We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, Hollywood to your Saves list
The Standard, Hollywood
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 nights and save!
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Tupelo, Mississippi
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

great rooms and lived up to everything i'd seen samantha brown state on the travel channel. There's lots for couples to do here and it's in one of the best locations on the Strip. Close to everything, with great views of LA and of the strip from the balconies.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool also overlook los angeles. Rooms on the opposite side overlook sunset st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    165
    72
    80
    98
See reviews for
23
134
63
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After hearing much about the Standard hotel brand, I took the opportunity to enjoy the Sunset Blvd. location in Hollywierd. I enjoyed the retro style and unique décor of the Hotel. The live model inside the lobby in a life size glass aquarium behind the front desk was very interesting, to say the least. I enjoyed the lobby bar and pool area quite much and decided to forgo the nighttime club which looked fun. The rooms were simple and plain but well designed although fairly small, which was expected. Overall, a good experience. Definitely met my expectations for the room rate paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I booked this hotel because I had been to The Standard NY and loved it. Unfortunately the Hollywood one doesn't meet the quality of the NYC one. This is an old hotel with a mediocre renovation. I was glad I had to spend only one night there. Definitely don't recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Public Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for trying us out. We are happy you love our sister property in NY. The Highline property was built from the ground up and is THE place to stay while on the island of Manhattan. We cater to a slightly different market segment therefore our products and services are customized to fit the segment that is much needed on Sunset Strip. Our rates are lower than that of our sister hotel in NY yet we still offer a fun, innovative and artsy environment to our guests with great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a box to sleep in, that's furnished in, what I'm sure someone has told them is über trendy 60's esque tat for decor, then look no further this is your dream location. The place has zero charisma or charm. The dark corridors are lit like a car park with blue neon strip lights, the lifts echo the style with orange rubber flooring, and the bedroom ceilings are rough and unfinished like a cell block. The room had one chair, no bin in the bathroom, no safe, no kettle/coffee machine, a fridge that looked like it may have seen the 70's, a fan with a "hilarious" "hard", "harder" or "stop" setting, and a shower that flooded the toilet floor when used. The wardrobe was a rail behind a shower curtain! very classy. Reminded me of student halls. There was a silver bean bag though which obviously made up for all it was lacking....
When we arrived the resident dj (who operates from a corner of the reception desk) was so loud we could barely hear a word the receptionist was saying. Still unsure if breakfast is included in the room rate! Traveller tip. If you want to try and sleep, ask for a room away from the pool.
The pool was teaming with 20 something try hards- far too intimidating for anyone over the age of 25 to venture. Unless you enjoy being stared at. Very uncomfortable.

You would also need a car to stay here. There is nothing within walking distance.

Probably really cool if you're 18-20. If not dont even consider this place. More basic than a travel lodge!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Kewarburton,
Sorry our design aesthetics does not fit yours. The intent of our designs is to provoke a sense of familiarity by combining the recognizable elements from a few decades of the last century. Examine closely, one would notice many elements from the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s. We realize our décor isn’t for everyone and that’s part of the appeal of a design hotel. The lighting in our corridors and public spaces are demure to create and sense of arrival and calm. We are proud of the fact that we were one of the first hotels to feature resident DJ’s in our lobby. Sure! He/she can sometimes be a bit overly enthused, but our carefully selected music does inject life into our lobby and pool deck. Lastly, our bathroom floor and wall are covered with mosaic made of natural corks, another design element we are excited about. We are bummed you did not enjoy your stay with us nonetheless, we appreciate you gaveing us a try and that you took the time to provide your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wonderful upgraded gigantic suite- patio, views, all the amenities with a modern minimal style. It was so quick and easy to go out to a sunset strip concert and be back to play ping pong and have drinks. I wished there were baths or hot tubs, but the pool deck in the morning was splendid Hollywood happening. I love the cafe menu and the evening music. The parking fee is a bit much, but they are full service a quick. Same goes for getting a cab. Would love to stay longer!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is Hollywood (or what I expect from Hollywood). Trying too hard and a little fake.

The service at the desk and restaurant was great. The girl in the bar a little moody.

The rooms smell of cleaning liquid and the carpets feel old under your feet.. Keep you socks on.

You can hear every footstep in the room above, and the toilet flushing in the room next door.

The room itself is not bad. It just is let down by the smell and the carpet.

The corridors are dark and depressing. They need a serious repaint.

Back to the bar... Serving wine in plastic glasses.. Really?

Its not a horrible hotel, but next time I'll Spend the extra cash and stay at the andez over the road.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Bambi851,

I am glad you gave us a try. We realize that some of our rooms face acoustical challenges but we are continually working to improve our facilities to offer better products and services to our guests; therefore your input is valued. Our hallway is demurely lit to create a sense of arrival and comfort, we use plastic ware by the pool for safety reasons; common practice in the industry when the outlet is near a swimming pool. Summer is right around the corner, come join in on our pool festivities on your next trip to West Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Standard Hollywood . . . Its 84 degrees, and there off the reception desk is the pool . . . with the people you would expect to see lying around . . . too many speedos . . .

Had a nice quiet room, away from the noise of Sunset and the pool . . . strange thing is there is no bar to just hang out at, at the pool, they need to fix that.

Was there on a Wednesday, and they have live acoustic acts playing, so it was nice . . . had drinks with a customer, then took the 5 minute stroll to Bar Marmont . . . it is what it is . . . plastic folks, players, phonies . . . oh, wait, this is Hollywood!

My room 312, was HUGE! Bathroom/shower not so much!

Great front desk staff! If you can get a rate, stay here, but avoid the Sunset view rooms . . . NOISY!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Address: 8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.