We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2730 North Main Street, Walnut Creek, CA 94597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Walnut Creek
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for a night in a King Size room.

Pros
-------
-Clean room
-Friendly staff
-Free wifi with good speed - tested at ~7mbps down and 10mbps up

Cons
-------
-Loud! Road noise + people walking in the room above. Very noisy overall.
-Flat screen TV, but no HD channels, and ALL local channels were just a black screen...so I had 10 or so channels, and 4 of them are variants of ESPN.
-Not too much within close walking distance.

Room Tip: Get one on the 2nd floor so you don't have to listen to people walking around above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Matt D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a response. We always want to hear form our guests.
I am sorry that you experienced noise and television issues. Let me offer my apologies. We did have a National Outage with our service provider Lodgenet, regarding the local channels, that has been resolved and we are in the process of upgrading to HD channels and increasing our overall channel selection.
Thank you for staying with us and providing your valuable feedback.

I hope to see you in the near future.

Thank you
Steven Dodaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    120
    48
    10
    6
See reviews for
106
79
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel looks spacious and nice from the street, and has a great lobby, but once you get to the room floors, you begin feeling the hallway creak under foot, outdated wall coverings and that smell, God knows what that damp and musky smell is.

I did not have an opportunity to notify the front desk about the smell, so the hotel had absolutly no opportunity to explain itself, but it was strong enough of an odor, that anyone would have been able to pick up on it.

The rooms were ok, but the lingering smell just made the stay harsh.

Room Tip: Most parking is down under the hotel and outside. All under hotel parking are compact spaces, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Guest;
We are sorry about your recent experience at our hotel. We will share your comments with the staff for resolution. We thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was here on business. The hotel is in a good location, beds are comfortable, internet is adequate, and there is plenty of underground parking. The rooms are typical HIE rooms, however with four significant drawbacks. As is the case with almost all HIE rooms in the country, the desk chair at the work desk does not rise to a level high enough that anyone under 6' 5" can sit comfortably with elbows even with the desk. Also, I was in a room with adjoining doors and I could hear every word spoken in the room next door to me. The walls are thin. Thirdly, this HIE has done like many others and placed really nice 40 inch plus HD TVs in each room, but without any HD or digital channels, not even HBO. All are in analog and the picture quality, as well as the channel selection, is poor. Third, the windows are old, thin, and let lots of noise inside the room. My only solution as far as being able to work and sleep without being disturbed was to turn on and keep on the fan in the AC unit at all times when I was in the room. The people at the front desk are nice, but if I ever have to travel on business to Walnut Creek again I doubt if I will stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Guest;
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, thank you for taking the time to provide us with an honest review. We will share the comments with the proper departments for resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've stayed at this property many times, but the last visit was a big disappointment. We checked in and were given a room facing the freeway with lots of traffic noise. When I called the front desk to ask them to change it, I was told that quiet rooms on the other side of the hotel required an upgrade fee. Yep, you have to pay more for a quiet room. That's unacceptable.

The good: Check in is quick and easy - they even offered chocolate squares and bottled water. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean, shower is good, breakfast is hot and has variety. Internet is free and so is parking. The location is easy to find with easy freeway access.

The bad: Throughout the night we heard the steady hum of traffic, then around 6am, the trash trucks dumping trash and beeping as they backed up, then around 7am the gardener's blower started and continued. They need to do something about sound proofing the rooms.

Room Tip: Expect to pay more for a quiet room away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear meritagesue,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding cleanliness and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry about the noise during your stay., I understand the discomfort this caused you. I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We will look into this point. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I have to admit, I do have to price shop, being recently relegated to the unemployment line for the first time since the late 70's, so when I see great rates at the HI Express in WC, I jump on them! Not flashy, not your typical 5-star place, just clean, comfortable, classy, great people, beautiful garden area with pool, nice indoor lounge area and they don't try and charge for parking or Internet like the Hilton! I'm formally from the area but had spent the last 3.5 years in Albuquerque so when I'd make my semi annual trips back, I'd try to stay here as I have a daughter in WC, my girlfriend works right up the street and my son and family live in Pittsburg. I've recently moved back to Central CA so while it doesn't always require a stay over, when it does, it's nice to know I have a trusted place to stay, such as when I recently stayed when my daughter gave birth to my first grandson! I have already made reservations for Easter weekend for a couple of nights!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Guest;
I am glad that our hotel worked out perfectly for you. Thank you for sharing your satisfactory experience. we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our two nights at the Walnut Creek Holiday Inn Express, recently, were pleasant and comfortable. The check-in staff greeted us with a smile. The room was clean and comfortable as was the lobby and breakfast room. The breakfast was good. Parking was plentiful so if outside parking was full, plenty of underground parking was available. If you are bothered by road noises, get a courtyard view room but, even there, some cars/trucks/motorcycles could be heard. I have only one negative..... I will NOT use a coffee machine that is sitting in a bathroom, on the counter but next to the toilet. I don't understand why it isn't placed someplace else (with microwave/refrig?). To me, it is very unsanitary (airborne droplets). I went to the dining room for my coffee but, other then that, no complaints. We would, probably, stay again when we are in town to visit family.

Room Tip: Courtyard view rooms have slightly less freeway noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have enjoyed 3 stays at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek and each visit has been excellent. The staff is friendly and accommodating--the service staff as well as the front desk receptionists. The room and reception areas are spotless and welcoming. Wonderfully comfortable bed & bedding! The expanded, sparkling fresh continental breakfast caters to every morning appetite. We will continue to stay here as we frequently attend sports events at St Mary's College where our son is part of the athletic department. J.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Address: 2730 North Main Street, Walnut Creek, CA 94597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.