We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill pool, truely vintage bedroom furniture , beware of nightclub bass if you want to sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, Hollywood to your Saves list
The Standard, Hollywood
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 nights and save!
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Chill pool, truely vintage bedroom furniture , beware of nightclub bass if you want to sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

*CHILL POOL* The pool area on the main floor is great! Its a nice area to enjoy a cocktail with a great view of the city. The music selection played was awesome too. This area was simply my favourite. It was chill and calm, it had a great vibe! It was a great way toe scape the hustle and bustle of the busy city.
*FREE WIFI* This was a big plus. I hate when hotels charge for it!
*ROOMS* Bathrooms are newly updated with bright orange and white fixtures and nice cork-tile flooring. When showering: make sure you use the bathmat towel provided, else the water will flow past the drain and into the common area where the toilet is. Not pleasant to step in water if you want to use the toilet after someone has showered. The bedroom furniture it truly vintage, in fact some of it has the old wood, musty, smell. It wasn't that bad though. Bed was comfy and sheets were clean. The space age bean bag was great to put on the deck and enjoy the weather!
*WANT A GOOD NIGHTS REST?* Beware of staying on the second floor rooms 200-220, there is a club underneath. I was only staying the one night and wanted a good rest for my early flight and when I went to bed around midnight all i could hear was the bass from the club. The bed was even vibrating, lol. I called down to reception and they swiftly moved me to a room facing the pool area (250), it was much more quiet :)
*RESTAURANT* its diner-like and cute. Great service and good food. I had a classic breakfast of buttermilk pancakes, it was simple and tasty!

Room Tip: *CARE TO SEELP BEFORE 2am?* Beware of the night club under rooms 200-220 are above it. If you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Janine S.,

Your feedback is very much appreciated. We love our newly remodeled bathrooms too! Our Design Team works hard not only at the design aesthetic but also the tiny details that really make our room unique. Additionally, I am glad to hear that our staff was responsive of your need to relocate. The rooms facing the pool have such amazing view of the skyline of our city of angels. Since you enjoyed room 250, I have noted your profile accordingly for your future visits. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    165
    72
    80
    98
See reviews for
23
134
63
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was travelling for business and the Standard is in a great central location, easy to get to all of my appointments. I have stayed there twice now and both times very impressed with the staff, who are really keen to help and seem genuinely nice.
Wifi is free, which is great (not always the case in America!), and the 24-hour diner has really nice food and a great vibe. Also, it's never too busy so you can always get a table. The staff in here are really lovely too: friendly and helpful.
The pool is great, towels are provided on all the sun loungers, and you can eat and drink outside too.
I wasn't driving, but a friend came to meet me for lunch and said the valet was ludicrously expensive (over $30 dollars!) so be prepared for that.
But, overall, the prices seemed reasonable. It's not super-luxurious, but it has everything you need and is very clean with comfortable beds and good showers.
There is no gym or spa, if you are looking for that kind of thing: I wasn't.
I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool bar can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Rosamund,

Thanks for your great comment. It is such an encouragement for everyone on our team to continue providing our guests with “The Standard Experience”, an experience our guests cannot wait to repeat. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is obviously not a cookie cutter property and it shows in every single detail. This is real luxury with anticipatory behavior from the staff. From the gentleman who swiftly sent up some steamed milk for hot chocolate along with wine glasses, noticed we actually had champagne and then brought up flutes just as fast; to the clever details found throughout the hotel and suites to the design of the place > they simply get it. This is a retro post modern take on a fun motel with all the services and panache you'd expect from Andre Balazs. Request a room facing downtown LA for a killer view.

Room Tip: Room #320 is a corner room with a wraparound balcony and a view from the Chateau Marmont past downto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi cvaldaisnotbig,

We are truly happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works diligently at providing personalized service that matters to each guest. We recognize that experience is the only thing our guests walk away with at the end of their visits; therefore, our goal is to provide each and every guest with “The Standard Experience”. Please come back and see us again soon! After all, summer is practically here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Was told this was the "in-crowd" in the Hollywood district. Very chic and funky. Room was small, but cool vibe. Loved the rooftop area. Prices are steep here, more so than other hotels in the area, but I think a lot of what you are paying for is the "cool" vibe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My sister and I stayed in LA for 6 days at the end of a big US/Mexico trip and we were not disappointed in finishing our trip at The Standard West Hollywood!!!

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, we selected The Standard based on its great location and its value for money and The Standard delivered!

As we were staying for a relatively long time and were at the end of a big trip, we selected an X-Large room and it really was X-Large! The room was quite minimalist, but it was perfectly spotless and had a lovely comfortable bed - and plenty of room for our big suitcases and all the stuff we had accumulated after 4 weeks travelling!

The hotel surroundings were cool and quirky - I really felt a 50s kind of LA beach style, which I really loved. The pool was a real scene and great for people watching, with lovely cocktails and beautiful views of LA. After big days of sightseeing and all the hussle and bussle of LA, it was nice to be able to come home, relax and cool down with a cocktail and a swim.

The staff were attentive and professional, but not overly friendly, which was fine.

The restaurant was also great - we enjoyed breakfast there every morning and I have to say that the heurvos rancheros is the best breakfast I have ever had and I would return to LA just to have that!

Perfect location for us with the Hop On Hop Off bus stop very close by on Sunset Boulevard (which we used for sightseeing and as our transportation) and all the shops/restaurants in Sunset Boulevard were very close too.

A wonderful way to end a wonderful holiday! Loved The Standard, loved LA and loved the USA! God bless America and I hope to return as quickly as possible!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear bbriedis,

Seems you had an amazing stay with us! All the things you enjoyed during your stint in Los Angeles: sightseeing, shopping, basking in the sun with food and drinks. You fit right into The Standard Culture. Guests like you remind us each day why we do what we do and how we do it~ We can’t wait for you to return! And YES ! there will be a nice plate of heurvos rancheros for you. The Standard Family awaits......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here with our 2-year old and enjoyed it overall. The first night our room was on the first floor of the courtyard facing the pool but with no real view. There was an outdoor speaker bolted on to our balcony, playing music loud enough that it was hard to take a nap. We asked to be moved, but the only other room available was right above the lounge -- even louder. They were very nice about it and upgraded us for free the second night to a larger room facing south east (towards downtown), which was very quiet. Glad we stayed here at least once.

Room Tip: Noisy except for rooms facing south east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Standard on West Hollywood carries the same name as all the other Standar hotels (Miami & New york ) and yet it fails to disappoint.

The rooms are barely furnished, the carpets are filthy (particularly in the corridors)
The food in the bar was very mediocre...

Why oh why this hotel even bears the same name as the others...?

We were kindly deducted our bar bill from the final tab .. but rest assured I am not going back!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Front Office Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear TEREHDEC,

We thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guest while maintaining the individual feel of each property and its location. Seems you were in one of our spacious X-Large rooms with the great view of the Los Angeles skyline and our pool deck. Additionally our bathrooms have just been recently upgraded with rain shower, organic bath products, cork tiles and stylish hardware. I am sorry that we our design aesthetic did not fit your individual taste. However, I am happy to hear that our front desk agent took care of your dinner check from our Poolside Café; I hope you enjoyed our food and drinks. The next time your travel brings you back to West Hollywood, we hope you’d stop by for a bite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Address: 8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.