We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad to your Saves list
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2645 South Melrose Drive, Vista, CA 92081   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Vista
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just stayed 4 nights due to business close by. The hotel is new, clean and met all my needs. I was on the 4th floor and at the very end so I zero problems with noise. There are a lot of families here with LegoLand down the road. The gym was clean if not small. 2 runners, 1 eliptical, 1 bike and some free weights. Breakfast was good with a few hot items and the usual pastries and cereals along with fresh fruit. Free and fast wifi throughout.
All along, the staff was really great. Always friendly and helpful. I travel to this area often and while I am not usually a Hyatt guy, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor and away from elevators if you want to avoid the family scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear TCMexico,

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel for a business trip!

You are correct, we do have quiet rooms, so for those wanting to have a tranquil stay, please let our team know and we will do our best to put you in a quiet area!

Our 24 hour fitness center boasts the 4 pieces of cardio equipment you detailed (each has a television organic to the equipment and we stock ear buds in case you forget) as well as weight bench with dumbbells to 50 lbs. in 5 lb. increments.

I hope we have earned your loyalty and can make you into a Hyatt guy!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    40
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
81
20
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The rooms were very clean and spacious. Much bigger then the hotel we stayed at in San Diego. The pool great. The breakfast was perfect for our family. Having a bar/snack counter is a great feature. I would definitely stay at a Hyatt Place again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear mudhonie,

Thanks for picking our hotel to be your host hotel during your family's trip to Carlsbad! I'm delighted you enjoyed the pool, a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast, our spacious guest rooms and the 24 hour Bakery Café!

Thank you for your recommendation, and we hope to see you when things get colder in Minneapolis!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We enjoyed the breakfast very much! A+. Staff was extraordinaire A+ again! Shuttle to Legoland was very convenient and staff was knowledgeable about great places to eat. The 2 queen room was very large, I wish it had more of a closet though. Wall unit for a/c is irritating and loud but what was weird it had a central a/c control?

We did not have housekeeping come on the second day of stay (didn't feel it was necessary and was wasteful) but we did on the third day. Upon arrival that evening The bathroom floor was very dirty, dirtier than we left it with dirty shoeprints dried to the floor! They didn't wipe the water/soap stains of the counter either. The bathroom tile was stained but looks like elbow grease would be able o remove it and a large oily mark on the wood headboard of one of the queen beds, all of which we did not do. The refridge was VERY noisy to the point we had to unplug it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Blgjmd2,

I'm delighted you were happy with your stay with us! I will pass long your compliments regarding your interractions with our staff as they love to hear feedback from our guests! The rooms with two queen beds have 400 square feet!

I do sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced in the room you occupied. I have discussed your comments with our engineering and housekeeping so we can improve for next time (we did replace the refrigerator in that room).

We hope to host you and your family again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a newer property and the rooms are spacious. If your looking for a place that is quite and subdued then this would not work for you. They cater to the Lego Land crowd so there are lots of kids and the hotel is packed. Went down for the breakfast and left for a restaurant as it was swamped.

I tried watching ESPN and the Open only to have it fade out. Called the front desk and they said they would get on it but the next day that channel and a number of others were out of service,

The staff seems well trained and are helpful. The wi fi is strong and quick and the rooms have all the latest in tv, connections and the like.

If you have kids this hotel will work fine as there is a small pool and it is close to Lego Land. We are past that stage and seek out places that are a little less busy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite of the construction.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very Eco oriented. Linens and sheets can be changed daily or will be done every third day.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear usmc63m,

I'm delighted that you escaped the Arizona heat in Carlsbad and chose our hotel to meet your needs. We do have quite a few guests who are families visiting LEGOLAND (as well as other local attractions), and our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast is very popular, but if you eat before 8:30 the queues are short!

I do apologize for the satellite issue you experienced during your stay. This issue has since been resolved, but I understand how frustrating it can be to have a program interrupted.

We do have very fast Wi-Fi (and LAN) connections at 50 mb/s speeds and you can stream shows from your computer onto the 42" HDTV (e.g. Netflix, Hulu, etc.).

Thank you for your recommendation, and we hope to see you again when you travel to our area!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Spent a weekend here for a wedding and this place was loaded to the gills with families. I went down for breakfast Sunday morning and didn't even bother because there was no seating (even if there was the tables looked like a preschool after lunchtime) and a 30+ person line. As for the hotel, if you have ever stayed at a Hyatt place the all pretty much look the same. The couch turns into a soft sleeper which is good for families. The bed was the worst part of the room, very far from a Hyatt grand bed. This one was very stiff and the pillows were not comfortable at all. My partner couldn't sleep very well due to the poor bedding and wound up sleeping on the couch one night. I might give it another shot on a weekday for business but I would need to bring my own pillow.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator, children don't know how to keep their voices down.
See more room tips
Green Features: The rooms have power saver lights and shut power off when you take a key card out of the wall socket.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Joseph B,

I'm delighted to hear that you chose our hotel to host you during the wedding you attended recently.

Due to our proximity to LEGOLAND, Carlsbad beaches, San Diego Zoo Safari Park, and myriad other leisure activities, we do have times where our guest mix is predominately families travelling on holiday, but our team do their best to keep up with the demand at breakfast. I sincerely apologize that in your case we didn't meet your needs.

I want to point out that all of our beds are the Hyatt Grand bed that are specified for all Hyatt properties and we do have two pillow options available as well (foam and feather). Please let us know when you are coming down on your next business trip and we will make sure you have options available to you. We don't want you to have to lug around a pillow!

Thanks for noticing our green features! We take a lot of pride in our efforts to reduce carbon emissions and wasted energy!

Thanks again for your business!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are ok, but they have no sound proofing. Avoid rooms by the pool or on the ground floor if you want a quiet stay. We could hear what people where saying outside, their footsteps etc, as if they were in our room. There was also a lot of road construction around the hotel so you have to take some detours to actually get to the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mawae M,

Thank you for your patronage of our hotel during your recent trip to Carlsbad! I sincerely apologize for the noise issues you encountered from fellow guests. We do have strict quiet hours, and our team should have been more responsive to requests for enforcement. I have discussed your comments with our team so we can improve for the future.

The detours to reach our hotel are very well marked and we recently received the good news that the construction related detours should be completed by mid-August!

We hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

From the warm welcome and efficient check-in by Devon at the front desk, the clean and very spacious room, I enjoyed staying at the Hyatt Place. I was debating staying here or at the (very expensive) sister property in Carlsbad, but after reading the reviews about hidden charges there, I am glad I chose here. Free parking (instead of $$$ for valet there), good, FREE healthy breakfast. A bit far from Legoland (15 minute drive), but you won't really be going back and forth to the hotel anyway if you're going for one day. Separate seating area with a large couch was very nice. I could not hear any construction noise either. Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Allie F,

I'm delighted you and your family enjoyed your time with us during your recent trip down from LA (I love your profile photo BTW)!

Thanks for choosing our hotel! We do present an excellent value proposition with our rates being inclusive of such items as internet, breakfast, parking, fitness center ,etc.

Depending on traffic we are about 10 minutes from the front gate of LEGOLAND, but it may take longer with traffic (we are 6 miles away). We do have a complimentary shuttle if you want to leave the driving to us.

I hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad

Address: 2645 South Melrose Drive, Vista, CA 92081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.