We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique treat, Quiet Side Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Ermitage

Save Saved
You added Petit Ermitage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petit Ermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unique treat, Quiet Side Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a surprising boutique hotel that is a couple of blocks off Santa Monica Boulevard in West Hollywood. The location is actually discreet but strategic, only a few blocks from Beverly Hills shopping, restaurants and other attractions, but also in quite a posh, interesting neighborhood itself. The lobby is European style; small and interesting. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was very comfortable and eclectically decorated. The real attraction of this hotel, however, is on the fourth floor rooftop. The bar, restaurant, pool and fire pit area atop the hotel is a wonder to behold in every way. Very romantic. Beautiful views. The food is top notch and the ambiance at the bar is excellent. I had lunch and dinner there and was completely captivated by the lay out. You will remember this visit for a long time.

Room Tip: The fourth floor gives a nice view and gives entry to the rooftop amenities that make this hotel rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    142
    60
    31
    34
See reviews for
39
228
60
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on way back from Australia and had great time. Beautiful, quirky decor and stunning rooftop pool and bar area that's fantastic for an evening drink. Plus, it's tucked away on a quiet residential street but still only 5 minutes walk from Sunset and Santa Monica Boulevards. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Love this hotel...we were on our honeymoon and had just driven back from Vegas - so it was so nice to walk into a hotel that showed a bit of interest! The young girl and gentlemen behind the desk were lovely - the room was large and comfy - I think Europeans will find the rooms almost like a slightly sparse older european style - but they are so cosy with the fireplace and balcony.

We had dinner on the roof - which was outside, we had a mini 'tent' all to ourselves, decorated with fairy lights and candles - just heaven. The next day we chilled by the pool and a celeb was even having a photo shoot. The only 1 negative about the whole stay I would say was that the owner/manager came out by the pool whilst we were there and was telling staff off about the beds - we didnt love this, but it was a minor thing.

The location was great for us - north of the hotel are loads of restaurants - The Viper Room, Nobu etc - so we loved it! Thoroughly recommend - Thanks for making the end of our honeymoon x Oh and the cookies are the best!

Room Tip: We had a king size bed which was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Small property, quirky location, great rooftop. Stayed at the Chamberlain a few weeks back but this property ha a better offer so thought I would try. Was pleased with the choice. The Bathroom even had Waterworks faucets in place, nice water pressure too, will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My girlfriend booked this hotel for a romantic escape when i arrived in Los Angeles, and it was spot on! Petit Ermitage is very cosy. We had a superior room, large, with a king size bed and a lounge area. It was of course very clean and we had a lot of little nice touches. Bed was very comfortable. The hotel itself is nicely decorated, quiet sexy and glamourous! The fourth floor is a must, with the restaurant area (very good breakfast) and the pool area. The swimmining -pool is enjoyable, being warm (swmming in january overlooking LA will satay in my memory for long!). You got a perfect view of the whole Los Angeles chilling onto the large sofa. I definitly recommend Petit Ermitage for a little bit of romance, you can feel love all around...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our booking was not found until the next day even after I had conformation from Blackberry Travel. The room was a decent size but the smell of food was a bit too much to bear as it had a small kitchen in the room. The hotel parking cost of USD30 per day was a bit too much and should be included.
The restaurant on the roof was fabulous.
What made this hotel was the staff. They went right out of their way to assist.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed at the Petit Ermitage hotel for 1 night. The check in/check out were easy and smooth. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the location is great, the rooftop pool is nice, too. However, it's a bit of inconsistancy with the service they provide.....some of the staff members are very friendly and professional and some others don't get bothered to do anything when you ask them. For example, several days prior to my arrival I sent an email to the hotel and asked if they could email me the menu of their Sunday brunch so that I could decide in advance if I would like to make a booking for it or not.....the menu was never emailed. After my check out I couldn't find a copy of my check out bill so I called the hotel and asked them to re-send it to me over the email, they said they will but they never did, I emailed about it 2 times aferwards but got 0 reply. I think the person who checks their emails should be fired a long time ago because she/he doesn't do absolutely anything.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop Club - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.