We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property but very expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest at Sydney Olympic Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quest at Sydney Olympic Park to your Saves list
Quest at Sydney Olympic Park
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   6 Edwin Flack Avenue, Sydney Olympic Park, Auburn, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Beautiful property but very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for a special event - Big Day Out - and had interconnecting apartments. The room was beautifully furnished and presented. It was a welcome relief to come back to after being in 46 degree heat for most of the day.

However....the charge was $460 - and then we had to pay an extra $40 for the sofa bed, so $500 for a one night stay was excessive to say the least. Parking also cost $20 extra and wifi had a charge as well. There is no restaurant or breakfast although they did have 'breakfast packs' for $12.00 for cereal and other things.

Seriously, Australian hotels need to lift their game. Wifi is free all over European hotels and breakfast is almost always included. When is this going to happen here? We are well and truly ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at Quest at Sydney Olympic Park, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Kathy W, Thank you for your review. Congratulations on surviving the 'record breaking' heatwave that confronted attendees to this year's 'Big Day Out' music festival, & I am glad that we could provide some welcome relief on your return. Naturally, premium events such as 'Big Day Out' do generate a very high level of demand for accommodation within Sydney Olympic Park & this is reflected in our pricing. That said, & particularly with our full kitchen facilities in every apartment, we believe that Quest at Sydney Olympic Park offers a great 'value for money' proposition when compared to traditional hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next fantastic Sydney Olympic park experience. Kind Regards, Stuart Crossman - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    18
    6
    11
See reviews for
31
16
Solo
0
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were staying here over New Years and it was great for our group of 10. Comfortable, clean and felt like home. Location at Sydney Olympic Park is a bit out of Sydney, but for the price compared to staying in Central Sydney, very good. Self service laundry, good kitchen facilities and a very small gym. Easy walk to Olympic park facilities with limited restaurants in the surrounding area. Train to Sydney easy accessible.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony was perferred by us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at Quest at Sydney Olympic Park, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear NZL_Carl, Thank you for your review. We would certainly agree that Quest at Sydney Olympic Park, with our diverse range of Studio, One, Two & Three Bedroom Apartments, is the ideal 'home away from home' option for larger groups travelling together, & I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our large balcony offering also. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney. Kind Regards, Stuart Crossman - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked the first part of our booking with Wotif and understood what was included in the room rate. it was stated that the room included free internet.
being a new hotel, the internet was having some issues. we had to teather from our android, costing a fair bit extra as the internet cords were not suitable for MAC computers.
on day 5th day they offered a small router to plug into the power point. this only work some of the time and we weak signal. we paid to be able to use 3 connections, but could only barely use 1 at a time.
We also had a second room booking, and had the same issues, with the internet.
on day 6 there was a fire alarm activated, by one of the cleaners, and then the internet didn't work at all. Being business travellers it is important we have access to the internet when staying at a hotel/accommodation.
we were told the internet would not be back up until the 3rd January.
The first room booked the internet was included for the special opening rate through WOTIF, but we were charged a full 7 day internet rate anyway. i have had to call to dispute the charge, with it now being reversed next week.
You will also need to read the guest registration form when checking in, as there is a surcharge of 1.5% for ALL credit card payments.As frequent travellers, we have never been charged a surcharge for credit card payments.
Cleaning was not offered on Christmas or boxing day.
The cleaning was not up to hotel standards, with the dishes not being washed, the bathroom sink not being cleaned for the duration of our stay.

The Pros:
Good location
Quiet location
Ease of self parking under the hotel
Self service laundry facilities at no charge
Modern rooms

We are frequent travellers to Sydney and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at Quest at Sydney Olympic Park, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear quay5043, Thank you for your review of our property. I am pleased to advise that our opening technical issues with the internet have now been fully resolved. As an standard we do not offer apartment servicing on Sundays or Public Holidays, however I have addressed your concerns re our housekeeping oversights with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure we do not repeat these early mistakes. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our modern, quiet & easily accessible apartments in our fantastic family friendly Sydney Olympic Park location & certainly hope that you will consider us again when next you are in Sydney. Kind Regards, Stuart Crossman - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest at Sydney Olympic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest at Sydney Olympic Park

Address: 6 Edwin Flack Avenue, Sydney Olympic Park, Auburn, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Auburn > Sydney Olympic Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sydney Olympic Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest at Sydney Olympic Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Quest at Sydney Olympic Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest at Sydney Olympic Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.