We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Ermitage to your Saves list
Petit Ermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Real Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a great find! A truly unique boutique hotel with a great roof terrace for evening drinks and dinner, and even better in the morning for breakfast watching humming birds feed 4 feet from your table.

Great food, great service and even the mini bar had a twist of it's own. Half litre bottles of premium brands!

We stayed on the Labor Day weekend whilst visiting family in the area. We didn't get to explore the area too much but it's well placed for plenty of night life. Far enough away to be quiet and relaxing. Our stay was part of our honeymoon and we were well looked after.

I found that this hotel was far better than staying in the high end big name chain hotels. Although it is pricey but aren't all LA hotels? If we return to LA, we'll be returning here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    146
    65
    31
    34
See reviews for
39
240
63
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apollo Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Well this was my fourth or fifth stay here, so obviously I like this hotel, let me tell you why. First off I have stayed in most of the better westside hotels: W, Hyatt Cent Plaza, Bev Hilton, London, etc. Petit Hermitage gets my business for a great location just down from the strip, its QUIET, yes its in a neighborhood but its actually quiet, open the doors at night and you will sleep wonderfully.

Rooftop is all you've seen from the pictures and more, you will want to move in here-but i am not sure if you can actually live in the hotel.

Had lunch on the roof Friday, great lunch, view, service

Prices are reasonable, people are friendly and helpful. And thats why they are my first choice, in fact its time to book them for my next trip

Room Tip: north facing rooms are on a quiet street, if you go south facing get a room on floors 3 or 4 so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I would stay here every time I came to LA if I could. I have not one complaint about service, atmosphere, location ~ it all exceeded my expectations. My only regret is that we didn't have more time here.

We stayed in one of the Demi Suites on the 4th floor August 2012. This was the top floor of the hotel ~ same level as the roof top pool and dining. We lucked into this and would request the 4th floor every time. It was nice having the roof top retreat just steps away.

The entire hotel had a very intimate feel. You never saw a lot of people just your self and a hand full of others may be in the same place at once. The hotel has just one elevator (*guarded by a gypsy on the main level) and during our entire stay we never shared it once.
(*actually they have an elevator attendant in costume on the main level ~ if you stay here it will make since)

All parking is valet, attendants are very friendly and helpful. Bit of advice ~ allow the attendants to assist with luggage upon arrival ~ nothing but steps to the front desk.

Check in is at 4pm but we arrived around 3pm, regretfully our room wasn't ready but we were invited to wait in the roof top lounge, I'm so glad we did. We had a few drinks and sat at one of the roof top tables overlooking LA.

Our room, it actually looked better than the photos if you can believe it, I was so excited that it was more beautiful than I had imagined. To top it off when we opened our door they had music playing softly in the background. They have an i-pod docked playing that ethereal music that plays on their website. Just made a great impression.

All lights in the bedroom area had dimmer switches, the fireplace has functioning gas logs on a timer, bed was so comfortable, great room for romance - great hotel for romance. I would say this is more of a couples hotel than a family hotel. The atmosphere is very romantic.

Bath room was extremely nice, plenty of counter space, great water pressure, heat lamp, complimentary robes and slippers, good quality toiletries.

Overall a remarkably wonderful experience, I will stay here again and would recommend this boutique hotel to any and everyone who was going to LA.

Room Tip: The entire hotel was quite, very quite, it actually made you want to whisper in the halls. Honestly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've stayed in a number of West Hollywood boutique hotels, and Petit Ermitage raises the bar for the rest of them. Quaint without being cliche; luxurious without being ostentatious; quiet, peaceful and comfortable. The rates tend to be (significantly) higher than it's West Hollywood boutique brethren, but likely worth the expense if you want the unique experience and attentive customer service available at this establishment. And who knows - maybe you'll snare a great deal when booking!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I loved it! Petit Ermitage is new, hot and hip without being modern, crowded or trendy. I guess the secret is that you either have to book a room or be a member of the private club to access the stunning rooftop bar/restaurant/pool/fire-deck area. I for one do not know the owner, Stefan Ashkenazy (who was on the rooftop both days I was there) so I had to book a jr. suite room for my anniversary. Glad I did (I chose PE largely via tripadvisor)!
All the other rave reviews (and the hotel website) accurately depict the eclectic-bohemian-mediterranean decor and vibe so I'll just try to add any important impressions (from most to least trivial):
1. The smell. I think I narrowed it down to sandalwood because I went home and smelled all these cologne testers I got from a department store. Anyway. Awesome. Just the right amount, in my opinion, piped throughout the entire indoors of the property. Maybe they change it depending on the season? Maybe a celebrity requested that smell before his/her arrival? Maybe it's Stefan's cologne and he walks just out-of-sight in front of you everywhere? I don't know but I was down with it.
2. The hotel is situated in a mature, high-end, palm-and-shrub-lined residential neighborhood. Although steps away from food/bars/trader-joes/cbtl on Santa Monica Blvd, it is quiet at night. This makes the rooftop experience serene. I partially chose PE because I want to walk to the party, not sleep in it. I read many reviews of the trendy hotels on nearby Sunset complaining of noise. All. Night. Long. Like I said, Lionel Richie's fun. Until I want to sleep.
3. Okay, it's difficult to generalize customer service for a hotel because each interaction and the people involved are so varied. But, I think I put my finger on it...PE was created for and caters to a jet-set, if not celebrity, clientele. Therefore, some clientele require a certain amount of discretion (hence the no photo/video clause) and some are looking for a place where they won't be bothered. IMO, the entire staff from the front-desk to the rooftop seem to kind of "read you" before warming up (as in our case) to that hospitable, regional tone (I'm thinking it might be a training method because we experienced it universally). And I didn't mind it. They were pleasant but concise at first and then seemed to adjust to my personality (smile, joke, kiss on the mouths?) as the days went on. Anyway, I could have just said that the staff appears to be sensitive to each client's needs and even their personality. Top notch.
Lastly, thank you for the complimentary bottle of Prosecco to celebrate our anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a great week at the Petit Ermitage. Very friendly service, fabulous pool / roof deck, and central location but in a neighborhood so away from the Weho craziness. Our butler/concierge Joshua was extremely helpful in organizing a casual cocktail party for some friends. Service at the pool was noteworthy - attentive without being overbearing, and always easy to find someone to help.

One negative - despite a reasonable rate (including breakfast and wifi), there are a lot of additional charges ($30 for parking per night) and food & drink are pretty expensive for what you get.

Also, the decor is funky and cool but the amenities (soaps, mattress, bedding, etc) are only ok.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get a "masters quarters" room on the 4th floor. You'll want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My daughter (grown) and I were going to a show at the Troubadour and stayed here for one night. We did not eat at the restaurant, but we did hang out on the roof a bit. This is a special place. The art collection alone makes it somewhere to go, with each floor having a large number of original prints by famous and less well known artists, that are all just great Ithere is a theme of sorts on each floor). I guess the original Miro aquatint in the lobby should give a hint of things to come, but the works by Dali, Rauchenburg, etc. surprised me. The room was really big, and very comfortable. And it was quiet. A short walk to Santa Monica Blvd. gets one to public transport, great restaurants and bars, and music. And then, a few blocks up to PE and you are in a quiet neighborhood (if West Hollywood has such a thing). I stay at chain hotels often, and it is always fun to discover places like PE exist. A romanitc getaway would be that much better here. I cannot say a bad thing about the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop Club - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.