We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel with vintage rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, Hollywood

Save Saved
You added The Standard, Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trendy hotel with vintage rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on a weekend and really enjoyed the hotel. Great vintage rooms with comfy bed, very trendy looking reception area. We loved the pool and enjoyed the music. At night we went to the club downstairs and had a great time! We'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon. Summer is right around the corner and we our pool deck is THE place to be…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    155
    67
    76
    94
See reviews for
23
125
60
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The only bad thing is that the hallways are in a serious need of renovation. They were very old-motelish. But the rooms were clean and spacious. Great beds and showers. Front desk staff friendly and efficient as well as housekeeping & roomservice. Food from the restaurant was awesome i was pleasantly surprised. Great location and fun lobby/pool area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, large by English standards, the bed is exceptionally comfortable and a great shower. The rooms are very clean and all the basic toiletteries. The location of the hotel is very good, with excellent public transport links there are a number of restaurants nearby .The hotel restaurant is open 24 hours a day and is very good value. There is plenty of seating around the pool and also sunbeds. On the downside the hotel can be noisy, the walls are paper thin, I would be happy to stay here again, but not sure I would recommend this hotel for people with young children or the very light sleeper. I would also recommend asking for a room on top floor as you can hear the people above you walking around.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Standard in early January whilst on vacation in the LA area.
I chose the hotel because it is relatively close to the Dolby Theatre, where we were going to see Iris, and because I've heard good things about it.

We really liked it... Lots...!!

We arrived at the hotel in the car and after being advised on the valet parking costs, (not bad for the area, and you pay once per night - even if you go in and out a couple of times), our car was whisked away and we went inside to the front desk to check in.

The lady on the front desk was really nice and chatty, and the check in process was quick and efficient. She put us in to one of her favourite rooms - 320 - and whilst I am sure most of the rooms are great I would certainly agree that 320 is a fantastic room.

We had a corner room on the south east corner. It was a good size and it had everything we needed.

I guess I would describe this hotel as being quirky & funky - in a rock 'n roll kind of way.
It's exactly the sort of hotel that you wouldn't be surprised to see Bono & The Edge getting in to the elevator with you.

The mini-bar is seriously impressive! Lord knows how much it would cost if you polished it off, but you certainly wouldn't be spoilt for choice, and there are a few "accessories" in it too that cater for a variety of needs.

Having been to Iris we had a drink and a snack in the hotel's 24/7 restaurant.
It's got a diner feel to it. You can sit in a booth, or at the bar, and as well as good food and drink it's got a nice vibe too.

The "living backdrop" to the front desk is a fantastic feature, but having taken a snap I was a bit surprised to be told "no photos" - if you're going to put on something impressive like this you shouldn't be surprised if people want to take pictures.

The bed was nice and comfy, and we slept well.

We had breakfast on the pool deck in the glorious sun - and very nice it was too!

When it came to check-out time we didn't want to leave.
We'll definitely be back sometime, and I fully intend to try out some of the other Standard Hotels too.

Room Tip: Ask for 320...!!! Or one with a view of the pool - but I suspect these could be a tad noisy, (altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

*CHILL POOL* The pool area on the main floor is great! Its a nice area to enjoy a cocktail with a great view of the city. The music selection played was awesome too. This area was simply my favourite. It was chill and calm, it had a great vibe! It was a great way toe scape the hustle and bustle of the busy city.
*FREE WIFI* This was a big plus. I hate when hotels charge for it!
*ROOMS* Bathrooms are newly updated with bright orange and white fixtures and nice cork-tile flooring. When showering: make sure you use the bathmat towel provided, else the water will flow past the drain and into the common area where the toilet is. Not pleasant to step in water if you want to use the toilet after someone has showered. The bedroom furniture it truly vintage, in fact some of it has the old wood, musty, smell. It wasn't that bad though. Bed was comfy and sheets were clean. The space age bean bag was great to put on the deck and enjoy the weather!
*WANT A GOOD NIGHTS REST?* Beware of staying on the second floor rooms 200-220, there is a club underneath. I was only staying the one night and wanted a good rest for my early flight and when I went to bed around midnight all i could hear was the bass from the club. The bed was even vibrating, lol. I called down to reception and they swiftly moved me to a room facing the pool area (250), it was much more quiet :)
*RESTAURANT* its diner-like and cute. Great service and good food. I had a classic breakfast of buttermilk pancakes, it was simple and tasty!

Room Tip: *CARE TO SEELP BEFORE 2am?* Beware of the night club under rooms 200-220 are above it. If you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Janine S.,

Your feedback is very much appreciated. We love our newly remodeled bathrooms too! Our Design Team works hard not only at the design aesthetic but also the tiny details that really make our room unique. Additionally, I am glad to hear that our staff was responsive of your need to relocate. The rooms facing the pool have such amazing view of the skyline of our city of angels. Since you enjoyed room 250, I have noted your profile accordingly for your future visits. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was travelling for business and the Standard is in a great central location, easy to get to all of my appointments. I have stayed there twice now and both times very impressed with the staff, who are really keen to help and seem genuinely nice.
Wifi is free, which is great (not always the case in America!), and the 24-hour diner has really nice food and a great vibe. Also, it's never too busy so you can always get a table. The staff in here are really lovely too: friendly and helpful.
The pool is great, towels are provided on all the sun loungers, and you can eat and drink outside too.
I wasn't driving, but a friend came to meet me for lunch and said the valet was ludicrously expensive (over $30 dollars!) so be prepared for that.
But, overall, the prices seemed reasonable. It's not super-luxurious, but it has everything you need and is very clean with comfortable beds and good showers.
There is no gym or spa, if you are looking for that kind of thing: I wasn't.
I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool bar can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Rosamund,

Thanks for your great comment. It is such an encouragement for everyone on our team to continue providing our guests with “The Standard Experience”, an experience our guests cannot wait to repeat. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is obviously not a cookie cutter property and it shows in every single detail. This is real luxury with anticipatory behavior from the staff. From the gentleman who swiftly sent up some steamed milk for hot chocolate along with wine glasses, noticed we actually had champagne and then brought up flutes just as fast; to the clever details found throughout the hotel and suites to the design of the place > they simply get it. This is a retro post modern take on a fun motel with all the services and panache you'd expect from Andre Balazs. Request a room facing downtown LA for a killer view.

Room Tip: Room #320 is a corner room with a wraparound balcony and a view from the Chateau Marmont past downto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi cvaldaisnotbig,

We are truly happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works diligently at providing personalized service that matters to each guest. We recognize that experience is the only thing our guests walk away with at the end of their visits; therefore, our goal is to provide each and every guest with “The Standard Experience”. Please come back and see us again soon! After all, summer is practically here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Address: 8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.