We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Show Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Edwin Flack Avenue, Sydney Olympic Park, Auburn, New South Wales 2127 , Australia (Formerly Formule1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Bowral, Australia
1 review
“Easter Show Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Ibis Budget for the Easter Show over the long weekend and it was perfect :) the staff at the front desk were polite and friendly, the bed was comfy and best of all was the black-out blinds that mean't neither of us were woken up by the sunlight.
The only negative was that the mini bar fridge had the seal completely ripped off, meaning that the door wouldn't close so it couldn't be used, but that was really only a minor inconvenience.
I'll definitely be coming back :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    199
    190
    80
    64
See reviews for
189
124
68
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have no complaints about this budget hotel. We stayed here after a full day at the Easter Show. Only used the room for sleeping! Very handy location, so nice not to have to catch public transport after a long day. Room was on the small side, yes, but beds were comfy and the block out blinds meant we all slept in too! Parking was cheap. Hotel was accessible. But no, it isn't flash so if you want something more upmarket, try the onsite Ibis, Novotel or Pullman.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is a budget stay. The rooms are less than tiny, exceptionally clean and there is very little service to them, the children had to make the sheets up on their bunk beds. No coffee and tea making, no fridge, but these were not necessary for us. Unfortunately we had very noisy neighbours late one night (which happened to be the night before our major competition) who were swearing, screaming and banging on the walls. This ceased quickly after I called and left a message at reception. Perhaps Being a budget hotel attracts less desirable clientele.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had to attend a soccer match @ Stadium Australia which was across the road - excellent location for our venue, clean and tidy rooms, great view from window - will stay again if travelling to Sydney for future events

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

we only had one very skinny pillow each ,no kettle, no bath mat,.Although this was budget accommadation it wouldn't be too hard to upgrade these items. Also the fridge wasn't turned on so our bottle of wine wasn't cold until the following morning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Not a whole lot of accommodation choices in the area, other nearby hotels were booked out for the easter period.
The size of the room and facilities were reflected in in room price so no dramas there.

Unfortunately the room was extremely dusty, a proper vacuum would make all the difference. I Thought it was odd there was no fridge in the room, kept items in labelled bags in lobby refrigerator. Not a problem really, but i wasnt aware of this before arrival, would of been good to know.

For the location, I would stay here again if needed.
Friendly staff, get there early if you need secure parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1SOP_GM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear e2thb2thz,

As I have previously mentioned, only our Family rooms have a fridge in them. Guests in other room types are entitled to use the two fridges we have in the lobby area. We can also store more personal items in our fridge in the back office if required.

I will be sure to discuss your comments regarding dust in the room with our housekeeping team. It is certainly not something we expect to see in our rooms.

I am glad to hear that you would return to stay with us and, yes, parking is restricted so it is better to get in early. Especially, when there is a major event on in the area.

Kind Regards,

Ashley Gorrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for the Royal Easter Show. It is clean and tidy. BUT when you walk in your room there is a bed......not much else. No fridge, kettle not even pictures on the wall. I didn't like being in the room.

The bathroom had an open shower which when turned on and curtain drawn, would flood the entire floor of the bathroom, so for the rest of the evening after having a shower you would have to walk through a pool of water to get to the toilet.

Housekeeping knocked on our door and we said 'no thank you' - they opened the door anyway and looked in ???

Noise from the corridors is easy heard in your room.

Not the worst place i've stayed in, if you going to be out and about most of the day and are a heavy sleeper this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1SOP_GM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Lisa79_d,

For future reference, our Family rooms have fridges in them. It is only $20 more per day to upgrade to these rooms from a standard room and they are slightly larger in space as well.

I would appreciate if you could contact the hotel and let us know the room you stayed in. It sounds as if the drain in that room is blocked. It is not normal for the water to be flooding the floor.

I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards,

Ashley Gorrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel

Address: 8 Edwin Flack Avenue, Sydney Olympic Park, Auburn, New South Wales 2127 , Australia (Formerly Formule1)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Auburn > Sydney Olympic Park
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sydney Olympic Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.