don't wait 7 years next time! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed for two nights in a corner view suite/room (or whatever they are called). Irrespective of the exact name, the room was fantastic.

Pros:
- Room very, very spacious (query: Who needs a wetbar in a hotel? Maybe there could a better use for that space?) with nice rain shower.
- Great views over LA.
- Great location for West Hollywood.
- Very nice pool area with great service. Nice to hang out in the afternoon and to meet friends in the evening.
- Very popular with a young and attractive party crowd.
- Very friendly service.

Cons:
- Only one thing - all corridors have a very strange and stale smell. Please a) ventilate the corridors and b) place room perfumes. That's not so difficult (other hotels can do it, too) and would really enhance the experience. The smell was really bad and on all corridors. Otherwise I wouldn't be writing it.

Overall: Still a great hotel where I would stay again, if the rate is acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello Lars....thank you for taking the time to relate your recent experience! I am extremely pleased you had a great visit with us recently. I will take note of your comments regarding the corridors. Sorry for this. Take care, Lars and hope to have you back with us again very soon.

Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place was great! From the moment we arrived, we received wonderful service. Everyone was very friendly, not snooty at all. Our room was not ready when we arrived (about 30 min before check-in time). They upgraded us to a larger room at no additional charge for the inconvenience, even though we were early. The room was very nice. Everything was in great condition. The shower was great...lots of water pressure and two heads. The toiletries were high quality. The bed was super comfy. Floor to ceiling windows allowed for beautiful views of the hills and the city.
Skybar, the hotel's on-site bar was great. Basically the whole pool area is turned into an outdoor bar/lounge at night. There are cushioned seating areas around the pool, as well as seating near the bar. They have specialty drinks (delicious!), as well as your basic bar offerings. The drinks are a little pricey, but we found that to be the case in all of the higher-end bars in LA. The bartenders and wait staff were all very friendly. As a hotel guest, you get to walk right in and don't pay a cover. It's a great place to get that last drink before calling it a night.
The hotel is on the Sunset Strip and is convenient to lots of bars/restraunts/shops/tourist sites. Many are reachable by foot. Other areas like the Walk of Fame, Robertson Blvd, and the beaches are a short drive or cab ride away. To us this was the ideal location. It was a safe, fun area that was convenient to everything that we wanted to see and do.
Only downside we could find was the parking fee. The hotel parking is valet only and is $33/day. However, the valet service was on point. Our car was there within a few minutes of our request.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a better view. The corner suites are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your very kind remarks regarding your recent stay with us. I am extremely pleased that you had a great visit! I will pass on your comments to our team. Please know that we truly appreciate your patronage and hope to have you back with us again very soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent a weekend at at the Mondrian on the way home to Scotalnd after 6 nights in Palm Springs. Hotel was fabulous with great room and staff. Very LA cool with lots of beautiful people and enjoyed soaking up the sun at the sky bar pool. We had a fantastic "taster menu" at Asia de Cuba with wonderful view over the LA sky line. However, our evening was not perfect as we had to endure the antics of an Asian family (Mum, Dad & two teenage daughters) who spent the whole evening, whilst seated at the best table in the restaurant, either on their mobile phones or sufing the net on their mobile phones.... GET A LIFE... these people should be asked to leave or better still... kicked out ! Would definately stay again despite this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manger at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Tnaks for your review. I am extremely pleased you guys enjoyed yourselves recently. Very nice to see. I do apologize for the experience with your neighboring patrons at ADC...most definitely there are more appropriate venues for this type of behavior. Hope it won't keep you from returning....take care and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Let's be honest, while the hotel is relatively good you would choose Mondrian because you wanna hang out at skybar (pool or bar) and eventually go to nearby hollywood clubs. The hotel is really noisy due to skybar and you would have plenty of party ppl at 2 am in your lobby! But well I was there for this very reason so I was happy with that! Rooms are actually nice (had a large corner room) with stylish yet warm furnitures. Bathroom was really minimalist (I'm being nice here). One shower, one small sink and the toilet in the between, that's pretty much it. No marble. Oh and they put a tent over over skybar in winter so it doesnt get too cold.

Overall a fun place for a party weekend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I am glad that it seems you had a good stay/good time with us recently. Weekends do tend to be busier in regard to the party scene..weekdays are a bit more relaxed. Glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to have you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay, excellent location on the sunset strip, room spacious and spotless, great toiletries and robes in the rooms. Comfy, huge bed, great view. Breakfast delicious and all staff very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Cocktails a bit on the expensive but worth it :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich O, Hotel Manger at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Great to see that you had a nice visit with us recently. Thank you for your positive remarks. I am happy we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. Hope to have you back with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new incarnation of one of the original luxury boutique hotels draws its inspiration from the serene coastal landscapes of Southern California and captures everything the Sunset Strip stands for – excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests are bathed in a sensuous daylight that highlights the creamy whites and warm marigold palette of the entryway. Mondrian Los Angeles also celebrated the recent introduction of three new public spaces, including new poolside cabanas, a lobby bar and café, and specialty curated lifestyle shop, BASE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.