We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A atone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amarone Kitchen & Wine

Amarone Kitchen & Wine
8868 W. Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)
310 652-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Amarone Kitchen & Wine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 340 Restaurants in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Hollywood
Cross street: San Vicente Blvd
Description: An intimate and cozy setting with a staff of Native Italians. We feature wines from all 20 regions of Italy .Our kitchen prepares all our sauces , breads , pastas , desserts and burrata in house daily .A Chef's tasting is always available upon requests.A treat not to be missed .Buon Appetito !
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A atone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It is a find. Charming, almost European-like.
The staff was attentive asking numerous times if everything was good. Water glasses filled without asking.
There were two of us, so shortly after being seated, a small tray of items, olives, cheese,,, arrived...two of each. That was a bit skimpy since each one was so tiny.
Good wine list.
Food was presented beautifully. Beef was excellent, lamb was quite tough.there were so many other interesting dishes, that I will not hold the lamb dish against them. The veggies were beautiful.
If we understood our waiter correctly, the dessert was only a tray of typical Italian American finger items.
Not appealing when tiramisu was desired.
Overall this is a wonderful atmospheric place that it definitely on my keep list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    7
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Perfect raw materials sourced with discernment, presented with care. A wine list full of treasures (Krug $225; perhaps we drank the last sublime bottle? If not, be sure to look through an impressive and respectably aged list). The swordfish carpaccio, with shreds of crispy pink peppercorn and capers, has every element of delicacy and refinement as its silky ethereal flesh excites your palate for the next course - which you can trust the padrón to select if you are feeling adventurous. Otherwise, fall in love with their own prosciutto and tender burrata, the softly textured Dover Sole, or the dark intensity of the porcini with veal. Don't forget the pasta, fresh from the pasta machine and perfectly al dente. Perhaps as a digestif, ask if there's any of that delicately spritzig San Marino left. Note to self: be glad you has salad only for lunch. Lucky, lucky Angeleños. It's still closer to Australia than Italy......

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Italian experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Everything was amazing from the authentic Italian atmosphere ( this restaurant is small so get there early as there is limited seating). We sat outside and they put on the heaters for us. Service was amazing, and the food and wine were so delicious. I have no negative comments to write. We happened upon this place accidentally as I was starving and we were at the London hotel and I dislike authentic (English) food, which is what is served at the London. So I did a quick search for restaurants located within 4 blocks of us and Amarone turned up ( less than a block away). I'm still dreaming about the "square pasta" dish I had. So good!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A touch of Italy in WeHo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A wonderful place to eat GREAT authentic Italian food and amazing selection of Italian Wines.
If you've ever traveled to Italy, or Europe, you know that the eating experience is not just the food and drink, but often it is complimented by the servers and owners of the establishment making it a unique and memorable event.
Sandro, The owner of AMARONE knows this very well, and does what it takes to make your dining experience as unique and memorable as possible.
The restaurant is quaint and meticulously set up to demonstrate class and warmth.
My wife and I had an amazing dinner.
Thank you Sandro so very much, and see you soon, very soon.

Antonio

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Glad we found it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just around the corner from our hotel, the London, a little treasure, not cheap but worth it.
Great food, very amusing owner. Highly recommended for real Italian food. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarone Kitchen & Wine also viewed

 
West Hollywood, CA
 

Been to Amarone Kitchen & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarone Kitchen & Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.