We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sweet and Sour Prawns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon 2000 Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dragon 2000 Restaurant
1651 Botelho Dr Ste 120, Walnut Creek, CA 94596
(925) 287-1688
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 249 Restaurants in Walnut Creek
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Sweet and Sour Prawns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My family and I come to Dragon 2000 around two times per month. The food has always been hot and fresh. They have many many items to choose from. Some of our favorites are the Hot and Sour soup, Sweet and Sour Prawns, Mongolian Beef, Fung Shu. The full Crispy Duck is also very good. Pot Stickers delicious. They also great Dim Sum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food to Please Everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My father, my son and I often eat here. The food is wonderful with new dishes appearing on the menu frequently. All three of us are always delighted with our choices, and even Dad at 87 has moved past the Szechuan Beef. LOL

I like all the seafood, especially anything they do with scallops. I particularly recommend the pan-seared scallops with spicy garlic sauce.

The pricing is moderate, especially considering the quality of the food, but it's not inexpensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Had food delivered for lunch today. Ordered the twice cooked pork and hot & sour soup. Ordering process went great, delivery was fast, food smelled & tasted great. But here's where the trouble begins. By the time my lunch hr was up, my stomach was cramping:( Over the period of 2 1/2 hrs I had to visit the restroom 3 times!!!!! And even now (4 1/2 hrs later) my stomach is still upset! My advice? Stay far away from this place!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Chinese Restaurant in Walnut Creek, CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I just graduated from St. Mary's College and wanted to have dinner with my family members (all 20 of them) after the commencement. I picked Dragon 2000 based on recommendations on this website. We all found the food to be very delicious and priced very reasonably. The server was also attentive and tried to keep up with our orders. Overall, this is a great place to have a nice meal especially with a large group.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My local go-to restaurant for Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been to other Chinese restaurants, trying to figure out which is my favorite. This Dragon 2000 stands out based on overall food quality and service.

Their menu covers Sichuan, Hunan and Shanghai flavors. All are pretty good and authentic.

They have a few separate rooms for family gatherings without extra charge, but the setup in those room is quite so-so.

The wait time could be quite long if there happens to be a party going on.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon 2000 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dragon 2000 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon 2000 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.