We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go see Jim Morrison room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alta Cienega Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alta Cienega Motel to your Saves list
Alta Cienega Motel
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   1005 North La Cienega Blvd., West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Just go see Jim Morrison room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I would never stay here. It seemed a bit creepy to me. But my husband is a huge doors fan, so we just stopped by and paid the owners $20 to see the Jim Morrison tour. One of the most bizarre, but fascinating tourist things I've ever seen. The owner didn't rush us and let us take our time and take as many pictures as we wanted. We wanted to sign a wall, but owner was going to charge ua another $10 so we passed. If you are a Doors fan I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    17
    11
    24
See reviews for
4
21
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I spent two nights in this creepy motel, very tirdy, the owners live in their ownworld, they don't think people have to enjoy the place where they sleep.
The bathroom (brrrr) was broken and they change us the room... and the new toilet was broken after the first utilize...
I'm a traveller, and I don't spend a lot of money for the accomodation, but in this case I wasted money because I spend almost of the time outside for the disgusitng experience I have had in those rooms.
I can imagine why it was the last place where Jim Morrison lived, after it you are lucky if you survive!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I checked in and my mouth dropped when I saw the room. I walked right back to the office and was told I could not have a refund. I didn't want to pay for a room that looked like a meth lab/falling apart. I had to spend the night there...scary...and non of my friends that lived in West Hollywood would go near that hotel. Wish they would have warned me! If you want a cheaper and NICER hotel go to the Holloway motel. I manager is really crazy and I think has issues but other than that the rooms are a LOT nicer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I went with a group of 4 people to visit the bar scene on sunset blvd and this was the only place to stay under $300....$100 but not even worth it! In santa barbara the motel 6 is $60 max and waaaay better. I cant believe they can over charge so much and not even maintain their rooms! There were cockroaches outside the door and coming from the room next door and ants in our room. There was a bullet hole in the table and the only place on the sticky carpet that was clean was directly under that spot. There was blood on the bigger beds boxspring and on the curtains by the smaller bed had semen right where your face is going to be. There were fingerprint marks like a druggie was poking it all night the night before and both the heater and ac looked like a major fire hazard if turned on. The beds felt like we were sleeping on a park bench. I actually contemplated sleeping in my boyfriends accord but got too scared the druggies outside would do something crazy if they saw me. The wiring of the lamp looked taped togethe....another fire hazard. The, most annoying part was the next morning the indian guy working there began banging on everyones door an hour before checkout trying to kick us all out so he could book foreigners waiting outside. I told him we have another hour and he says I need to leave in 10min or he will charge me a second night then stands outside our door (it was hot so we left it open) just giving the dirtiest look the whole time. I stayed another hour because we had to get ready... until actual checkout time and he just kept being rude the whole time. What a sorry excuse for a business.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

No doubt: The room is cheap, free parking is a big big advantage and the location is great. But the rooms are very basic, don't even have a fridge and the host was not willing to keep some cheese (still packed in the original packing) in a fridge. We've been to another motel (just oposite the street) before and thougt, that the Alta Cienga could be the better option. Wrong!! Rooms are in poor condition (for sure no renovation since ages, alhough they advertise so). Next time we'll stay at holloway motel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I came into Lax from Manchester UK and took the bus to West Hollywood . Met a charming and beautiful guy who got on , the blackest skin I have ever seen We walked along Santa Monica Blvd, and he pointed out the Motel, He carried on home to North La Cienega. I have stayed at many motels in USA and the room was what I would expect for the price. I intended to stay a couple of nights and rent a car. I stayed two weeks and used the buses to travel all over Los Angeles County. Yes, the Police arrive, the Rent Boys work, you can get hot take out meals from the market, liquor stores handy, TV Air, Heat , My finances have improved so I now fly First, but I will still be staying at La Cienega on my next trip to California.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The folks that leave horrible reviews arent incorrect but they are snobs. The hotel is humble and is in the traditional 'classic motel' motif with an almost wild-west second level catwalk facing the southern sun. I had to purchase a space heater from CVS to keep myself warm on these cold autumn nights and the towels are cheap and scratchy but its inexpensive, clean, quiet and centrally located. I've been here for almost ten days and there are rarely more than two cars in the lot making the place feel very private. Its been a sanctuary for me to write a book without distraction and to meet with clients. Maria the cleaning lady is a sweet-heart. I tipped her $20 on Thanksgiving and she's treated me like gold for a week, nurturing me like my mom. Yes, there's an occasional siren or tranny sighting but hey, its like spotting a rare animal on safari. If you can get over the fact that the style is 'home depot' and there are no fancy shampoo samples you'll enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Second Level, North Side gets lots of light and is far enough from the main street as to keep most n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites
West Hollywood
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Andaz West Hollywood
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Cienega Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Cienega Motel

Address: 1005 North La Cienega Blvd., West Hollywood, CA 90069
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Alta Cienega Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alta Cienega Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Cienega Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alta Cienega Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.