We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Yosemite History Center

Pioneer Yosemite History Center
Route 41, Wawona, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
209 375 9531 or 209 379 2646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 attractions in Wawona
Type: Historic Sites, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, National Parks
Attraction Details
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Young people will enjoy getting a glimpse into the past. The day we visited the blacksmith was hard at work and my kids really enjoyed watching him, not just watching though. The guy was great!!! He talked about the properties of fire and the types of coal that he uses and why. He explained what tools he was using and why. He was talking about some historical facts and how people needed a blacksmith to make the things they needed for everyday life. It was worth the stop just to watch the blacksmith.

However, there are also horse riding lessons and other attractions...and old fashion bridge and a wagon ride if you like.

I recommend planning about 2 hours for your visit...double that if you plan to take a riding lesson.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Living History”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

In the past this has been a complete living history village with period reinactors in every building. Now just the blacksmith shop and the stage depot are active. The blacksmith and the stage driver are great, but the village could use more historic characters.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go after 2pm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I went here years ago with my sister and her family and it seemed as though there were a lot of people dressed in the time period...this time there was nothing. Then I found out that the people show up around 2pm and only a couple of the houses are operating. For instance the day we went there would only be the Bank and the blacksmith working that day. I was very disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family Cnter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I was very young when we went to visit...Pioneer Yosemite History Center.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice bit of history.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Had old cabins and machinery. Great covered bridge. Was there in March, so lots of snow and very few people.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Yosemite History Center also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Pioneer Yosemite History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Yosemite History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pioneer Yosemite History Center to your Saves list