We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Save Saved
You added Petit Ermitage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Petit Ermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a terrific hotel if you're looking for a boutique hotel that will give you an experience you will always remember. It is pricey, and was a splurge for me. I crossed my fingers that it would not disappoint, and it did not! The hotel is so unique. It has a totally bohemian style. It is like a Tim Burton circus. This hotel is not for you if you are uptight or very conservative in your views. It has a great, dark sense of humor. European (topless) pool, intimacy kits in the bedrooms, abstract drawings in the stairwell of mouths popping pills. It is very tastefully executed, but not for those whose idea of a perfect hotel experience is the Ritz Carleton. Absolutely DO NOT leave this hotel without having dinner in the rooftop restaurant. The atmosphere is georgeous, and the food and drink were literally the best I have ever had...anywhere. It was so unique, and perfectly prepared. The staff is so friendly and accomodating. The only disappointment for me is that photography is prohibited anywhere in the hotel....I would have loved to get pictures of all the details. Not sure if they do this because of celebs or the European pool, but they say it's because of all the antique pieces of art (yeah right). You won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    137
    59
    31
    30
See reviews for
33
205
55
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Phenomenal dinner options in one of the coolest rooftop lounges LA has to offer. The Tangine du Jour was incredible, as were the cocktails and ambiance for our party of four. Can't recommend a more unique date in the city!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location in Beverly Hills/West Hollywood, this hotel is a little gem!

The rooms are large and nicely decorated, and the private rooftop bar is just amazing! We had a really top notch service and I'd seriously recommend this place.

The only thing I am not happy about is the $36 overnight fee parking, which adds a lot to the room price and is a bit of a rip off. In a country where everyone drives, they should clearly state this hidden charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Petit Ermitage in September 2013 and had the most amazing time. Our suite was fabulous, the food was wonderful and the drinks and service second to none.
I think sitting with a cocktail in the rooftop pool may be one of the best memories I have - can't reccommend this highly enough, we even got engaged here making it even more special! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently stayed here with my sisters when they came to Los Angeles for a weekend. The staff were very friendly and we had a great time at the rooftop restaurant/pool area. What a gorgeous little space to get away for a bit. The only downside was that we had a hotel room with a king size bed and a pull out couch. The pull out couch was very uncomfortable. We made it work for the weekend, but probably wouldn't choose a room like that again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Petit Ermitage is a very good" hotel overall. The service was very good. The value was average. The sleep quality was very good. The cleanliness is average. The location is very good. The room was very good. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in early June, and I left a coat somewhere on the premises. I was 100% certain I had left it, and I realized this before I even checked out. I therefore asked every single staff member - from the rooftop bar to the cleaning staff to the front desk - and no one had any knowledge of it. I called and emailed several times afterwards. The people on the phone weren't very helpful, and no one responded to my two email messages. TWO MONTHS later, I got a voicemessage from a guy in guest relations, explaining that he had had the coat in his office for "two months" and had only just that day looked in the pocket and found my business cards. In the intervening time, I had assumed the jacket was lost, so I replaced it. I've called no fewer than 10 times about getting the jacket back and paying for my new jacket, which I wouldn't have had to buy if the hotel staff communicated efficiently (or at all). Each time I call, I'm told that a manager will return my call. They've yet to do so. I've posted only one other review on this site, and it was glowing - so you know it's taken a lot for me to make the time to post a review, and a bad one at that. It's irresponsible, unethical and disrespectful for a customer service organization to be this unresponsive about a matter such as this. The place itself is a perfectly hospitable boutique hotel, but the staff needs a serious reboot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico H, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear SurfKite Ski,

Please allow me to introduce myself to you. My name is Nico H. and I am the General Manager at Petit Ermitage. I am writing to you in response to your recent Trip Advisor review.

First and foremost I would like to thank you very much for your patronage and furthermore I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the fact that your lost and found item query was handled so poorly and with such delay. Your review did unfortunately not come totally as a surprize and it is just confirming, what I have experienced since my arrival at the Hotel a few months ago.

However, I am happy to confirm that we have almost turned our entire Guest Services team around (including management) to ensure better guest service and communication going forward. Our new Guest Services Manager has been trying to contact you directly to resolve the above issue.

I am hoping that we will be able to restore your faith in our Guest Services team and that we will be able to welcome you back to the Petit Ermitage in the near future.

Sincerely,
Nico H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel
Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop Club - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.