We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Ermitage to your Saves list
Petit Ermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Alexandria, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

After reading the reviews, I wasn't quite sure how this hotel would turn out, but luckily it was great. It's not a usual hotel, it has its very own character. The whole hotel has this vintage vibe which is really new and very nicely made. The rooms are very spacious and the bed is very comfy. The hotel is very clean and smells amazing all the time. '

The hotel staff is really helpful and friendly especially chelsea and christopher. Our car got toed one day and chelsea did everything she could to help us locate our car.

The pool and rooftop area are just magical. Very nice location and center to all L.A

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skydivenick, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Unique is one of the many reasons why I decided to work here.
We are a very special and original hotel. If you are looking for a cookie cutter place to stay then stick with the big corporate branded hotels. On the other hand if you are looking to stay in places that provide an Experience than you will love us and will come back asking for more, guaranteed!

E-mail me and I will send you my contact, this way next time you plan a visit you can call me and I will handle everything for you.

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    146
    65
    31
    34
See reviews for
39
240
63
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were only here for one night back in March, and we immediately regretted not having stayed longer! First of all, the location was great - close to the Sunset strip, and we were in a great position to see the Chinese and Dolby Theaters the next day.

Pros-
The rooms are quaint but classy. The hotel's name rings true not only for its meaning, but also for its French/European influence. Beautiful art around the hotel and a calm, relaxing decor/ambience made us feel very much at ease.

Location is, as noted, in West Hollywood. Since you're going to have to drive everywhere in LA anyway, this location is as central as any to whatever sightseeing you want to do - particularly not too far from The Grove.

The rooftop pool/fireplace was the icing on the cake, and we would've enjoyed it better if we had gotten there earlier, but it was a little chilly by the time we got there.

Everyone who helped us - from check-in/check-out to valets to bellboys - was incredibly nice and accommodating.

Cons-
Valet parking, like everywhere else in LA it seems, was expensive (around $30 for the day if I remember correctly).

I would DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skydivenick, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello,

I am glad to hear that you plan on coming back to stay with us, this time stay a week or two like many of our repeat guests you will not regret it.
Just send me an e-mail and I will handle everything moving forward.

A bientot!

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here two years ago, and thought it was an absolute gem; upon return this year, found the property in need of a refurb, and not just in hard and soft goods, but in pretentiousness. The unique decor and vibe still impress, but if you look, the edges are fraying, and not just a little. While the front desk staff and bell staff were great, I cannot say the same for the rooftop pool service; it appears the rooftop sells memberships, so it is not for guests only, and it shows. While the "world" music is interesting for a bit, it really feels contrived after about an hour - trying a lot too hard, in short. When I return to WeHo/BH, I would definitely stay at the London or the SLS, and would give this tired old queen of a property a pass.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skydivenick, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Please e-mail me your phone number as I would love to speak with you in person about your stay.

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were there from May 25 - 31. We had 2 rooms and really did enjoy our stay. The staff was very kind & helpful. It is, as others have said, a beautiful, unique hotel. Wonderful art & very eclectic. The rooftop is very special and worked out very well for us as we had different family members meet up with us. The Jazz we heard one night was phenomenal. So it worked out wonderfully for us, and I hope to stay there again. But if I were management, I would look a lot closer at the work of housekeeping. They missed an obvious makeup mark on the bathroom wall right next to the door. I cleaned it myself. As with a pillow that had a black mark and was never changed. It was expensive and I would expect a little more from housekeeping. Also surprised at the intense water pressure in the shower. Would think that being in California and water so precious, they would have water reduction in shower. Most pressure I've had in years. That's coming from Michigan(we have a well).

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, street side and it was fine. Just ran the air at night for quiet(street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Elaine,

Great review and thank you for the feedback, it really helps us improve our service levels.
Petit Ermitage is definitely a cool place. The first time I visited the hotel I knew I wanted to work here as it's a very special place and here I am.
Please e-mail me next time you plan a visit back to LA or if you know of anyone travelling to LA you may just give them my contact.

In hopes of hosting you in the future.

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

So close to the Sunset strip, yet, quiet, charming, and so well done. Original artwork throughout the property, excellent food and service. The rooms are nicely sized and designed with thoughtful accents.
The rooftop pool, cabanas, and secluded fireplace are definitely a highlight and the nice part is, it's for guest only.
I'd return to Petit Ermitage in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello Roger,

It's been too many hearbeats since you have left, we are still waiting for you!
Hope all is well and next time you MUST contact me so that I can meet you and be of any assistance to provide another memorable Experience.
I am glad you mentioned the fact that we are a private hotel. So many hotels in LA let the public have access to their pools to generate more money without even considering the paying hotel guests that end up not being able to relax due to pool parties.

Happy 4th!

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Petit Ermitage in WeHo last weekend. Located just a block or so off of Santa Monica Blvd, the hotel is very eclectically decorated, from the lobby, hallway, and room artwork, not to mention the whimsical stairwells. The rooftop deck is quiet and relaxing. The room itself was large, clean, and well-maintained, with quality C.O. Bigelow products, robes, and slippers provided. My only quibble was that it took about 30-45 minutes for our charcuterie plate to show up on the pool deck, but otherwise it was a fantastic hotel and we plan to stay there again when we're in West Hollywood. The staff was excellent, and Christian at the front desk was a delight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hello,

As you mentioned it the location of Petit Ermitage couldn't be better as it's close to both Santa Monica and Sunset which are popular destinations. At the same time it's nestled in a quiet neighborhood which makes it a relaxing experience for all of our guests as there is no noise traffic.
It's rare nowadays to find hotels that will provide you with bathrobes and slippers in the rooms as it's a way for them to save money but as you saw this is not the case here. We are all about creating THE perfect experience so everything is thought of.
E-mail before you make your next booking with us as I would like to be your ally and introduce myself so that I can personally welcome you to our family.

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was going all the time in LA and stayed all the time at friends.
I wanted to try to stay in a hotel in LA.
I really find the right place ,Le Petit Ermitage is the right place to stay for business or vacation trip.
The people are really friendly and helpful .
The restaurant on the the roof is great,what a pleasure to have breakfast or dinner on the roof.
Now I will always stay at Le Petit Ermitage when I go to LA.

Room Tip: on the street was great quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas-James B, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Marc,

You are definitely making the right choice every time you come to LA. Petit Ermitage is truly a gem, I will always remember my first time visiting here. My friend opted to stay here instead of the previous property I worked at as he wanted a quiet relaxing place and not a party hotel. When I came to pay him a visit I fell in love with the place and next thing you know I am now managing it.

As I mention to everyone that I am in contact with, do not hesitate contacting me any time you or friends of yours want to stay with us.

In hopes of meeting you very soon.

Nicolas
nicolas@petitermitage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop Club - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.