We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, Hollywood

Save Saved
You added The Standard, Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fun and Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My stay at The Standard on Sunset was great. I did not know what to expect but now I know that I love this place. The hotel is mimimal but the room I had was very comfortable, the bed EXTREMELY comfortable and the view from my room was great. Interesting mini bar items as well. The best part though is their staff. I feel that they care and worked hard at taking care of us. The food is also very good, but Room service can be a bit slow. People at the Front Desk has great attitude and always took the time to show me where to go and what to do etc. I don't think that The Standard is the right hotel for everyone but for the maket they are aiming for, I think they do a great job. It's a fun hotel with lots of fun/cool people working hard at provide great service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    148
    66
    76
    94
See reviews for
21
118
59
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I love this hotel! The best part about this place is the people! The staff take the time to get to know you. The service here is very casual but efficient. The front desk staff seems to love their jobs because they are always smiling, helpful and approachable. I liked that fact that every time I passed by the front desk, Jon always checked up on me... How is everything? What are your plans today? Do you need recommendations for dinner this evening? Jon and his team really made my stay. The funny thing is when I first arrived I was not sure if this is the right hotel for me but I left a returning customer. I can't wait to go back again ...it is all about the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at The Standard, Hollywood on a recommendation of a friend and I love this place. The staff there is simply amazing. They have a relaxed attitude about them so the service was attentive without being obtrusive. From the very beginning, the valet guys helping us were friendly,funny and pleasant to look at (Artie and Kevin). The front desk crew ---super cool and treated me as though I have stayed there a hundred times before: it's my first stay. The check-in process is painless because the desk staff made it feel like a conversation not a transaction. I asked nicely and was upgraded to a room with a great view of Los Angeles skyline. Jon at the front desk was such a delight to deal with! If you need anything while staying at this hotel you should ask for him. The location of the hotel is walking distance to lots of things so its very convenient. The room is very minimal but I think that's the idea behind their design. I would stay at The Standard, Hollywood again on my next trip. I get their product but I love their style of service.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a wedding. Most enjoyable hotel experience we could have asked for. At the top of the list was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Personalized and friendly. The food was delectable. The drinks were great. Room service was fantastic. Every staff member who I encountered went above and beyond. We have family in West Hollywood and will always stay at the Standard.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at the Standard for 4 nights for a long weekend with my
boyfriend last week. We checked in with Liz and Laureen and it was
super fast and easy and even though they put us on the 2nd floor they
warned us about the construction on the 3rd floor, which was really
nice of them. Unfortunately it was raining so we couldn’t lounge on
the Pool Deck but the Cactus Lounge was inside and had amazing
cocktails. The Dirty Hipster is the best if you like whiskey!!! The
room was really funky and cool and we LOVED the Andy Warhol inspired
curtains. I think the best parts of the stay were the Mmhmmm Lounge
and room service which is 24/7 and super fast. We got to the Lounge on
Saturday after going out around the Strip at maybe 11 and it was
awesome. The bartender told us the music usually varies from House to
Hiphop depending on the night.
My boyfriend thought the “Girl in the Box” in the lobby was awesome. I
think he stared too long… Haha.
Anyway if you’re looking for a fun weekend away, this hotel is it!
There’s DJs on the weekends and really cool people. The people at the
concierge even remember our names when we checked out. Super nice!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Welcoming, clean, friendly,helpful, smiling staff, pleasant rooms,great shower, well stocked mini bar (too expensive),great room service,MY BED WAS HEAVENLY, lovely pool, quality food, great views, in the centre of Hollywood. All ages were welcome.Close to lots of star attractions, plenty of excellent bars etc close by.

Room Tip: Just ask where you would like to be, they are very amicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

l've been staying at this hotel for about 6-7yrs every 3months........Jon the director & his team are always without a doubt helpful and nothing is ever too hard!!!!!. l travel the world and its always a pleasure coming back to the Standard WEHO. I'll be seeing you again in the new year.

Blair:-)

Room Tip: NO gym but soul cycle is up the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Front Office Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Blair,

We truly appreciate your continued support of our hotel and our brand. We are an ever-growing and ever-evolving as an organization but the one static component has always been and will always be our personalized service to our guests. Can't wait to welcome you back The Standard, Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Address: 8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.