We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my time here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Freedom Boulevard, Watsonville, CA 95076   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Watsonville
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I enjoyed my time here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was surprising upon drive up with the small parking lot, but the rooms were very well presented, well decorated. The pool and spa looked nice though I didn't partake. The breakfast could have been better but was definitely adequate. It was close to the ocean, less than 5 miles from Sunset Beach, which was stunning. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your review. For those who may have concern over the parking, we do have a 2nd parking lot and a parking space for every room. Our outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub are open all year for our guest's enjoyment. We hope you will be able to come back soon. Sincerely, Sharon Bobbitt GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    50
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
67
32
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watsonville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Room was very clean and well presented with aminities. Staff was helpful and very pleasant! Beautifully decorated and a delightful stay at this motel. AND they are Pet Friendly. Very easy to access from the highway and a restaurant nearby that served wonderful food.

Room Tip: They are pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Sue, thank you for taking the time during the busy holiday season to post a review. We appreciate your effort and nice words. Happy New Years, we hope you will be able to come back again soon. Sincerely, Sharon Bobbitt GM and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, USA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The room I checked into for business travel was dirty, filthy carpet, and holes in the bedspread and there was a lot of noise outside the room. I'd rather drive to Salinas for a hotel than stay here. I called the speak to the hotel Manager, Sharon, and could never get a hold of her. She does not seem to be there very often. One morning she arrived at 12:30 in the afternoon before I got a hold of her. She does not have voice mail to leave her a message.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Debra, I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to expectations and that you were unable to contact me. It is true that in running a 24 hour a day business I do not necessarily keep standard working hours, but I do try to get back to all my messages as soon as I can. I apologize for any un-returned messages you left. I would love to hear more directly from you in regards to your room, which room number especially, so that we are able to address the issues of concern. You and any guest are welcome to email me directly at sharon@bestwesternwatsonville.com if you prefer that over phone calls. I look forward to hearing more from you and being able to correct the issues mentioned. Sincerely, Sharon Bobbitt General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel itself wasn't bad. Seemed clean and well maintained. The complimentary breakfast was pretty good, including make it yourself waffles, but the dining area was small and cramped. It's near a busy street, so some street noise. Staff was friendly and helpful. Price wasn't too bad considering the area. It's worth the 10 minute drive to pay a little less rather than staying in Santa Cruz, Aptos, or Capitola.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Melinda, Thank you for your review of your experience at our hotel. We always appreciate every point of view. We cannot guarantee a perfect stay every time, but we do promise to do everything in our powers to correct any situations that have gone wrong when given the opportunity. I have found in the case of traffic noise that every guest varies in their tolerance level. My best suggestion for our guests who are light sleepers are our poolside rooms with sofa sleepers. These are all located in front of the pool at the back of the property as far away from the street as possible. I also like to make sure that they are aware our kitchen studio and 2-room suite with 1 1/2 baths are located at the front of the property facing the street so these are not recommended for light sleepers. We hope to see you again if you are ever back in the area. Sincerely, Sharon Bobbitt General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citrus heights, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Inn is about 10/15 minutes from Santa Cruz/ Capitola. And about 30 minutes from Monterey.
There is a Nob Hill grocery store 5 minutes away. Ross Store nearby. We ate breakfast at Red Apple, basically around the corner from the hotel, recommended by a staff member. Good choice. There was a 30 minute wait unless you are willing to sit on the patio or at the counter. We opted for the patio and was seated right away. The Inn was very clean and quiet. Having a fridge and microwave in our room was very convenient. We didn't use the pool. The complimentary breakfast was satisfying; self serve Belgium waffles and pancakes, yogurt, boiled eggs, fruit, coffee, juice and pastries. They also had Jimmie Dean egg/sausage sandwiches. There is also a t.v.in the breakfast room. The staff was helpful. We left a backpack that we didn't discover was missing until 2 weeks after our stay. I called the Inn and they said they would ship it UPS. They couldn't tell me how much it would cost, we had a choice for shipping method; ground, overnight or 2 day and they could charge it to the same credit card I used for our stay. They still had our credit card info on file. All I had to give them was my name, and the room # we stayed in.The backpack arrived 4 days later with everything intact.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Marca98, We are so glad to hear your backpack arrived safe and sound. Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to you visiting us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Sharon Bobbitt General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My daughter and I stayed one night while on a college tour road trip. It is hard making a choice of where to stay when you have never visited before. I did not realize that the property was motel style with the doors opening to the outside. The room was mostly clean, stains on the carpet, some mold in the bathroom above the tub. The floor was a little uneven, darkish matter in the corners. The outside door when closed had a good half inch gap at the bottom, which made me imagine all sorts of creepy crawlers coming in. The neighborhood appears a little downtrodden and hotel is on a very busy main street. Breakfast was good with plenty to eat. The staff was friendly and helpful and the cookies at check in were delicious. I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guests, I am sorry that our property did not live up to your expectations. Please know that I have taken the concerns in regards to the housekeeping to our head housekeeper to be addressed with the entire housekeeping staff immediately. We take pride in being one of the top Best Western's in quality assurance in the country and will be sure that any cracks in our system are corrected immediately. I would also like to note for any future guests who have not stayed with us before that we are a two story outdoor corridor property and only have stairs to the second floor. We are happy to take any requests for a ground floor room from guests with limited ability to climb stairs. Please contact the front desk directly for any special needs and we will be happy to do all that we can to accommodate you. Sincerely, Sharon Bobbitt GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Positive:
Clean Rooms
Pool heated but small
Microwave and fridge in room
Breakfast, good with lots of options

Negatives:
Parking lot - very tight
No towels near the pool
locations, need to drive to restaurants and shops

For the price, I think you could find a better location that is closer to the beaches and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Rani, We appreciate your feedback on your stay here with us. It is true that we only have one parking space per room so on sold out nights it does seem very tight, however I would like to let our future guests know it is not impossible. Please know that we keep the pool towels at the front desk. We do have a wonderful sit-down mexican food restaurant, Jaliscos, two blocks away that we recommend on a daily basis as well as a taqueria next door and diner across the street. More great cuisine is just driving distance away as you said. Our closest shopping center is a mile away including Target, Ross, SaveMart and several other small stores. I always recommend coming to visit the area during the spring and fall when the weather is beautiful, the crowds are gone and the prices are dropping. We hope you will try us again then. Sincerely, Sharon Bobbitt GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn

Address: 740 Freedom Boulevard, Watsonville, CA 95076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Watsonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Watsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn has just undergone a multi-million dollar transformation capturing the strong Mexican heritage of the local area. We have added complimentary high-speed Internet access, a free Internet kiosk, several new rooms, a meeting/event facility and a fitness center.We are ideally located in the heart of the scenic Central Coast, near the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea, redwood tree parks, championship golfing and prestigious wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watsonville
Watsonville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.