We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecatini Restaurant

Montecatini Restaurant
1528 Civic Drive, Walnut Creek, CA 94546
+1 925-943-6608
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Montecatini Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 222 Restaurants in Walnut Creek
Price range: $14 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Montecatini's opening day was October 17, 1989, the day of the Loma Prieta earthquake in California. Since then, Montecatini Ristorante has become a place of true Italian dining experience in Walnut Creek, California. All our dishes are meticulously prepared with the finest and freshest ingredients. Our pastas and entrees are served piping hot from our kitchen to your table. Our chef-owner Ermes Paulin has been our executive chef since our restaurant's opening day 26 years ago. A true Italian chef, Ermes was born in Vicenza Italy, and was classically trained in Rome at one of the finest culinary academy hotel in the world at the age of 17. Ermes is the heart and soul of Montecatini. You can find him at the restaurant almost every day creating the most delicious and consistently amazing dishes for everyone!
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have had wonderful meals here. Love the veal parmigiana especially the cream sauce. Everything has been great and prices reasonable. Acoustics aren't the best but that would be the only down side.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful Dinner !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a wonderful Dinner at Montecatini's in Walnut Creek. The chicken picata is absolutely delicious as well as their house salad. Another great dish to try is the Chicken Scallopini. You wont be disappointed. Only criticism, is that the outside should be cleaned up and painted, and the acoustics in the big dining area could be better. It was very noisy, but it seemed like the placed was packed and everyone was having a good time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great family atmosphere, delicious food, fast service, close to BART.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was my second visit to this long-time establishment (that should tell you something), while on vacation. Look at their website and you will see that most of the staff has been working here since the beginning and they are not immediate family.

We had a big party and were immediately seated (make reservations on the weekend). Everyone in our group raved about the food. I asked for off the menu garlic bread and was served up, with no issues.

The owner came to our table frequently and asked how we were doing. The kids loved their food (spaghetti and lasagna) and it's hard to get little kids to eat "different" foods.

Plenty of street parking or in parking garage across the street. Easy access to HWY 680 (North/South).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and high priced wine miss-represented on the wine list”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Our party of four had dinner at Montecatini last night and we had an absolutely horrible experience – mediocre food and high priced wine miss-represented on the wine list – and a very defensive – almost to the point of being rude waiter and manager when we attempted to resolve the issue. Details below ….

We had our of town guests staying with us for a few days who appreciate straightforward Italian food and in particular Veal Parmesiana – so after reviewing the Montecatini menu on-line we decided to give it a try. We made a 6 PM reservation on a Sunday night and were promptly seated as the restaurant was not busy. Since three out of four of us had our heart set on Veal Parmesiana that selection was easy – but we did note that they prepare it with tomato cream sauce – not the traditional hearty marinara typically used. We were being treated to dinner and our guests ask that I make the wine selection. Out of respect for them (one does not drink wine) I wanted to order a reasonably priced bottle – but the least expensive selections on their list started at about $30 and most were $40 and way up from that. I did however find a Conn Creek Cabernet Sauvignon on their list that was at the lower end of the available price range and we selected it.

Our meal started out quite nice with a very tasty Caesar Salad followed by the main course. It turns out the Veal Parmesiana was accompanied by penne pasta and broccoli and everything was smothered in the watery, bland tomato cream sauce – quite disappointing – probably the worst I have ever had. We did not complain about it and just assumed others may like it that way – but we did not. As we finished the wine after dinner and paid the bill – I picked up the wine bottle to have a closer look - the wine was nice – but just did not taste like a quality Napa Valley Cab. To my surprise I found that it was in fact not a Cabernet – but rather a non-varietal blended house wine that did not list Cabernet as one of the grapes that went into the blend.

Since we paid for a Cabernet – we asked if we could see the wine list once again to see if possibly we made a mistake and inadvertently ordered something else. We found the only bottle Conn Creek wine on the list to be Cabernet. We summoned the waiter and pointed this out and he immediately became very defensive - accepting no responsibility – stating that it must be a problem with the wine buyer and that he could do nothing about it since we drank the wine. Not happy with that response – we asked if we could speak with the manager - who arrived shortly thereafter – with a pre determined attitude. He too blamed the wine buyer and offered no compensation and made a somewhat rude and absolutely inappropriate comment about our order one of the “:cheap” wines on their list. We explained that since the wine was misrepresented that we felt an adjustment was appropriate and asked him what he could do. His response was “what would you like me to do?” We were more clear and suggested they discount the bottle – which he finally and reluctantly did - as he gave us the evil eye. In summary a disgusting customer service experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
730 helpful votes 730 helpful votes
“A solid choice for Italian food near the Regional Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I've eaten here at least half a dozen times over the years, as it is very convenient to the Lescher Regional Center for the Arts. I've had a number of dishes from pasta to seafood to chicken, and have always been impressed by the quality of the ingredients. Portions are also very adequate, and prices fair. The menu doesn't change much but they do have specials. My main criticism is that the wine selection is somewhat sparser than that of most of the other Italian restaurants in town. Noise levels are reasonable.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montecatini Restaurant also viewed

 
Walnut Creek, CA
 

Been to Montecatini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecatini Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.