We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Ermitage to your Saves list
Petit Ermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in late July. Hotel came recommended by a friend who also lives in West Hollywood.

Fantastic central location, near Santa Monica Blvd but a block north of the busy street on a quiet residential street. Many options for dining within walking distance, including a fantastic French pastry cafe a few blocks away on Santa Monica Blvd. walking distance to central/tourist Hollywood (about 45 minute walk or $15 taxi). Beverly Hills also a short drive away.

We arrived late afternoon to be greeted with a huge lineup of cars waiting to get into the underground parking. Turns out there was a function on the rooftop that night so many cars overwhelming the valet. Eventually got parked and didn't want to take the car out during our stay due to hassle factor. Valet staff very friendly. Front desk staff and checkin smooth, pleasant staff. Hotel very eclectic with a European feel. Room was nice size and included a small kitchenette. Bed comfortable but room had a bit of a musty smell until air conditioning turned on. Bathroom and shower pressure fantastic. Shampoo and bath gels provided of very high quality - wish I could have brought a bunch more back with me! Peaceful sleep and no noise issues.

Pool and rooftop deck certainly the highlight. Beautiful views of the city (and if you're really lucky on a day without a lot of smog, you can see downtown LA). Nice pool area as well as fireplace for the evening. Staff attendants at the pool attentive and friendly. Only complaint here is that on top of already outrageous drink cost (understandable given "exclusivity" of the place), there's an additional service charge (I believe it was 16%) as well as expectation of a tip. Huh? A little much. If the service charge is intended as a tip, it should be listed as a gratuity. If it's not, it's really discouraging people from properly tipping their service staff. Count on $25 drinks once you've factored in taxes, tips and service charges.

All said, a positive experience and I would recommend the hotel to all who have expectations of a more European style experience. If your thing is more like a Hilton, you may be disappointed as it's just not like that - very different and in a good way.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    160
    70
    34
    37
See reviews for
46
267
68
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful spaces, gardens and pool! The rooms felt residential, not corporate. I enjoyed eating my breakfast in the garden terrace with fountains. The pool is beautiful at night overlooking the city lights.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in August. The location is good & the hotel itself is quite unique. Compared to other hotels in the area I thought it was very reasonably priced. Upon check-in we were told the pool was closed due to a show that evening - that is something I would have preferred knowing before I checked in - at the time of booking would have been useful. I also think 4pm check-in is rather late. Breakfast on the rooftop was nice the next morning. Our room was a good size with a nice sitting area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is greatly located with proximity to shopping and nightlife areas in Hollywood. Staff was absolutely nice and the rooftop with the pool a perfect relaxing place. The room was also very nice, generously spaced and clean. Unfortunately I went home with many bed bug bites, but the hotel staff did apologize and hopefully they were able to remove them... I would have expected some price reduction or vaucher for that though...
One thing I would expect to improve is the food - it does not have the quality you would expect for the price, and does not correspond to this top location.
Except for that, I would certainly come back to this beautiful and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for a treat and what a treat it was roof top pool and restaurant were spectacular the hotel and rooms were unique will spend all of our time here next visit only problem would be is that it would be too hard to leave

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Petit Ermitage for a week and could not fault anything about the place. Everything from the location, to the room, the service, the staff and the food, it was all fantastic. The rooftop pool, bar, and restaurant is a great place to hang out any time, it was never busy or crowded and was a fantastic place to relax. It's certainly not the cheapest hotel you can stay in, but the extra expense is well worth it. We would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

But you pay for it! Gorgeous roof top, Watch your bar tab. Look for deals to stay at this wonderful hotel, great location, but things add up. Not for the budget traveller. Easily the nicest hotel in the immediate area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop Club - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.