We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but not a full service hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palihouse Holloway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palihouse Holloway to your Saves list
Palihouse Holloway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8465 Holloway Drive, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location, but not a full service hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is right off of Santa Monica Blvd right in between West Hollywood and Beverly Hills, so perfect Location.
Since this was originally a condo complex the rooms are very large and have kitchens. The beds are very comfortable and there is free Internet.
There are a few negatives to consider however.
The elevator often didn't work
Parking is $26
The hotel rents out its bar downstairs for huge parties (all 3 nights that we were there) so in addition to it being very noisy, guests cant even get a drink or sit in the bar. Guests seem to be sort of an afterthought. They put earplugs in your room along with a preprinted card apologizing in advance for the noise!
There is no pool or a gym, not a deal breaker but it would have been nice.

I would probably stay elsewhere next time because for the money we paid, I expected a more full service hotel.

If you are just looking for a large room and you don't care about anything else then you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get one farthest away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Holloway, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience, and feedback.

We agree our location in West Hollywood is ideal, centrally located yet situated on a private residential side street. It offers guests privacy yet with the ability to walk to local shops, restaurants, and sites - thank you for complimenting this aspect of your stay.

We are delighted you feel the suites are large, and the beds are comfortable. It is our goal to ensure our product exceeds expectation, and we are also pleased you noticed our efforts.

We are sorry to hear you felt your room was noisy, and because of it the value of the rate was minimized. Part of the allure of Palihouse is not only the location, size or décor - but also the ambiance and vibe created by our culture. While we understand this value might not be important to everyone, our priority is fully committed to providing a restful, and peaceful nights sleep for every guest.

We do not have record of a noise complaint during your stay. We encourage all guests to advise the front desk immediately of any concern so it can be remedied at that time, and do whatever needed to ensure you enjoy your time with us.

We hope to have another opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincere regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    23
    6
    8
    18
See reviews for
9
34
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Expensive for the services.

I went with my family for a week the last month and I reserved 4 rooms, one of the rooms had to be cancelled for major reasons and we sent the evidence of this and they never replied .
On my arrival they pretended that they didn´t know anything about the cancellation and we show the evidence again, they said that they would take care of it, but they didn´t do anything and charge the room anyway and It was an elevated charge.

This place dosen´t have house keeping every day and dosen´t respect the conditions, no parking for guest and if you have a car you need to pay separetely and there was no concierge at all, the have one pricipal entrance and always its chaotic for the events in which you are not welcome. Anyway, I don´t recomend this place.

Room Tip: You can check a rooms in a diferents hotels. I don´t recomend this. Always is better any corner a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Holloway, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your posting. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We strive for the utmost in customer care at all times, so we are dissapointed to hear we may have fallen short.

We are always open minded to feedback that helps us grow, so we appreciate your remarks about parking and check in. We will make sure to address them with our team going forward.

We checked our records, and show your cancellation was within the penalty period. We also show our Rooms Housemaster contacted you multiple times with an explanation of the policy, a sincere apology for the situation, and an re-booking incentive to return on another trip, with complimentary upgrade and value added amenities. We understand you declined the offer.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again, and hold to the commitment we previously given. To confirm a stay or discuss your concerns further, please feel free to call our Rooms Housemaster, Gonzalo Quintero, at anytime via the hotel front desk: 323 327 9607.

We wish you all the very best in your travels.

Warm regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Prelude - My boyfriend and I normally stay at The London in West Hollywood which we have never been disappointed with; if anything we have always been shocked by how polite and helpful the staff is and how well maintained the hotel is.

We came across a deal on JetSetter for the Palihouse and decided to give it a go. From the website it look like a luxury boutique hotel and seemed to have all the amenities we look for in a hotel. I now regret not having read the reviews before making the booking for the Palihouse!!

This is what we experienced:
- we checked in around 10pm Thursday Oct 4th; the valet guy had already left for the night.
- we parked our own car in the hotel garage and had to drag our bags up the stairs since the elevator only works if you have a room key (we weren't even able to enter the lobby without a room key therefore parking the car first was our only option).
- we walked into a room that was like pictured on the site but felt and looked cheap in person.
- there were only two bath towels and no extra ones anywhere in the room.
- there was one dressing gown - we checked in as a couple therefore they should have at least provided two from the beginning - and when we requested a second one they said that that was a problem since they didn't have any extra dressing gowns.
- the shower drain was covered in hair from a previous guest and looked as if it had not been cleaned in weeks.
- the fire alarm in the room started beeping one evening because the battery was low.
- the iron was not working and we had to call housekeeping 4 times within a 45 minute period to get a new one.
- one evening when we were calling house keeping for clean bath towels our call kept going to voicemail.
- we were charged $26 for valet parking even though not once did the valet guy park our car or get our car for us. We parked it every time ourselves and we were never offered valet parking service.
- some evenings especially over the weekend when there seemed to some kind of event at the hotel we were not able to find parking in the garage and had to park along the side wall of the ramps.
- there is no minibar, complimentary drinking water or anything of that sort but there is a huge kitchen that is somewhat useless to most guests.

These were all somewhat small encounters that we had to deal with and even if we were already annoyed by the quality of the hotel, cleanness of the room and the quality of the service offered by the staff; what really topped it off for us was what happened the day of the check out...

The last night at the hotel we asked at the front desk for late check out for the next morning and we were told that it would not be a problem but we had to check again the morning of the check out.
As instructed, we called the morning of the check out at around 9am and they told us that late check out was not possible because they were fully booked and we had to be out by 11am and if we chose to check out later than 11am then we would be charged another full night in the room. We asked how this even made sense to them since they had just told us that they were fully booked. The guy at the front desk had no reply to that and told me I had to speak to the sales manager, I asked to be passed to the sales manager and I was told that he would not be in until around 10am so i told him to have the manager call me.
I was contacted by the manager and he changed the story saying that there were only two rooms left available for that night and this is why i had to tell them immediately if i wanted a late check out so that he could reserve the room for me and charge us the extra night.
After a long talk with the manager about how disappointed we were with the whole Palihouse experience the best that he could do for us was to extend our check out to 12 (noon)...an additional hour...wow.

My boyfriend and I have both traveled the world, we have stayed at some of the best international and national hotels. We know what to expect from a 5 star hotel and from a 4 star hotel.

Palihouse for us is on the level of a motel run by young amateurs.

We wanted to try something new and after 4 nights at the Palihouse and over a $1000 later we regret having not simply chosen to stay at the London as we normally do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Holloway, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your posting. We are sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay. As you can imagine our goal is the very best in customer service, so we are dissapointed we did not exceed your expectations.

We would like to take this opportunity to clarify our services:

1. Parking on property is $26 per night to have a reserved space in our garage. This is self parking with in and out service anytime. The benefit of this is a safe and convenient parking space on premise without the hassle of waiting for a valet escort. It is also private, and unlike most Sunset Hotels that charge upwards of $40 for parking, it represents a small savings to the guest.

2. We pride ourselves on cleanliness of each and every suite. Our housekeepers are well trained and all rooms are triple inspected before a guest checks in. We are committed to making sure we uphold these expectations and will absolutely address the housekeeping department regarding your complaint. Moreover, we encourage guests to advise us at the time of instance instead of afterward, so we are able to offer a room move or service recovery rather than keeping a guest in the hotel who is not pleased.

3. We stock each and every room with ample towels, robes, and any other needed item as part of our standard protocol. We also check to be sure all electronic items are in full working order. We typically get compliments in this area of our service delivery, and especially as it relates to the quality of our terry, linen, and equipment in our rooms. We are sad to hear it was not up to par during your stay - and will again detail our protocol with our Chief Engineer and Director of Housekeeping.

4. Check out time is 11 am PST. We are always happy to deliver a complimentary late check out when we can, however, it is not guaranteed unless you reserve the shoulder night. This is the standard practice at all hotels. We are glad to hear you received an extra hour complimentary, and we hope you understand our need to ensure rooms are ready for arrivals by 3pm the same day.

We would truly like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced, and would love an opportunity to prove our commitment to service excellence. We are happy to offer you a 1 night complimentary stay to use on a return visit, and promise to exceed your expectations. To make your reservations, please call Gonzalo Quintero – Rooms Housemaster, at 323 327 9607.

We wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at palihouse last week for 2 weeks. The first time I walked into my room, i realized it was an apartment and not just a hotel room. I was so happy. I ended up staying way longer than planned. The staff is super helpful, the location is perfect, the food is great. You really feel like you can be private but have all you need when you ask for it. The beds are so comfortable and there is always something going on in the lobby area.5 stars for sure

Room Tip: avoid the 4th floor under the roof because they have Yoga classes and can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Holloway, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Miguel Stanley,

Thank you for your kind review, and we hope to see you again when you're back in Los Angeles.

Best,
Palihouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I just stayed at the Palihouse for the first time. A very cool eclectic environment from the moment you walk in the door. It takes a bit of figuring out to get a feel for how this open space lobby and cafe works, but once you get the hang it is fun to be around others in the communal lobby area where people are working, eating and drinking in the neat little seating areas. My room was facing the street on the second floor but was very quiet and private. Nice linens, comfortable bed and next time I will stock the fridge and spend more time just hanging out. No noise from adjoining rooms either and when they have events in the open center atrium they end at 11pm. This is a very adult, hip hideaway in the center of the best parts of LA. I am returning next week and I know I will feel right at home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Holloway, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Pclaypool,

Thank you for your kind review, and we hope to see you again when you're back in LA.

Best,
Palihouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel was on our short list for an impromptu visit to West
Hollywood to catch a reunion act @ The Viper Room which is just blocks
away. There are mixed reviews on this Hotel but between the pictures
and information on the hotels website, and being able to secure a
decent 3 night rate, I did decide to book here because the location in
relation to other planned activities were all within walking distance.
This hotel is very near The Abbey, French Quarter, Fubar, Whiskey a Go
Go, etc, and just a short cab ride to the Bar Marmont side of Sunset
Strip. Parking was secured and a bit cheaper than other hotels in the
area and had 24/7 in out privileges. The neighborhood is safe and
relatively quiet, close to everything, ideal. We did not eat at the
hotels restaurant due to plans with others, but it seemed very popular
and it always smelled good. I liked that if we needed to we could
order room service or keep / prepare snacks, cook meals, or make coffee
in our room which was great for entertaining guests. Spacious room,
terrific, it was clean and comfortable. Rain / Steam shower with
wonderful waterfall pressure. No service problems, everyone friendly
and helpful, we did have to reset our cable box 3 times (unplug it,
wait for set up to finish), which was annoying. The tile in the lobby
elevator desperately needs to be redone. The rooftop was cool and
private, nice views, but kinda sparsely equipped with only picnic
tables, wish there had been tables and chairs, loungers, and a shaded
area. Other than that it was a great stay and would return without
hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Holloway, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Jimmy,

We are delighted to hear you had a great stay at Palihouse.

We are however sorry to hear you had to reset your cable box three times and are looking into this issue.

We look forward to having you with us in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us!


Finest regards,
Palihouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great room, also got a free upgrade because of a mix up with my booking via 3rd party site. They are a bit pricey for what you get but it's very luxurious! Only downside is I did not like being interrogated every time I had a guest come over. Manager actually asked me how many people I have in the room. After spending that amount of money that it would be any of his concern that I had some friends over. Also, I always felt harassed entering in the front door. A worker there asked me if I was staying at the hotel and I said yes, he then asked to see my key/fob and said this does not look like one of their key fobs...I told him to touch it to the door and unlock it to see for himself (Trying to prove to a random worker I was actually staying there) Then after it worked he looked at my black friend and said "is this guy really with you?" I was appalled. Place is great but feels like your going through TSA everytime you go to your room. Also, when you walk in the desk is hard to find. The manager/desk person area looks like someone is just sitting there on their laptop playing on the internet...did not look like a normal check in area. GREAT HOTEL HORRIBLE STAFF AND MANAGEMENT!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Holloway, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear you think the hotel accommodations are wonderful, and that you received a beautiful free upgrade.

We are sorry to hear our service did not exceed your expectations. It is our goal to ensure all guests feel welcomed, at all times – and that every overnight guest has a restful, relaxing experience.

We truly apologize if our communication surrounding events in suite came across harshly, or unwelcoming. That is absolutely not our intention and we will re-train our staff to ensure they do better in this area.

That said, we are passionate about making sure one guest's happiness does not create a negative experience for another. We suggest that guests planning events in suite (or having more than a couple guests to their suite) please be sure to communicate ahead of time with our events department & front desk so we may avoid any confusion, and provid the best service at all times.

We look forward to having you with us in the future, so we can prove our commitment to service excellence and training. We promise results.

Until then, we wish you all the best in your travels.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palihouse Holloway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Holloway

Address: 8465 Holloway Drive, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palihouse Holloway 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palihouse Holloway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palihouse Holloway West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palihouse Holloway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.