We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, Hollywood to your Saves list
The Standard, Hollywood
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is an interesting hotel, and I guess it was what I had in mind when we decided to stay here. The check-in staff was really nice, Dominique I think was his name. Our room was on the end of the hallway on a corner balcony, it was HUGE. In fact too big, the bed was about 5 metres from the TV and it just seemed odd to have to walk for so long to get anywhere!

The room is kind of 70s chic, lots of blues which isn't the most cosy of colours, I really liked the orange bathroom though. Lobby is odd, a woman appears to be employed to sit in a glass box behind reception in the evenings and the valets are kind of porn starish... I dunno it's an odd place, but as I said before, it was kind of what I was expecting.

Oddly as we were checking out on a Sunday there appeared to be some sort of pool party happening and the whole lobby stunk of weed. People were rolling up in the corner as we waited for our car to the airport. No one in the hotel seemed to be paying much attention to this, instead focusing on carding the teens who appeared to be breezing past to join in the fun.

Plus points for me were the amazing views over the pool onto LA, the location was good as you could stroll down to Santa Monica Boulevard, and we appeared to be a short enough drive from most of the spots.

Downside was the odd crowd the place attracted (euro-trash, business men having affairs, teens smoking pot) plus the price was a little high for a hotel that did seem a bit dated around the edges...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    177
    77
    82
    100
See reviews for
26
145
66
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel basically stinks. It was once a dreary motel and the rooms are still depressing. My dorm room had more style than this place and was more timeless in design. It did remind me of my dorm room in the lack of comfort and space everywhere you look. There isn't really a closet -- just an opening where the mini-bar hogs most of the space, leaving enough room for a couple of items on hangers. There is literally no place to put one's luggage outside of the floor. I'd rate it highly if it was a youth hostel, but those are a significantly greater value than the "Sub-Standard."

Room Tip: Stay at a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hello HotelFreak222,

I'm sorry to see the unique design of our hotel was not on par with what you are accustomed to in your travels. We do have several different room categories on property, each of which offers a variety of features such as larger closets or more square footage. Should you decide to return, please feel free to let us know of your needs in advance and we will be able to help guide you on the room type most suitable for you. Thanks again for voicing your opinion and we hope to have the opportunity to change your mind about us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stay in West Hollywood pretty regularly, but fancied a new hotel this time round. Having spent a little time at The Standard Downtown, I decided to book The Standard West Hollywood.
Basically, it's just like the title says - this is what you probably want from a hotel in West Hollywood.
There are a few reviews talking about it being too young, a little contrived and try-hard hip (with the live model in the glass tank over reception) but seriously, it's Hollywood. What did you expect...?

So here goes - the rooms are excellent, big, light, nicely decorated (if fairly plain) and clean. Good bathroom, comfortable bed and a great mini-bar selection (you can't go wrong with a hotel that has half-bottles of Patron and Maker's Mark in the room). The service was good, just the right amount of friendly but not over the top, and the pool and bar area are extremely nice, with good views across the city and decent poolside drinks.
If you want to be in this part of Hollywood (Sunset area, right by House of Blues) and want all of the things that entails (including model-looking valet parking attendants wearing 'Standard' mechanic shirts) this is pretty much ideal.

It seems like The Standard's hotels are all of a type (which is probably a good thing) - so expect ever so slightly self-conciously 'hip' things (like orange bathroom fittings and staff dressed in white linen) but provided you're not looking for old-school 'luxury', it shouldn't disappoint. Yes, the crowd is youngish, yes they play music round the pool until late, yes it's a bit of a party hotel but yes, it's also a pretty cool, fun place to stay. Honestly, I like a hotel where the reception staff smile and compliment your scarf when you're blatantly returning from a night out at 9am.
If you don't want a young/hip/loudish/party hotel, maybe you should stay somewhere other than this part of West Hollywood. On the other hand, if you do, stay at The Standard.

Room Tip: Sunset rooms (front of the hotel, and the cheapest) are away from the pool so if you want to recover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello plusfour,

We couldn't be happier to hear you had a good time with us. Thank you so much for the candid feedback and we can't wait to see you again next time you are in Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place needs a re-do and in a hurry. I doubt much has been done since it opened with much fanfare years ago. I only hope they do not let the NYC sister property go in this direction. Pleasant front desk (contrived live model in fish tank gan go anytime). Hallways dreary and strewn with discarded (and looked to be dated) room service trays and cocktail glasses at many doors. Pretty good bed, just OK bath, decor is non-descript and not comfortable. Bar area has terrible seating with a wall of cigarette smoke wafting in from the open patio. While I realize this is not meant to be an over-the-top experience (especially at $300), there are dozens of better destinations in West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. It is truly a motel for young hipsters.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello westvillagetraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent experience at our property. I'm sorry to see our facilities fell short of your expectations during your time with us. The opinions of our guest are extremely important to us so please know we make every effort to maintain all areas of the hotel and ensure we present a clean, comfortable and inviting space for everyone. I’m pleased to inform you, in the months ahead we have a variety of projects planned for our public areas as well as our guest rooms. Thank you again for your review and I do hope you will come back again to check out the changes we make!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a last minute booking. This hotel definitely needs to be renovated. If you are over 30 you may want to choose another hotel. Extremely young crowd and if you are not into techno music make sure you don't get a room on the pool side. The weekend pool parties can be a little crazy. The 24 hour diner was plus. Not a place to stay with children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Don't believe the hype, the Standard has seen better days. The front desk and concierge staff were pleasant and friendly enough, but even though we had a room right at the front and the far end of the motel, we were still kept awake by the music around the pool area all night long.

The rooms were clean, but the lobby and pool area looked really shabby and tired.

On the plus side, the walk-in shower and bathroom amenities were the best we had on our trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I will preface these comments by saying I am not going to go into crazy detail because I simply do not want to waste anymore time on this experience.
Admittedly we arrived late at 12:30 a.m. which make it tougher when you are tired..... however the check in was an absolute nightmare. The clerk had zero personality and stared at the computer screen without comment. After 20 minutes we went to the rooms she directed us to only to find they were not as promised (wrong sizes). This happened two more times and she causally mentioned that they are all listed incorrectly in the computer?! Once we finally got into the 2 correctly size rooms, they did not have the rollaway bed we had requested. This turned into an hour of phone calls and nonsense.... Meantime other people in my group went to the hotel resturant and recieved rude and extremely slow service - 1 hour to get 4 milk shakes? There was a loud humming noise in our room all night.... They service is horrible and in the end it is the location that ensures people will continue to book.
The concept is cute, great showers

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandardManager, Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hello AAASanDiego,

Thank you so much for providing us with feedback from your recent stay at our property. I can see from your comments the experience was underwhelming from the start and for that I do apologize. I have shared your posting with my operations team here and can assure you we will use it as a tool to improve our level of service moving forward. I'm happy to hear you were able to enjoy our new showers but I am truly sorry for our shortcomings. I hope you will give us another chance to win you over in the future and thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Address: 8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.