We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Standard Rock!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, Hollywood to your Saves list
The Standard, Hollywood
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Wailea, Hawaii
1 review
“The Standard Rock!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My first stay here and did not know what to expect. The staff here are really friendly and the room I had has a great view of the city. Breakfast in the diner was fantastic. The building is old but cool design elements. Centrally located in the middle of Sunset Strip. Valet parking expensive but fast and friendly. The acoustic night was actually really good I would stay here agains. The Standard isn't a typical hotel but it's sure is my kind of hotel.. Will go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Front Office Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Will,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are glad to hear that our staff looked after you well during your visit. Our design team works tirelessly in crafting the right look and feel to create a sense of familiarity yet modern & innovative. Our diner is a local favorite for breakfast. Not sure what you had for breakfast but our Eggsadilla is a must try! I am sorry you find our valet price on the expensive side but we research the neighborhood to make sure that our valet parking price is comparable to those of our neighbors. AND great to hear that our valet team is fast and friendly. The Standard family can’t wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    184
    81
    86
    100
See reviews for
27
149
70
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Hills, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed here a few times, and it is a great location, with nice clean rooms... Especially for the price! Stayed right before the holidays, and received great service from the front desk, and the concierge had some good restaurant suggestions!

Usually one of my top 3 when I stay in west Hollywood!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Snowflake981,

Thank you for your kind words and we couldn't be happier to see you had another great stay with us. Our staff and service are what make this hotel unique and I'm glad know we were able to take care of you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Standard is my FAVORITE hotel on the Sunset Strip. The staff is incredibly attentive, very knowledgeable of the local area, and in general, just fun! You can really tell they love their jobs, and it makes all the difference. We were upgraded to a room with a wrap-around balcony, offering stunning views of LA. Really made for a romantic evening. Love the iPod player in the room and all the small touches - it's a sassy hotel that's for sure! The pool deck is a great way to unwind (or start your evening off right!). And the restaurant? Amazing food! All in all, great things to say. Very affordable and very awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Front Office Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Rachel,

We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very fortunate to have the team of staff that we do. The design aesthetics and the various programming we curate for our guests are important part of the experience we provide to our guests but our primary focus is our SERVICE.. We can't wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

we stay here ,simple , clean ,fantastic service , prices are super !!!!
if you stay here and is your first time in california ,the front desk will send you to the best places,clubs,restaurants ,they have a #1 service .

Room Tip: top floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Standard is not known as a family hotel but we took our teenagers (15 and 17) and they loved it as much as we did. All the staff were extremely kind and helpful which as everyone knows is the most important part of first impressions in a hotel which is new as it was to us. Even though there was some refurbishment going on, once in our rooms we enjoyed the space, the great showers and a feeling of calm. The beds are really really good quality. As we were in LA for two short visits (one night and then another two) we only had one meal in the hotel but it was excellent. Their position on Sunset is a good central place from which explore and shop. I would certainly return to The Standard and look forward to that very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our first time and we were not disappointed! The room cost was mid range for the Sunset Strip hotels. So it is perfect if you don't want to spend a lot of money for your room but still want a cool and interesting place to stay. The Decor is modern and minimal. Cool art installation in the lobby. The staff are friendly. Valet and Desk staff are a fun group of people with personalities. They are casual and easy going yet efficient and responsive with any request we had. Jon at the front desk brought us a round of cocktails because our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 10:30am (check in time is 4 pm). BTW we got into our rooms even before 11 am. The valet guys were always around to greet us and checked on us if we needed anything.
This is not a hotel for you if you expect the 'yes sir or yes ma'am' kind of service of yesteryears. Not to say there is anything wrong with that kind of service; just not mine. The service here is more personal and unpretentious, the staff here are more approachable and friendly which made the experience more enjoyable for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi David T,

We certainly are glad you gave us a try as well. It's nice to see you were well taken care of while you waited for your room and even better to see you were able to check in early!

We couldn't have described our staff and our service better than you did and we hope you will come back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

we stayed here in Oct 2012 after a friend recommended it to us , we had just come from Las Vegas so was a bit tired ! when we checked in they said we had booked one large bed for 3 of us ! they said there was nothing they could do ,and i had to go through the people we booked with we were to tired to argue so went to our room for asleep , we then went down to complain and they moved us rooms but we had to pay the difference , so when booking check the rooms !apart from this the hotel was amazing , in really good area and really cool its not like any hotel ive stayed in before with little surprises ! i would come back and recommend to all my friends

Room Tip: check when booking how many beds are in the room !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Address: 8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Splendia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.