We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unique setting with "authentic" staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. George Hotel
Save
You added St. George Hotel to your Saves list
16104 Main Street, Volcano, CA 95689   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volcano
Silicon Valley, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Truly unique setting with "authentic" staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

I don't know what was more relaxing... the drive to the St. George or the stay itself. It is exactly as advertised. You can go B&B style, or full hotel services.

The food was excellent, and the price much less than what you would pay for the same quality elsewhere. I travel frequently for work so I have become pretty critical of flaws in service. This was a refreshing change. The family of all ages enjoyed it, too.

The staff was friendly and personable. We'll be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    3
    0
    7
See reviews for
7
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Foothills
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This hotel was built in 1862/3 and retains a lot of its old charm, as does the town itself. We went there with two other couple for a weekend motorcycle outing. The town of Volcano is in the middle of some of the best riding in the northern Sierra Foothills, so it was a great location for something like this.

The rooms vary in size and price. Most of the rooms in the main hotel share common bathrooms, but a couple of rooms have their own modern baths with combination tub/showers. We aren't talking granite and tile here, it's acrylic tubs and Linoleum floors, but the baths are clean and comfortable.

The rooms are decorated with older-style furniture that fits the building. Our bed was a four-poster that was a bit soft but quite comfortable.

The floors creak and the interior walls are thin, but the building was quiet in the evenings we were there, and we slept well. You can go outside on the porch and enjoy the view from the wrap-around porches of the second and third floors, a neat feature.

There's a large parlor downstairs with a fireplace. The second evening we were there, there was a regional power outage, and the staff lit candles and built a fire and several of us sat in the parlor talking and drinking wine well into the evening.

We had dinner and brunch in the restaurant and both were quite good and fairly priced. There's an adjoining bar that also has good food. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The room prices are a bit high for what you get, but it's probably fair when you take into account the historic nature of the building. There just aren't many places like this, so it's probably worth the premium for the unique experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We had the pleasure of eating here last week, except for the service being a bit slow, the food was quite good. We will probably return some time in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, OR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

We traveled from Oregon especially for the Mother's Day Brunch. Take my advise, spend 1/2 as much and go to Denny's. The food was so awful I don't have time to go into detail! Management should consider another line of work.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

This place is great... I felt like I was in a Mark Twain novel when staying here, what an escape! The town is quaint and close to some fine wine tasting in Amador. The rooms are confortable, quite and romantic in an era passed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

My daughter and I recently stayed at the St George for two nights. We were in the Plug room in the Annex. It was really nice having a private bathroom, although the water for the shower didn't get very hot. The bed was very comfortable and the room had independent temperature control.
We ate two meals in the restaurant, dinner and Sunday breakfast. Really like the Sunday breakfast!
The garden is absolutely beautiful and can see how it would be a wonderful spot for a wedding.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

My husband and I first stayed at the St. George in April 2006 for a wedding. Coming from a big city we were innitially shocked at how small the town of Volcano actually is. But we took a lot of walks, explored the town (with our free walking map), took in a play at the Volcano Theater, went wine tasting, and saw the most beautiful wedding ever in the garden. I am glad we stayed for three days because it took us that long to adjust, slow down, and appreciate where we were.

It did not take long after returning home before we were missing the place like crazy. We returned six times in the next 12 months. I took one trip with just my teenagers, and they had a fabulous time exploring the town, making etchings in the graveyards, and overall just being able to walk around free without supervision or worry.

We always try to stay in a different room because they all are so unique and bring something new to the experience. My son loves to sit on the wrap-around balcony. My husband and I love walking around town and reading in our quiet room. My daughter loves the graveyard best of all. We have gotten to know the hotel owners, and even the restaurant waitresses have become familiar smiling faces. They have all always gone out of their way to make each stay better than the last. This Mother's Day we took our parents and kids and all had a great time and a wonderful Breakfast Buffet - to DIE for!!! The restaurant food is always delicious.

All rooms are beautiful,quiet and quaint. The only room I have ever had a problem with is "Jim Town", as it is over the saloon and noisy at night. It is a bed and breakfast so you do share a bathroom, but even when the hotel is full (rare) I have never had to wait for a bathroom.

  • Liked — The staff, the beautiful hotel, the restaurant and saloon, the town of Volcano
  • Disliked — Internet connection is not always great - but who needs it?
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Address: 16104 Main Street, Volcano, CA 95689
Location: United States > California > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. George Hotel is located in Volcano-the “Gem of the Mother Lode”, slightly off the beaten path in the Sierra Nevada Foothills of California. This 3-story building with wooden balconies is the first thing you’ll see upon approaching the entrance to town. The St. George Hotel is listed on the national Register of Historic Places.The main Hotel was built in 1862. It is a 3-story brick building with 14 inch thick walls. The Hotel, built by B.F. George, was named “The St. George” to “thwart the demonic Fire Dragon”. The first two Hotels on the site (Eureka in 1853 and Empire in 1859) were destroyed by fire. The Hotel was known in the late 1800’s as the best Hotel in the County. The Hotel was one of the first 3-story buildings in the State, and Volcano is one of the original Gold Rush towns in the Mother Lode.The main Hotel has 14 guestrooms on 2 floors, two with private baths and the remainder with shared bathrooms. An additional one-story annex building, built in the 1960’s, offers 6 rooms with private bathrooms and televisions. Want to bring your dog? No problem. We have one room in the annex which we allow your pet to stay with you for an additional nominal charge. In 2003 the “Garden Cottage” was added and features a private deck, queen size bed, fireplace, double Jacuzzi tub, shower, television and DVD player. At the back side of the property, the Zinfandel Conference Center offers a perfect setting for meetings, gatherings or conferences with its small kitchen, separate queen bedroom and spacious area for seating in the living room and a television.The lovely and magical grounds of the St. George are a joy in every season. They are perfect for outdoor wedding ceremonies, receptions, summer teas and parties. The Daffodils and Tulips in Spring time and the grand trees and flowering bushes in summer provide privacy and shade and offer beautiful outdoor sitting areas throughout the gardens for reading, meditating, or reflecting on simpler times. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St George Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.