We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, comfortable, reasonable boutique hotel, well sited in W Hollywood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Petit Ermitage to your Saves list
Petit Ermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Funky, comfortable, reasonable boutique hotel, well sited in W Hollywood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Petit Ermitage is a very funky boutique hotel in West Hollywood that is reasonably affordable, and very comfortable. The decor is really interesting, with an amazing collection of art in every corridor on every floor - Erte, Miro, etc. Even Pointillist art up on the 4th floor - the real thing.

The rooms are a good size, with interesting furniture and comfortable beds. Mine had a nice couch and relaxation area.

There is a private club on the 4th floor that is part of your room rate, and most enjoyable it is too. The roof garden is wonderful - there is a very pleasant outdoor restaurant that serves tasty food at reasonable prices, a swimming pool, and an outdoor bar area. The indoor bar is small but comfortable, and there is a great lounge with a funky painted piano (it's a good piano, too...) where you can eat and drink as well.

I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, service was very good, and the overall experience was great. This is not your regular hotel, and if you are a Westin/Hilton sort of person, you may not be as satisfied as I was. But I have no qualms about recommending Petit Ermitage - I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    145
    61
    31
    34
See reviews for
39
234
60
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a great value for the price. I love small quirky hotels and this one is just lovely. You have to make it up to the rooftop for dinner or breakfast. What great Spanish decor. Nice snacks in the room. The rooms are small and for the most part well decorated. The bathrooms are just OK but for the price and location I was happy enough. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I read reviews on this hotel and my boyfriend and i were coming up from San Diego to be at a show for one of our friends. I felt as though i wanted to spoil us so i chose this hotel....NEVER AGAIN! We were treated very rudely by ALL female staff....i guess because we weren't wearing white and didn't look as though we had alot of money, we were judged....best advise...DONT JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER! I can't believe this place got over $500 of my money. I would have rathered booked a bigger suite at the Hilton, atleast they treat ALL their customers equally. I also feel that they over exagerrate their rooms on their website and everything thats included....We booked a suite in the Master's Quarters - the one good thing was our "butler" he was very nice, but we never even used his services, we didn't find it necessary. Espresso wake up call, there was 2 of us staying in the hotel, we got one cup! Their continental breakfast was OK, but after being questioned by the staff if we had a reservation and i had to tell her 3 times that we were staying in the master's suite and didn't have a reservation did she seem to understand and then when we wanted to take our breakfast back to our room, she just seemed to have nasty attitude and rolled her eyes and our view was HORRIBLE! We got to look at the side of an aparment and another person's backyard.....I wish i could have given my money to a better place....

Room Tip: do not stay in the master's demi suites...horrible view and waste of money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We live up the road in Venice, CA and this was the best STAYCATION that anyone could imagine. From the expresso wake up to the elaborate included breakfasts to the impeccable service with the perfect blend of total attention and complete privacy, this hotel has it all! (Apparently, depending on the room and level of service you choose, you get your own personal concierge/butler and we were blessed to have Josh. Still every day, we continue to ask ourselves, "where is Josh when you need him?" LOL) There are not enough good things to say about this place, a quiet getaway in the heart of bustling WEHO, a family hotel that treats straight and gay people with equal dignity and respect. Thank you -- and reader, if you choose this place, you're in for a real treat.

Room Tip: go for the upper floors -- on the same level as the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Holly,

thank you for leaving us such a wonderful love note. I am so happy you enjoyed your staycation with us. Sounds like you were able to take in every bit of Petit Ermitage: the Private Rooftop Club, espresso wake-up call, our breakfast and of course your very own Liaison to Happiness, Josh, whom by the way sends his warmest regards. Thank you again and looking forward to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed one Saturday night.
Very average hotel, as someone else mentioned, needs a lot of TLC, specially in the rooms.
Looks like the rooftop pool and terrace is the only area were they put some efforts.
Bathroom was dull, room cleanish but not perfect (stayed in #120)

Service was FAR from expected for the price.
Took long time to get our luggage in the room :(
Tried to order some b'fast but cancelled due to slow service. Ordered a yogurt and they managed to serve full breakfast to 2-3 tables that came after us.
Reception was not up to standard imho.

This is a miss and will probably favour big reputable name(s) when next in LA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Vjsms,

thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us such valuable feedback.
As with every boutique hotel, the style and design is unfortunately not always everyone's cup of tea but we are happy to hear that you did enjoy our Private Rooftop Club, the heated saltwater pool and the Garden upstairs. In regards to service, please let me apologize for the speed and timeliness of both valet and the restaurant. That is certainly not the standard of Petit Ermitage and I am sadden it has tainted our view of us and your experience while traveling. My entire staff takes great pride in providing excellent customer service and although we encounter hick-ups, please let me assure you that this, thanks to your feedback, has already been addressed and resolved. We would love an opportunity to show you how truly magical Petit Ermitage is and if you are open, would be delighted to welcome you back as one of our guests in the future. Please let me know if you do, as I will personally ensure that you are well taken care of and cared for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a pleasant 1 night stay at the Petit Ermitage en route from San Diego back to NorCal. We were expecting the staff to be overly pretentious and were pleasantly surprised by the overall good-natured, friendly, welcoming personalities from the valet to the restaurant staff. It's a fairly small place, and the staff remember who you are (even for though we were only staying for 1 night).

Now, we were travelling with a 2 year-old and despite the spacious rooms, the free crib, the good cheer, it just wasn't right for a child that age. The roof-top pool and restaurant are weather sensitive. The pool was not appropriate for a 2 year-old. The javanese teak furniture was attractive, but again not quite right for a small child. The neighborhood is full of adult friendly activities, but again not quite right for a toddler. We'd come back though if we were able to leave the child at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Breadfruit,

thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and were well taken care of by our staff.

You are absolutely correct, our hotel, from the Bohemian philosophy, the design and location is catered more so towards individual travelers, couples, romantic getaways and creative types, not so much for children. So maybe next time, we can steal you away for just that? Or our Liaison to Happiness will be more than happy to arrange for a babysitter, so you can enjoy all that the Private Rooftop Club has to offer: a lovely dinner, cocktailing and a cozy place on our firedeck while your little one is well cared for. Either way, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back and if there is anything we can set up for you in advance, please contact me or my staff and we shall happily do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We were promised a double suite which was unavailable at check in. We were then promised a king with a comfortable pull out couch bed which was horrid. The pillow top never arrived so we had to ask for it. The bottle of wine promised we also had to request. The TV in the room did not work. The carpets were filthy.
The desk did not advise us a late check out would void our room keys so we were unable to get back in the room.
On the plus side the food is very good. So many other choices in the area make it highly unlikely we will return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Roxypants,

I am sad to hear you did not have a pleasant time with us here at Petit Ermitage. I know my apology will not rewind time, but please let me assure you that each incident described has been addressed with the staff and I apologize for any and all misscommunication or lack of follow through from our end. This is certainly not the standard of Petit. I know you have already spoken to a member of my management team about this all and should you choose to stay with us again, we will make sure everything is flawless and you will experience our hideaway the way it was intended to; to relax and enjoy all we have to offer. And last but certainly not least, thank you for taking the time to leave us such valuable feedback. Everyone here strives to give our guests a fond experience and each bit of feedback helps us finetune our skills and services. Please let me know if or when you return so I can personally make sure you are well taken care of. Warmest regards from West Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop Club - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;