We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic pool and roof terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Save Saved
You added Petit Ermitage to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Ermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic pool and roof terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A very 'LA' feeling hotel...Nestled in a great spot in a quiet street which is an easy walk to Sunset blvd....upgraded on arrival, lovely room, beautiful roof terrace and lovely pool. Great for drinks at night and daytime lazing by the pool...

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear PhilipFiona,

it sounds like you enjoyed Petit Ermitage the way it was meant to by just relazing up on our Private Rooftop Club, taking in the sun and view during the day and enjoying our butterfly bar and drinks at night time. I'm also glad you enjoyed our suites, the complimentary upgrade and the convenient location. Please let me know the next time you are coming in and if there is anything else my staff and I can do for you to make your stay and time with us even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    144
    61
    31
    34
See reviews for
39
232
60
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Rooms are clean, but decor is most certainly an "aquired taste". Heavy drapes blocked out most of the only window in the room, so needed lamps on during a sunny day....no chairs on the deck, so not usable for morning coffee....restaurant on rooftop was very nice, nicer than the hostess who insisted it was going to downpour and we had to sit inside...inside we sat watching the sun! At $477.00 for ine night, I'd pick the Chamberlain or LeParc Suites...both a clean, nice modern decor and walkable to most places.

Room Tip: Chamberlain or LeParc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Beautiful hotel and great location but terrible service. Whenever we asked a simple question no-one knew the answer, for example the Moonday package. I had to tell them what the website was said was included and then had to remind them to knock the Moonday items off the bill on checkout as they had charged for the inclusions. If you have a package/offer on your website then they should make sure staff are knowledgeable about it! Whenever we asked a question via telephone from our room the answer was we will get right back to you and 15 minutes plus later we would still be waiting. Booked a room with coffee machine and there wasn't one so had to be moved. Took half a day! Can't see why most others think the service is great?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location is great, rooms are nice, workout room is almost non-existent, service is not great. We arrived at 330pm, room was not ready and checking in took forever. No one seemed to know any answers to a couple of questions, one being, is there an ice machine???? Finally someone called us back to let us know we could get ice, if we brought the ice bucket to them, they took it to the kitchen, and got us ice. We also ordered room service and they forgot us, had to call 30 minutes later to find out where food was, and they had to call us back telling us it was on its way, after almost 45 minutes, for a bowl of soup. The upstairs club is nice, nice pool area, food is good. Service was our issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Amazing-sauce! That's what we bathed in all weekend in this hidden sexy, oasis! Converted apartment building (why didn't I think of that) into an artistic achievement in boutique hotels! Josh, our "butler" greeted and escorted us to our fab room. We sprung for the top floor rooms with a great view of the Hollywood Hills and easy access to the rooftop pool/lounge/sexy-time area! Food was amazing, drinks superb, staff more than accommodating! Great vibes all around! Will most definitely return!

Room Tip: Any room on the top floor is well, tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Petit Ermitage in October. We picked this hotel because of its location and size and were not disappointed. We had room 106 which is on the far end of the first floor of the west wing of the hotel. It was extremely quiet and very comfortable. Eat breakfast on at the roof top restaurant. The food is very good and the view is great. Our only complaint was the flat screen TV in our room had an analog signal so we got a very fuzzy picture. We were told the top floors had cable but our floor did not. Very odd. While it is about 5 miles to any freeway from the hotel, we were close by Santa Monica Blvd and Sunset Blvd. There are some great restaurants within a 2-3 mile radius. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Really lovely little hotel in the heart of West Hollywood. Located near everything. Excellent rooftop entertaining area -- bar, pool, view, comfortable seating. The rooftop restaurant has surprisingly excellent food too and a nice outdoor feel. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop Club - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;