We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place near freeway if you need one” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2730 North Main Street, Walnut Creek, CA 94597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Walnut Creek
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Rafael, CA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“OK place near freeway if you need one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is right off 680, so is quite conveniently located. Basic, as are all Holiday Inns. Since we were here for one night on Labor Day weekend, it was very, very crowded in the breakfast room! But there are tables on the patio and trays to transport your food. They did keep refilling the tolerable hot food (omelets, sausage patties, biscuits and gravy) right up till 10 AM as promised. The pool is badly in need of servicing (they need to shock it; it was totally cloudy) but they do keep it heated, about 86.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Frankee11,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    120
    48
    10
    6
See reviews for
106
79
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We've stayed here before and at this particular visit not much has changed. The check in was very pleasant...they couldn't do enough for you, the breakfast was a ful breakfast with lots of choices, free internet access, the lobby was pretty and the rooms were very clean. Travelling from California to Jacksonville Florida and this was our first evening. Many more reviews to come. Very pleasant stay. Do not hesitate....the only change was that as Holiday Inn Express members, we did not receive our little goodie bag with cookies, bottled water........other than that, it was pretty much the same as the last time.

Room Tip: We asked for a very quiet room as I have sleep problems, and they certainly accommodated us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After driving 800 miles that day, we arrived in Walnut Creek -- our new home -- absolutely exhausted. Because we didn't feel like camping in our new, empty rental, we decided to stay in a nearby hotel.

Having stayed at a Holiday Inn Express the previous night (in Wyoming), we decided to stay there again. Roughly half the price of the nearby Marriott, it's hard to complain. The parking situation is a little odd -- the parking lot beneath the hotel is super tight, and we weren't always sure where we could and where we couldn't park -- and our room was at the end of a loooooong (and I do mean looooong) hallway, but the rate was awesome ($105), the room was clean, the water was hot, we were given some bottles of water that came in handy the next day when the movers arrived, and the breakfast was really good.

I mean, I think we were only actually IN the hotel for eight hours total. But they were pleasant ones.

If you want a clean hotel at a very reasonable rate in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn is really a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Everything about the hotel is wonderful -- spotless, well-maintained rooms; terrific people; extensive breakfast choices; readily available business center and convenient location. M-F daytime shuttle service and warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookies top my list.

For long-term accommodations, hotel manager Steve professionally fulfills your requests. The staff makes you feel welcome every time you walk through the lobby. Many thanks to Donna, Ed, Jairo, Luis, Margaret, Mike, Mitch, Rafael, & Silvia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear SY,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I will share with all of the staff, especially the staff you mentioned that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. Thank you again.

Steve Dodaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

this is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel. and we have nothing but good to say. The staff is always so warm & welcoming. Our room is always confortable. The breakfast is beyond continental and very good. I love the cinnamon rolls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Kand BsALT,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will share your positive review with the staff. Hope to see you again very soon.

Thank you

Steve Dodaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights over a wedding/family visit. They accommodated our family to be all on the same floor with out rooms. They were cleaned beyone expectation each day. Room service, maintenance, front desk, food service were all courteous and friendly. No issues with the rooms at all, the breakfast was great! The workers there really took an effort to make it special. Lots of choices and fresh. Even a pancake machine! The lobby and outdoor area were great for chatting with family and friends and never over crowded. The pool and whirlpool tub were separated. The pool was outdoor and had a bit of scum/dirty water, but just leaves, etc. The hot tub was great. Also served lemon water outside with extra pool towels as well. It was an easy experience without any issues, lots of local places (Fuddruckers, Target) close for family needs. Parking in lot and below in garage with several elevator access points. No complaints!

Room Tip: First level gives you straight access to pool and outdoor sitting area (as well as breakfast area).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear 377TeresaR

Thank you for your glowing review about your experience at The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek. It appears the staff did a great job taking care of your needs and you really enjoyed your stay. The staff will be sp pleased that all of the hard work paid off in making your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your review and we hope to see you soon.

Thank you
Steven Dodaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

the hotel is as good as the oven reviews suggest but could be improved in 2 ways. The swimming pool could be cleaned more often and the coffee available in the breakfast room needs to be rather stronger; I was not the only 1 to comment on how weak it was.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Simhampton, thank you so much for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with the staff. We are looking into other options in regards to coffee and we have reviewed the pool cleanliness schedules. Thanks again for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek and providing us with you valued feedback. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Address: 2730 North Main Street, Walnut Creek, CA 94597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.