We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been a 4” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chamberlain West Hollywood

Save Saved
You added Chamberlain West Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chamberlain West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Westmount Drive, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Room-FREE WI-FI
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could have been a 4”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

After reading some of the negative reviews about hidden and extra charges we were a little wary of booking this hotel but decided to go ahead anyway

sure enough when we arrived the incorrect room was booked despite 3 e-mails weeks in advance of our stay to make sure we got the right room. extra charge on top of our booking as we had to upgrade to the original room we booked. We also got charged another $300 on our credit card that we were never told about.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. our room was fairly large with two comfortable double beds and a lounge area. could have been more lighting as it was pretty dull and looked out onto an apartment block.

The rooftop pool was fantastic, views of the Hollywood hills and downtown LA and nice seating area.

Overall the hotel was pretty good and very clean. nice location only 5-10 mins walk to the shops on sunset Bvld. you get what you pay for.

despite the small hiccup with the room i would come back to this hotel purely for the location, rooftop pool and nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhaut, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear stephen w,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at the Chamberlain West Hollywood. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the staff and rooftop pool! Looking back at your reservation it seems that initially you had booked our Deluxe Suite which does only come with one king bed. I do apologize if your request for 2 beds was not responded to; I will check into that on our end. In regards to the $300 extra charged to your credit card we have no records of this taking place. It seems as though you provided a cash deposit and your upgrade fee and incidentals were taken from that and you were refunded the remaining balance of $164.55. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to speak about anything in more detail.

Sincerely,

Chad Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    348
    259
    77
    40
    30
See reviews for
98
217
58
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is cute and in a good neighborhood - and the staff was very friendly with the exception of the valet. No where when you make reservations does it tell you - nor did the front desk inform me that the only parking was valet and the charge was 36 a day ... That's beyond pricey for an already pricey hotel! Also I was disappointed that the poolside bar was not open at all and the poolside seating was slim .and there was no drawer or closet space - however the room was huge with a comfy little living room and a couch in addition to two double rooms- Overall it's a cute hotel - just be prepared for the extra charges - including Internet charges of 10 a day

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhaut, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Azlawher,

Thank you for your choosing the Chamberlain West Hollywood for your stay! Parking in West Hollywood is very limited due to most areas being in residential neighborhoods which require permits to park on the street. The $36 valet parking is comparable to the other West Hollywood Hotels. I do apologize if the Front Desk did not verbally mention the fee and will speak with them to ensure they follow proper procedure with check-ins. The fee is listed on the registration form that every guest must sign and initial upon check in. We do close the Rooftop Bar during the winter months (food and beverage can still be ordered through room service, however) but have since reopened it within the past 2 weeks since the weather has been great! As you know the Rooftop is very intimate and we have put as much seating as we’re able to as to ensure our guests are able to enjoy the incredible views! We do also have packages available throughout the year that include both parking and internet and really are a great value! Again, thank you for your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss anything further.

Sincerely,

Chad Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood and 10min walk from Sunset Blvd.
It is decorated with mostly black and white geometric patterns which I personally didn't care for. It didn't look contemporary but odd.

Our room was spacious except the tiny bathroom. There is barely enough space to put one person's items. At least the shower had excellent water pressure.

The bed was very comfortable and combined with the quiet location we slept very well.

Another highlight was the exceptionally friendly staff. Although the Bistro kitchen seemed a bit slow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhaut, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear D4RTS,

Thank you for your review of the Chamberlain West Hollywood. We appreciate the feedback in regards to the décor and size of the bathroom. While most of our guests enjoy the eclectic nature of the hotel we do understand that it may not be everyone’s taste. Our standard Deluxe Suites are 350 square feet which is a great size for Los Angeles and does have a separate living and bedroom area which is a really great feature! Since the rooms are smaller than our larger suites the bathroom, too, is smaller but our guests tend to find this acceptable. I am happy to hear that you overall enjoyed your time with us and do hope that you choose the Chamberlain West Hollywood the next time you travel to Los Angeles!

Sincerely,

Chad Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Walking into the Chamberlain West Hollywood had a "Glamour Hollywood" feel. The decor was inspiring, the associates were excellent, the room was a dream getaway. Minutes away from all the fun and charming places that Hollywood has to offer. The room had a beautiful decor style that was phenomenal. It was clean and spacious with a living room, fireplace, master bed area, balcony, and bathroom. This is the place to stay in Hollywood if you want a 5 star hotel, service and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I've been to LA a few times and always struggled to find a nice hotel at a decent price. This boutique hotel is nestled in behind Santa Monica Bvld on a quiet street. The rooms are great and at least mine was very large with a big sitting area, king size bed and a great shower. I'd come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The Chamberlain is style with no substance - water is luke warm, every time you turn around they want to charge you for shampoo and bottled water - even the Hilton garden in has free wifi! So tacky and unsophisticated - if you charge $350 night during the week in the off season, have some service - would have been better off paying $425 for 4 seasons and had a nice experience -

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhaut, General Manager at Chamberlain West Hollywood, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Emilykatemaine,

Thank you for choosing the Chamberlain West Hollywood. I’d like personally apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations as we pride ourselves in the service we offer our guests. I only wish you would have spoken with our Front Office Manager or I prior to your departure as many of these service issues could have been alleviated during your stay. Please contact me directly so we may discuss these and any issues you had in further detail.

Sincerely,

Chad Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great location in West Hollywood, so walking distance to a ton of restaurants and bars. Room was decorated nicely and was larger than I expected. Happy hour at their bar as well! Great view from the rooftop pool as well!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Andaz West Hollywood
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.4 mi away
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#7 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#9 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Luxury, Pool, R...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#10 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain West Hollywood

Address: 1000 Westmount Drive, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain West Hollywood 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly located on a residential, tree-lined street in West Hollywood amid the exciting Sunset Strip and the bustling Santa Monica Boulevard, our eclectic West Hollywood boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of glamour, comfort and impeccable service. The dramatic style, unique ambiance and convenient location of our West Hollywood accommodations make it an ideal choice for a relaxing extended visit or a short LA getaway for both business and leisure travelers. Step into the glamorous 80s with our avant-garde decor complete with intricate brass detailing, cool hues with rich gold and chocolate accents and a chic retro feel. The Chamberlain West Hollywood boutique hotel features 114 spacious suites, an exclusive chic Bistro, in suite dining plus a stunning rooftop setting with 360-degree panoramic views of the Hollywood hills and elegant spaces for intimate events, private dinners or corporate meetings. Roof top pool offers private cabanas, dining and bar service. Our full service hotel also offers a complimentary 24 hour state of the art fitness center and a 24 hour business center with both MAC and PC's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Chamberlain West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Chamberlain Hotel West Hollywood
West Hollywood Chamberlain Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamberlain West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.