We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Italian Food and a friendly waiter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecatini Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Montecatini Restaurant
1528 Civic Drive, Walnut Creek, CA 94546
(925) 943-6608
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Montecatini Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 249 Restaurants in Walnut Creek
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian Food and a friendly waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had dinner here prior to attending a concert at the nearby Lesher Center. Mentioned that we had limited time (so probably did others) so the meal arrived quickly - still it had the taste and appearance of being cooked to order. Portions were generous but not overly large. The waiter was very friendly and chatted with us. The wine list was extensive but only for full bottles but we asked for just a glass apiece and, having mentioned we had recently been in Tuscany, they actually provided a good Sangiovese from Tuscany by the glass. The outside is like a storefront, not exceptionally inviting and the dining room decor is nothing to brag about but who cares if the food and the dining experience meets expectations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I kept asking my husband to take me there because we lived pretty close by. We finally went and it was really bad. The ambiance seems cheap, old school, dim lights to cover the fact that it probably needs an upgrading inside.

Food was bad. I had pasta carbonara and it had uncooked chuncks of onions in it. First of all carbonara should not come with onions, second-make sure you cook it. Oh well...

Service was nothing to be remembered. It was a little over $100 for two which is not bad however it was not worth it.

Will not go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great quality food. Love the veal parmigiana and the sauce is also used in a seafood pasta dish. Service is good. Acoustics make it a little noisy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have had wonderful meals here. Love the veal parmigiana especially the cream sauce. Everything has been great and prices reasonable. Acoustics aren't the best but that would be the only down side.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful Dinner !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a wonderful Dinner at Montecatini's in Walnut Creek. The chicken picata is absolutely delicious as well as their house salad. Another great dish to try is the Chicken Scallopini. You wont be disappointed. Only criticism, is that the outside should be cleaned up and painted, and the acoustics in the big dining area could be better. It was very noisy, but it seemed like the placed was packed and everyone was having a good time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montecatini Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Montecatini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecatini Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.