We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and cosy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Ermitage to your Saves list
Petit Ermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Murwillumbah, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cute and cosy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent four days here just before Christmas. Situated on a quiet street between Santa Monica Blvd and Sunset Blvd, we found the location satisfactory. Buses run regularly along Santa Monica Blvd between Downtown and Santa Monica.

The hotel is unique and has lots of character. The garden upstairs is lovely and peaceful and the food is good. Unfortunately the pool area was being refurbished when we stayed, but from the looks of it, we would have enjoyed it also!

Some comments stated rooms were dark... we'd agree, but felt this only added to the character of the room. As we stayed in winter, the gas fire was a nice touch. The room was clean and comfortable. Our room didn't have coffee making facilities, but a quick call to reception had a coffee maker in the room, stocked with fresh pods daily!

The staff were lovely. The crew on the front desk always greeted us with a smile and good advice on things to do. The staff in the Butterfly Bar and Garden were wonderful...

A unique hotel that we would happily stay at again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear David and Paul,

thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review here for us. I am so glad you enjoyed our hotel, the location, food, character, style and most of all the service, which I will happily pass on to my staff. My apologies about the refurbishment of our pool area during your visit, but even we have to some times beautify our pool areas and property. Thank you for being so understanding and instead enjoying our suites and their fireplace to cozy up in. I hope you have had a wonderful start into the year and am looking forward to welcome you back in the future! Please let me know if there is anything we may set up for your next visit and rest assured a coffee maker and fresh pods will be waiting in your room upon arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    146
    65
    31
    34
See reviews for
39
240
63
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

my boyfriend and i were celebrating a birthday which i'd let them know in advance. they kindly had a bottle of champagne chilling upon arrival and gave us an upgraded room. beautiful property, delicious food, and very comfortable beds. we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Lauren,

Happy Birthday from all of us here at Petit again! I am happy to hear that we were able to round up your celebrations with a beautiful stay, upgrade, food, service and of course champagne! Thank you for leaving us such a kind and lovely note. We will make sure to have a cozy bed waiting for you the next time you are in Los Angeles and please do not hesitate to let me or my staff know if there is ever anything else we can do for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in January and was blown away by the great food, great atmosphere, knowledgeable and helpful front desk, wonderfully comfortable beds, an oasis for relaxation on the top floor overlooking the city. Central to good food, local supermarket and transport - would recommend for family with older children like myself or romantic getaway - either way you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Chris,

We are so glad you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed our atmosphere, the location, beds, rooms, Private Rooftop Club and of course the service and staff! Everyone here in our Petit family takes great pride in making every experience memorable and it sounds like we accomplished just that with you. Thank you for taking the time out to acknowledge that and leave us some positive feedback. It is greatly appreciated and I will certainly pass this on to my staff. Hope to see you on your next trip to LA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

So, so cute.

Beautiful pool area upstairs - great for lounging in the shade and reading or having a cocktail by the fireplace. Can't say enough about it. Couches, beds, a pool, two different levels. Drinks are def $$$.

Room nice, but not amazing. Again, cute - but not super modern or luxurious.

Valet parking is also $$$. But that's LA.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Max,

thank you for taking the time to write us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Petit and had enough time to really lounge and soak in everything that our Private Rooftop Club has to offer. It is truly a magical space. All of Petit, as you mentioned, is designed quirky, playful and cute as to keep its charm and not be just "another modern hotel" but rather a home away from home. From the sounds of it, we were able to translate that to you and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future. All the best for the new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It was our first trip to the USA and we did not want the big hotels there and somwhere handy for all the turist places. We found the Petit Ermitage and booked it for Christmas and though the new year. All the people in this hotel are very frendly and helpfull and will bend over backards to help. Josh who is called the liasion to happeness!!! Will sort out anything you need and the staff on the front desk will also help out with anything.
On 1st impressions the hotel looks a bit arty but is great place to stay we are already thinking about later this year to go back.

Room Tip: I think best to be lower down so the club on the roof dosnt distrub if you want to sleep a little ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hello Stewart,

I am so glad you were with us over the Holidays and that we could ring in 2013 in style! Sounds like you enjoyed every little inch of Petit Ermitage and most of all that my staff was able to provide you with a beautiful experience! I will let Josh and the rest of them know, as they all work very hard at taking care of each of our guests, and you. Thank you for leaving such a gracious note. We're all looking forward to welcoming you back and please let Josh or myself know if there is anything we can set up for your next trip...as you know your wish is our Liaison to Happiness' command ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Fantastic hotel with a quirky luxurious interior. Very friendly staff. I wish we'd been able to spend some more time on the amazing roof top sun beds, but had too much planned around town. I'm sure it would have been amazing to hand out at the pool!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Saljbalj,

Awww, we wish you could have spent more time with us as well! Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely note here on our page. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel, the private rooftop club and of course our friendly staff and service! It'll be my pleasure to pass this compliment on to all of them. I wish you a wonderful 2013 and looking forward to hopefully welcome you back soon to enjoy all of the amenities Petit has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was a great stay...really comfortable bed, quiet room (in spite of the club upstairs), great shower, interesting art lining the walls of the hallway, extremely friendly and accommodating staff. The rooftop cafe/bar was lovely with heaters for the slightly chilly december mornings. The breakfasts were delicious. Our only negative experience was a somewhat unfriendly waitress who screwed up a few of our orders. In any other setting we might not have even noticed but in this one she stood out. We recommend this hotel with enthusiasm and will probably return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear February,

thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely note. I am happy to hear you have had such a great stay and really enjoyed all of Petit: the art, atmosphere, food, suite, shower, bed (I call our beds all cloud 9) and of course the staffing and service. I am sorry that your experience was tainted a bit by one of our staff members and that it came off unfriendly. I assure you everyone here takes great pride in what they do and their customer service and will of course address this with my staff, as feedback on how our guests perceive us is like gold to us and it is by no means the standard or intention of anyone here at Petit. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I would love to be able to introduce myself to you in person the next time you decide to join our family again and wish you a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop Club - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.