We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay and best service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weldon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA
Save
You added Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA to your Saves list
15627 Highway 178, Weldon, CA 93283   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay and best service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed with my family here, we really like the place. The family who run this place are really wonderful and give their best service for their customer. They also have a small store you can buy every thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pomona, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

They offered free ice cream on Fridays. The sites were ok. We got a water and electric site. Brought our tent. The only sad thing is that Lake Isabella is almost none existent. If your reason to go to this Koa is the lake itself; you might find yourself very dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We chose this KOA due to it's proximity to Lake Isabella, Kern River and Sequoia National Forest. We stayed in one of the electric/water tent sites. It was easy to get down to Lake Isabella, as well as going up to the Trail of 100 Giants and visiting Kernville. It was nice and quite during the week and the entire family enjoyed playing organized games on Friday night and seeing a movie outdoors on Saturday night. The restrooms were clean and well stocked. The pool and splash pad were clean and inviting. Bike rentals were fun during the week as well. Overall a very nice KOA with owners who enjoy what they do and it shows with how well kept the facility is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stopped here for two days between Bishop and So Cal. Not much of a lake left and the town appears to not be doing well. This facility has an excellent pool which we were in most of the time we were there. Hook ups were fine and staff was friendly. It's not a place we would be likely to return but not because of the RV park.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great location for easy access to the southern sequoias and Kern river. Absolutely loved the pancake breakfast on Sunday morning the owners are very gracious and friendly. Well maintained pool, grounds and store and looking forward to coming back in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This Koa campground was like all the others that we stayed at on our trip, very welcoming, clean and quiet. We are from WV and traveled to San Francisco, Santa Cruz, Death Valley and the Grand Canyon. We chose to stay at KOA locations to save on money and each one was great. The restroom facility here was very clean, each camp site size was roomy and after hours was quiet, not to mention the staff was very friendly. I would highly recommend the Lake Isabella/Kern River KOA!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lake Isabella was our favorite KOA. It's family run, which makes for a very friendly atmosphere. While it's small in size, it's high on service. They have food and an outdoor kitchen. I preferred this to the many larger KOA's which feel like parking lots. You have to travel a bit for the attractions and the water but it was worth it. Would return again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA

Address: 15627 Highway 178, Weldon, CA 93283
Location: United States > California > Weldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Weldon
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outdoor enthusiasts will love this KOA. Ideally located in the Sierra Mountains, the campground also backs up to the Kern River Preserve. Poised midway between Southern California and Yosemite or Death Valley, this KOA offers easy access to acclaimed whitewater rafting and kayaking on the Kern River. Enjoy nearby lake access for boating, Jet Skiing, fishing, windsurfing or swimming. Off-road enthusiasts can access miles of trails right from the campground. Facilities for golfing, skiing or snowboarding are a short drive away. Visit the Trail of a Hundred Giants, Silver City Ghost Town and the Native American Cultural Center, hike to waterfalls or experience natural waterslides. At KOA, you'll find everything from large, shady pull thrus to tent sites, a family pool, splash zone play area, camper kitchen, playground, game room, general store and pub. Ice cream socials, crafts, games for all ages, pancake breakfasts and movie nights help make your stay great! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.