We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure in the midst of West Hollywood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Petit Ermitage to your Saves list
Petit Ermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A treasure in the midst of West Hollywood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

You have to like the unusual....then you're absolutely going to adore this place!!! If you are a Hilton kinda big box type, this hotel is not for you. If you like to have all your sense wowed, with distinguished smells, rich colors and textures, and honest, good service: this will be your new favorite place to stay while in LA. Tucked away in a residential area yet centrally located, you can sip your morning coffee on the out of this world roof top and be miles away from ordinary... Beds are hard and comfy, showers are big with excellent water pressure. While this place is old (in a good way), whimsical and bohemian, it is clean clean clean!!! I recommend the Petit Ermitage with neither hesitation nor reservation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    144
    61
    31
    34
See reviews for
39
234
60
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

A very cool boutique hotel out of the way in a residential neighborhood in West Hollywood. A very European feel and a very cool vibe. Old world decoration with modern art on the walls. Chalk art on the black walls in the stairwell. The small suite is ample, with a good size living room, gas fireplace, and decent but shallow balcony facing the street. Comfortable bed and a great shower. But the HIGHLIGHT is the rooftop pool/bar/dining. Interesting decoration and layout, with private tents and scattered tables, couches and pool loungers, great views. The bartending is great, with interesting concoctions. The restaurant is also very good, especially breakfast where I had about the most perfectly prepared omelette (ham rosemary gruyere). It is also a club and gets hot at night.
Couples only! Not a place for kids or for people looking for a quiet, conservative, "respectable" hotel. Pricey, but worth it.

Room Tip: Club is on top of the 4th floor teens. Noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Petit Ermitage met our expectations and then some! My wife and I were visiting LA for pleasure and wanted a boutique hotel experience. We were drawn to the private roof-top pool and the intimate, detail-oriented atmosphere. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, we were given the royal treatment. The valet service is excellent as is the front door staff. We were upgraded from a demi to junior suite with a balcony-a beautifully appointed, spacious room with all the comforts including a working fireplace! Loved that! The hallways smelled of luscious aromas and the pool top club was as private and gorgeous as expected with phenomenal service! Our first night at dinner we felt we as if we were in our own private restaurant with our own waitress. The food was delicious and fresh with a definite California flair. The specialty cocktails were amazing--a must try.
We appreciated the room service and ordered in for breakfast every day. Prices were high, but the food was excellent and well worth it. Try the smoothies and the yogurt with granola--fantastic!

The only complaint we had was a housekeeping issue on the day of the big rooftop party. Seems that the staff was too busy preparing for the party to clean our room. We were also irritated because the hotel did not inform us that the pool area would be closed for party prep in the afternoon. We had planned to sit poolside so this put a damper on our afternoon.

Other than these small issues, the hotel was incredible and we would definitely return. A real oasis in the midst of LA.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a place to retreat and hideaway. If you are seeking a ritz carlton style bar, 800 count sheets and a spa , this is not the place for you. On the other hand, if you are looking for an absolutely "Bohemian" (for lack of a better term) then this is right up your alley. If you like the foundation room at House of Blues, then you'll love staying here

Rooms are minimalistic yet comfortable with big screen etc. But the real value is the roof top pool, bar and seating areas. to the other reviewer that didn't like the tattered look, your crazy, thats what makes it comfortable. It is deprivation chic at its best.

Food was simple yet creative and well presented. I had the Salmon Pita twice during our stay , again simple yet delicious. Service during the day was very good, not excellent, but very good.

My only critic was my early morning experience. The rooftop opens at 7am for breakfast, which to me means they should be ready at 6:45am waiting for their first guest. Rather , I arrived at 6:54am and found nothing set up, mopping going on, staff out of uniform and frankly "morning surly". At 6:58am I asked for tea as was told "we open at 7". For an establishment of this caliber I would expect more consistency and hospitality regardless of the time of day or night.

To end on a good note, artwork throughout all of the hallways on each floor or worth a gander and the location is in the middle of some of the best dining venues in Los Angeles.

Steve H.

Room Tip: Ask for the City side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was my second stay (11/10-11/12) at the petit ermitage in West Hollywood and as always they exceeded my expectations. This hip bohemian styled hotel is in the perfect location between Sunset and Santa Monica blvd right in the middle of all the action West Hollywood has to offer. The rooftop salt water pool was gorgeous at night time and the artwork that lined the hallways gave this hotel a really cool feel. The hotel staff was more than accommodating and the girls working the front desk were a lot of fun! Definitely one of the best boutique hotels in West Hollywood and I will definately be staying here next time I'm in LA. Thanks guys! -William Henkle

Room Tip: The suites on the first floor are pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were invited to brunch by hotel guests at the roof top restaurant. . .beautiful large table under the canopy in the middle of the roof top garden. The view was expansive, the garden, table and setting could not have been better. What a great atmosphere. . . and if that is all you care about you will be VERY happy. Otherwise, do not eat here. The food was uninspired and strange. . .and took FOREVER to come out of the kitchen. At a table of 12, no one wanted to complain (people didn't know each other very well) but no one looked happy. My meal. . . the mediterranean plate, was a disaster. . . do not ever order this. A quarter of a piece of pita bread diced into micro-triangles, hummus that was . . . awful. . .some strange I don't know what combo of tomatoes watermelon onions and spices. . .and flat squares of what presumably was falafal. . . tasteless, tough, cold, rectangular shaped and texture of leather. . . not the tasty spicey chick pea balls expected. Service was SLOW and delivered by a space cadet who managed to spill a canister of olive oil on me. Not a drop, the cannister. . . on my jacket. Thank heavens it wasn't an expensive jacket. . . anyway, I sense this was not out of the ordinary. . . the entire "restaurant" seemed very laissez faire, slow, clueless and tasteless in terms of food. So. . . make sure to check out this rooftop atmosphere. . . but be careful what you order. Some of the other entrees that no one looked happy with included various eggs benedict, eggs, salads and hamburger. Ah well. . . there are a million places to eat within a short walk

Room Tip: We went to our friends room. . . it was dark/dank and on the first floor near the bathroom available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here while visiting my daughter at a nearby college. The rooms are large and quiet, the bed was very comfortable and my room had a sitting area with a small balcony. The fabrics and furniture are very bohemian. We loved the rooftop pool area. Although we did not swim, we enjoyed lounging on the large beds and looking out over LA as it is on the roof. Dinner in the butterfly sanctuary was fantastic and brunch was delicious. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop Club - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.