We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspired Asian with Lovely Patio Dining by the Creek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Door Restaurant

The Door Restaurant
1448 S Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94596-5319
925-930-8088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 255 Restaurants in Walnut Creek
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Inspired Asian with Lovely Patio Dining by the Creek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Door is in a location that has changed hands several times and this time I hope the restaurant stays. The interior is dark yet elegant but it’s the exterior patio alongside a creek that attracts us. Comfortable seating with lush greenery views and a quiet atmosphere add to the flavor of the eclectic Asian cuisine. The green papaya salad with prawns is tangy and refreshing. We also love the Vietnamese avocado and shrimp rolls and the cauliflower with dipping sauce. There are several seafood small plates at reasonable prices as well as lamb curry, Miso soaked rib eye, and duck confit in larger orders. The Door offers a daily happy hour from 3-6pm with $3.50 beers/wine plus $3-5 appetizers. There are not many East Bay restaurants that offer outdoor dining that is not on the sidewalk. This feature alone helps rank the restaurant at a higher star. Service could be improved and reservations are not necessary for indoors, but may be necessary for the patio on a warm evening. Take out available and reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groveland, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lunch was Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I was there with a group of 12 ladies for lunch. I had a noodle dish which was very tasty. The soup was also tasty. The server did well, except that all our dishes came out separately and I was last. There were very few people in the restaurant for lunch. The price was reasonable, the decor pleasant. For Asian food, it was a decent place for a group to visit.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Modern Asian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Service was okay. There was a loud group at the next table having a party and the bartender called in sick. Loved the decor - modern Asian. Large selection of drinks. Recommend the curried cauliflower. It was great. I will eat there again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wanted to like it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I really wanted to like this place. Great location, with the elusive off street parking lot.  Cool ambiance and friendly staff.  Those add up to two stars..let's talk about the other three..

The food..gack.

We ordered several of the "street food" items.  We would not recommend any of the 5 items we ordered.  Clams and mussels..with sausage?  I'm still waiting to learn if one of them was bad..give me a few minutes..and the sausage (I think that's what it was) just didn't fit in that dish.  Pork spring rolls.  Not much taste, and less "springy" and more like a thick taquito wrap.  Steamed beef slider.  Soapy taste (in all fairness, not a huge cilantro fan..I think it tastes Iike soap) but couldn't gag down the steamed bun thingy..gaggy.  The dumplings were ok..cucumber salad was so basic you can't really mess it up..slice cukes add vinegar..and crab something or other..another steamed dumpling..

The drinks..we ordered the farmer mojito and the Singapore mule.  The mojito tasted like a tall glass of RealLime juice.  If there was anything else in it, we couldn't tell..the mule was shockingly bad.  It tasted like a household cleaner smells.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Atmosphere+food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We've only been here for the appetizers and a glass of wine. Loved the ribs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Door Restaurant also viewed

Walnut Creek, CA
Walnut Creek, CA
 
Walnut Creek, CA
 

Been to The Door Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Door Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.