We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in L.A.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Ermitage to your Saves list
Petit Ermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
1 review
“Great stay in L.A.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best Service, nuce individual location, best suited vor individual traveller's with Sense for the special. Excellent service on the terrace with nice overlooking of L.A. very good food and an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Sven, Sven, Sven! Have I told you that you are amazing?
We love it when our guests understand what our home is all about. Petit is definitely for the travelers that have a sense for special experiences, for those who don't, please contact me and I will help you find the right cookie cutter hotel.

Sven you are amazing by the way and see you again soon I hope.

Cheers,

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    146
    64
    31
    34
See reviews for
39
234
63
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Le Petit is a great place to stay in LA, either on business or to relax. It truly feels like home.
I stay there every time I'm around without hesitation and it's been consistently perfect. The rooms are great, the room service/restaurant is excellent and the decoration is subtle. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooftop is jaw-dropping.
Whenever a problem occurs, the staff timely solves it and makes up for it. It just happened on my most recent stay and the manager did a great job dealing with the situation. It has to do with the elegance this place has. I've stayed numerous times, I will stay at Le Petit on my next trip and the one after.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Paul,

Thank you for this great review and for recognizing Petit Ermitage as being a home away from home. This is exactly how we want everyone of our guests to feel like.
I am glad you are coming back and staying with us, just e-mail me prior to booking your reservation as I would love to be your ally starting today!

See you soon!

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the Petit for 3 nights last weekend and I feel like it was exactly what I needed to get away and recharge. The hotel allows dogs and my pitbull Cadillac felt like totality while she stayed with me. The rooms are amazing and the service isn't even service, it's like hanging out with friends and you happen to be their guest.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your review!

You clearly get what we are all about which is to transport our guests on a magical journey.
We were so glad to have you stay and Cadillac stay with us.

We miss you!!!

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mixed feelings about what used to be a fantastic hotel. This was my 6th year staying at Petit Ermitage and what a noticeable decline in the care for the guests. Nothing but problems from checkin and customer service. Room was not ready until after 5:30pm, I was told it was guaranteed by 4pm. Wrong room at checkin. Room keys would not work, it took 2 full days to get working room keys. Partial luggage delivery. Air conditiong did not work in the afternoons. Front desk promised they would notify me when room was ready and to relax at the pool until it was ready. I was never notified. They promised to deliver new working keys. Never delivered. Sent a package the day before checking to the hotel for a business meeting. it took 2 days and constant complaining to get the package delivered to me 48 hours after the request and after my meeting had passed. Chelsea the manager was great at resolving some issues but unfortunately she couldnt be there 24 hours so others issues remained ignored by front desk nor did they care to follow up. There was just no care and concern for guest service. For the price of this hotel you expect to have some kind of timely resolution and attention. I felt like had checked into the Ramada Inn down the street. The problem after problem and lack of concern and lack of follow up by the front desk left me to recommend next years group to stay anywhere but Petit Ermitage. Hopefully this is not an indication of a decline starting to happen at Petit Ermitage. If you think you may need some customer service, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side get very hot in the afternoon. Air Conditioning may not keep up in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Let's talk! I am sure we can resolve this. Just email me your contact.

nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved this hotel. Quaint hotel in the heart of WeHo, Great spacious room. Amazing roof top pool and lounge area. Tasty roof top restaurant too. Good fast wifi. Excellent service - this group is exceptionally customer service oriented. Special thanks to Chelsea at the front desk for making everything go smoothly with a smile. I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello William,

What a great review! Thank you so much for staying with us and for recognizing that our "home away from home" is nothing but a gem!
Everyone works very hard to provide an incredible guest experience and I am glad you recognized it. I will make sure to let Chelsea know that you took the time to mention her in your review. She will be thrilled to read it I am sure.

In any case, we hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again soon and make sure you reach out to me directly in the future as it would be my pleasure to be your ally.

Thank you again!

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very mixed feelings about this hotel. Some parts were really good. Like the rooftop restaurant and pool area with fireplace. We had dinner and the food was very good but table service was so so. The breakfast had lots of beautiful fresh fruit and what tasted like homemade granola. However, there was a maintenance man standing on a railing doing awning maintenance right next to the table we had breakfast on.
The overall ambiance is good but I think overpriced. It is in an old interesting building, but the finishes and furniture looked worn. My room was very dark with old dirty looking carpet and not good lighting. The balcony was worn and odd that there was only 1 chair on it. The drinks for sale in the room are overpriced. And there are some drinks in the bar frig and on the menu that have really disgusting names - they could do without this.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello there,

Thank you for staying with us, I would love to speak with you about your stay.
You may send me your contact info and we can arrange a phone call?

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The room was great both in terms of decor and cleanliness. Location was great for us too. Rooftop area dining was a reall relaxed affair with good food. If the room, location and dining are your key requirements then I would recommend. However, if relaxing by a pool (even for a hour) is an important part of your stay then I cannot not recommend the hotel. The pool area gets crowded early on with people spreading themselves across two or three beds when one would do - I think the staff need to manage this better. I was also disappointed by the fact that there were spare beds near the roof top pool but they were reserved (though no-one was using them) for people would spend a minimum of $250 at the bar/dining. I would much rather a hotel, when space is short, looked after those who stayed in the hotel and not force you to spend $250 even if it mean a slight adjusment to the actual room prices..

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and also for staying with us.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. Our four cabanas do have a minimum food and beverage spent on the week-ends. These cabanas are very popular and reserved consistently but we do offer other options like the day beds you mentioned in your review. If you contact me directly next time you plan a visit to West Hollywood, I will make sure to be your ally and will be more than happy to reserve seating arrangements around our beautiful pool.

Best,

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop Club - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.