We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Ermitage to your Saves list
Petit Ermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Hidden paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a small boutique hotel, close to everything, but hidden away. They have the most amazing rooftop patio overlooking LA with a beautiful little pool and fireplace. They even give out these great furry blankets to their guests to use on a cool night. The Laison to Happiness, Josh was excellent! He helped me arrange everything and absolutely helped us be HAPPY! We stayed in a corner suite with a little wrap around balcony. Great for people watching!

Room Tip: Corner suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Martin,

thank for you leaving such beautiful feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our private rooftop club, the location, got cozied up on our firedeck and (from what it sounds like) put our Liaison to Happiness to work. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and really took advatnage of every aspect Petit Ermitage has to offer. Please let us know if my staff or myself can ever do anything for you in the future. Looking forward to hopefully welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    160
    68
    34
    37
See reviews for
43
263
66
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend and had an amazing experience! We almost ahead a disaster when they couldnt find our Priceline reservation. However the manager went above and beyond booking us one night at the redbury hotel king suite for free and sending us away with a bottle of wine. When we returned to the hotel we were given a free breakfast on their charming rooftop. The place has a wonderful European vibe. Our rom was upgraded to a suite and we found another bottle of wine and fresh fruit waiting for us! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Ath2s,

please let me apologize for the mixup with your priceline reservation again and thank you for being so understanding and giving us some valuable feedback. I'm glad my team took such great care of you and that you still had a great time on our property and experienced our Private Rooftop club and all amenities that Petit Ermitage has to offer. Please let me know the next time you would like to come back and I will assure you will have an even better (and uninterrupted) stay. Thank you again and I'm looking forward to personally greet you during your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Me and My wife got stuck in los angeles due to Flights being CXL to NYC we picked the Petit Ermitage and I must say what a great pick . From the time we pulled up Valet was very helpful then at Checkin the front desk rocked they gave us a free upgrade and the guy that checked us in even sent up a bottle of wine for me and my wife with a nice welcome letter . The food on the roof top was amazing all around I had a great stay and will be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Nick,

I'm so happy to hear that we were able to turn an unpleasant experience with your flight being cancelled around to a positive little get away. It sounds like you enjoyed the new menu of our exectuive chef Dylan Hallas, the atmosphere up on our Private Rooftop club and of course the service. Everyone here at Petit Ermitage takes great pride in providing an experience and service, just as you described. Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're looking forward to welcome you back in the future and please let me know if there is ever anything my staff and myself can do for you. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A very 'LA' feeling hotel...Nestled in a great spot in a quiet street which is an easy walk to Sunset blvd....upgraded on arrival, lovely room, beautiful roof terrace and lovely pool. Great for drinks at night and daytime lazing by the pool...

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear PhilipFiona,

it sounds like you enjoyed Petit Ermitage the way it was meant to by just relazing up on our Private Rooftop Club, taking in the sun and view during the day and enjoying our butterfly bar and drinks at night time. I'm also glad you enjoyed our suites, the complimentary upgrade and the convenient location. Please let me know the next time you are coming in and if there is anything else my staff and I can do for you to make your stay and time with us even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Rooms are clean, but decor is most certainly an "aquired taste". Heavy drapes blocked out most of the only window in the room, so needed lamps on during a sunny day....no chairs on the deck, so not usable for morning coffee....restaurant on rooftop was very nice, nicer than the hostess who insisted it was going to downpour and we had to sit inside...inside we sat watching the sun! At $477.00 for ine night, I'd pick the Chamberlain or LeParc Suites...both a clean, nice modern decor and walkable to most places.

Room Tip: Chamberlain or LeParc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Beautiful hotel and great location but terrible service. Whenever we asked a simple question no-one knew the answer, for example the Moonday package. I had to tell them what the website was said was included and then had to remind them to knock the Moonday items off the bill on checkout as they had charged for the inclusions. If you have a package/offer on your website then they should make sure staff are knowledgeable about it! Whenever we asked a question via telephone from our room the answer was we will get right back to you and 15 minutes plus later we would still be waiting. Booked a room with coffee machine and there wasn't one so had to be moved. Took half a day! Can't see why most others think the service is great?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location is great, rooms are nice, workout room is almost non-existent, service is not great. We arrived at 330pm, room was not ready and checking in took forever. No one seemed to know any answers to a couple of questions, one being, is there an ice machine???? Finally someone called us back to let us know we could get ice, if we brought the ice bucket to them, they took it to the kitchen, and got us ice. We also ordered room service and they forgot us, had to call 30 minutes later to find out where food was, and they had to call us back telling us it was on its way, after almost 45 minutes, for a bowl of soup. The upstairs club is nice, nice pool area, food is good. Service was our issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop Club - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.