We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrested Development” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, Hollywood

Save Saved
You added The Standard, Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Arrested Development”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The basic idea behind the hotel seem to target the growing number of 35 year olds who think that they are 18 year olds and thus it all sort of makes business sense. For owners. Most of people who will stay at the Hollywood Standard are likely traveling on some kind of business, show business included. If you are accompanied by a group of models with collective IQ rivaling their collective shoe size and you need to plant them in the astroturf around the pool in picturesque poses, look no further. Standard is perfect. If your business associates do not look best perching on been bags, probably better off moving on. Plenty of hotels along the road. On the positive and admirable side: GREAT beds, great pillows. Two thumbs up! Diner type restaurant is excellent. Overall esthetics is great and conceptually refined. Marimekko curtains, great full blast showers almost redeem annoying brain numbing music from the lobby DG. Bottom line: not for many, but for few it must be paradise.

Room Tip: Make sure there is a chair and bench in your room. Not all of them have it. Typing on the floor is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    152
    66
    76
    94
See reviews for
21
119
60
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently stayed at the Standard and could not fault the entire stay in any way. Of particular note is one stand out employee of the hotel Mr Jon Disatapundhu, Director of Guest Relationships.

I spend around 70% of my year travelling the globe as I work for an airline in Corporate Communications, and Jon would have to be the most professional, genuine and the most caring of front line staff you could ever met. Nothing was ever a problem and all my requests (even sourcing attire for a fancy dress party and the last minute) were solved in the most efficient manner.

I would highly reccomend The Standard for anyone wanting a very chic, professional, and out of this world stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hey St0rm85,

Thanks so much for sharing the love! Jon D. is one of our best and brightest so I will make sure to pass along your praises to him. We can't wait to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Standard in West Hollywood and had a wonderful time. Its a fun place!!! Good in the morning, fun during the afternoon and great at night. We arrived early. I mean - very early (08.30h a.m.) and the friendly lady at the reception tried her best to get us checked in. Even it did not work out immediatelly, we felt very much welcome and well taken care of. The rooms are extra-cool. Very hip. We liked the 'minibar' with all sort of things I had never seen at a minibar so far... :) Dont go to sleep too early, because you would miss a party down in the lobby, by the pool... wherever...

Room Tip: all rooms are good. 2nd floor is an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Good: location for nightlife and restaurants, tourist sightseeing. Friendly staff. 24 hr room service. Decent view of LA from balcony. Decent sheets. Nice shower water pressure.
The Bad: like the Emperor's New Clothes. The decor is so worn that it's become retro and hip again, which makes you wonder whether the joke's on you.
The "Mark": misses badly at this price point. Roosevelt is up the street and more expensive but well worth the extra $ in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this Hotel over night for the Haloween celebration in West Hollywood. Although this hotel put me in walking distance to all the festivities, I could never recommend this hotel to anyone. First of all you can find better accommodations at a motel 6 for a third of the price. The hotel furnishings are like Ikea meets a yard sale. The rooms are small and the beds are terrible. The furniture is very cheap and the carpet looks like it hides plenty of dirt. The only positive thing I can say about the standard is that it has a nice poolside bar/lounge. That's it. My advice, do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello Jon1820,

Thanks for letting us know what you thought of the property. I'm sorry to see your time with us was not more enjoyable but hopefully you had fun at the Halloween Parade. I hate to see our furnishings were not to your liking as we go to great lengths to work with well respected designers in ensuring each piece is of the highest quality. Thanks again for the feedback and I hope you find somewhere more suitable for your next visit to L.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is an interesting hotel, and I guess it was what I had in mind when we decided to stay here. The check-in staff was really nice, Dominique I think was his name. Our room was on the end of the hallway on a corner balcony, it was HUGE. In fact too big, the bed was about 5 metres from the TV and it just seemed odd to have to walk for so long to get anywhere!

The room is kind of 70s chic, lots of blues which isn't the most cosy of colours, I really liked the orange bathroom though. Lobby is odd, a woman appears to be employed to sit in a glass box behind reception in the evenings and the valets are kind of porn starish... I dunno it's an odd place, but as I said before, it was kind of what I was expecting.

Oddly as we were checking out on a Sunday there appeared to be some sort of pool party happening and the whole lobby stunk of weed. People were rolling up in the corner as we waited for our car to the airport. No one in the hotel seemed to be paying much attention to this, instead focusing on carding the teens who appeared to be breezing past to join in the fun.

Plus points for me were the amazing views over the pool onto LA, the location was good as you could stroll down to Santa Monica Boulevard, and we appeared to be a short enough drive from most of the spots.

Downside was the odd crowd the place attracted (euro-trash, business men having affairs, teens smoking pot) plus the price was a little high for a hotel that did seem a bit dated around the edges...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel basically stinks. It was once a dreary motel and the rooms are still depressing. My dorm room had more style than this place and was more timeless in design. It did remind me of my dorm room in the lack of comfort and space everywhere you look. There isn't really a closet -- just an opening where the mini-bar hogs most of the space, leaving enough room for a couple of items on hangers. There is literally no place to put one's luggage outside of the floor. I'd rate it highly if it was a youth hostel, but those are a significantly greater value than the "Sub-Standard."

Room Tip: Stay at a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hello HotelFreak222,

I'm sorry to see the unique design of our hotel was not on par with what you are accustomed to in your travels. We do have several different room categories on property, each of which offers a variety of features such as larger closets or more square footage. Should you decide to return, please feel free to let us know of your needs in advance and we will be able to help guide you on the room type most suitable for you. Thanks again for voicing your opinion and we hope to have the opportunity to change your mind about us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Address: 8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.