We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, bad construction nearby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad to your Saves list
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2645 South Melrose Drive, Vista, CA 92081   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Vista
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great hotel, bad construction nearby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

One thing I really appreciate about Hyatt Place is that all their locations are nearly the same and that consistency is very reassuring. So if you've been to any other and liked it, this one is exactly as you'd expect. The unique thing about this one though is that it has a "green energy saver" feature whereby you use your hotel keycard to "activate" the electricity in the room. The entry light works without it, but the rest depend on your keycard to keep them activated. If you remove the card, the stuff auto turns off in a few min. Also, this location has a 24/7 kitchen where you can place an order with them via phone and they'll call you to come pickup when it's done. 2-3a late night hunger? No problem! Unfortunately, 2 things that are not so great. The hotel is located on a corner on a hill, so the driveway entrances are tricky: one on each corner face. If you miss it, you have to go ALL the way down and U-turn. The other bad thing is that there is pretty heavy construction going on in the intersection right next to the hotel. Took me 15 min in "rush hour" traffic (hotel is near a business park) to get in. Additionally, they're building a desalination plant right nearby I think, so everything is all torn up every which way. Beware congested traffic and noisy construction.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear expressoparking,

I'm delighted that you chose our hotel to meet your needs during your recent trip to Carlsbad!

We are only two years old, and have a full suite of high tech and green amenities and features that are intended to reduce our carbon footprint and reduce resource waste. I'm happy to hear the you appreciate the steps we have taken!

We do have a 24/7 café that serves everything from flatbread pizzas, salads, and burgers to full cocktails and Starbucks espresso drinks.

Great news regarding the construction in front of our hotel! The excavation and installation of the pipeline near our hotel is complete and now they are filling in the trench and re-paving! They hope to have the traffic pattern diversion completed by mid-August. We do appreciate our guests patience as this important new facility come on-line. It is first of its kind in the western hemisphere and will generate 50 million gallons of drinking water a day!

We hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    40
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
81
20
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Pines, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Clean rooms, outstanding staff, awesome breakfast! Free transportation to Legoland. Nice pool. One of the best places I have stayed! A great place to stay when visiting Legoland California. The breakfast included lots of fruit, bagels, French toast, croissant sandwiches, cereal, muffins and much more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mirko S,

We are delighted you chose our hotel to host you and your family during your recent trip to LEGOLAND! I'm happy to hear that you availed yourself of our complimentary transportation to and from the park and that the breakfast selections met your needs!

Thank you for your patronage and your recommendations!

We hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just returned from holiday in USA with the last 8 nights spent at the Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad. Very modern hotel with good facilities and good FREE! parking. We had a twin Queen suite with Queen size sofa bed for two adults and two teenagers - cant fault the room - spotless with good shower, TV, fridge and coffee maker. Air conditioning unit was very good - window also opened with mesh screen to stop bugs getting in. Sofa bed when not in use provided great large comfy seating area. Internet access again was FREE! and very quick and we had three devices working in room and never buffered!
Buffet style breakfast was great with plenty of choice and a good start to the day - could be busy but the line was orderly and moved quick. Food constantly replenished and tables cleaned constantly.
We used it as a base for San Diego attractions - involved a wee bit of driving but excellent access to freeways etc and when using coastal routes allowed you to visit beautiful beaches and piers. Local retail shopping at Carlsbad Premium Retail outlet was very close and we hit the 4th of July sales - wow prices were unbelievable and we took full advantage.
Lots of restaurants, fast food, petrol stations and a huge Target supermarket that sells everything you could need to keep you going. Staff were also nice and friendly and willing to assist with questions.
A previous reviewer mentioned construction work ongoing outside and road detour. Yes there were roadworks but they wont last for ever and hardly the hotels fault - detour took about two minutes - hardly the end of the world. Would recommend and wouldn't hesitate to visit again.
Only recommendation I would make to hotel would be the installation of room safes as it was a pain carrying valuables everywhere. Thank you for great stay.

Room Tip: We had room 423 on top floor - close to elevators and overlooked pool. Never heard lifts and pool cl...
See more room tips
Green Features: Room used room card to operate electrics - stopped you leaving them on when you went out - good idea. Linen on beds changed on beds as you requested as were towels (if left on floor) all done to cut down unnecessary laundry work.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Fazer182,

Thanks for staying with us during your trip from Glasgow! I am delighted you chose to visit San Diego and make us your base of operations. We are very conveniently located, and while we are an hour drive from attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and Downtown San Diego, we are very close to the Northern San Diego options such as LEGOLAND, beaches, San Diego Zoo Safari Park and of course the Carlsbad Factory Stores!

The construction in front of our hotel is progressing quickly and we expect the detours to be completed by August!

Thank you for your recommendation! We do have safety deposit boxes located at the Gallery Host stand and these are available at no charge.

Travel safe out there!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is an awesome hotel. The check in process is smooth. Facility is fairly new and is nicely designed. They have convenient parking. We like their breakfast as well. Overall this was a very good value for what we paid. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear PrajnaSun,

I'm delighted that you selected our hotel to meet your needs during your recent trip to Carlsbad from Nebraska!

I agree that our value proposition as a "select service" hotel is the best in our market. We have all the trappings and amenities of larger hotels but we bundle the services like parking, internet, and breakfast into one price. I was approached by a guest this morning who pointed out that our complimentary breakfast saved his family over $50 today!

Thank you for your recommendation and business, and I hope that we can host you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great rooms! Nice housekeeping staff. But I didn't get the back corner room as promised. Out front instead, listening to the street construction noise. Speaking of construction. You have to contend with a big detour to get to the hotel. A little annoying after about the fifth time. Management gives conflicting answers. No we don't have a washer/dryer. Yes we have wash and fold laundry service. No we don't have laundry service on the weekend. Different people, different response. Breakfast is an ordeal. (Mornings up and down the elevator a big ordeal when one is broken).Too little room for the number of guests. POWDERED EGGS! Yuk! Forget about the breakfast sandwiches. Been here since Thursday night (thanks for forgetting to tell us we had to put the key in a special slot to bring power to the room). Friday night I asked how to order the breakfast sandwiches that are touted on the website. Management said, no ordering, just take one. What, no sandwiches Friday morning. They must have run out. Shipment came in Friday, We will have them Saturday morning. Saturday morning, no... sandwiches only on weekdays. Three days of powdered eggs and sausage links. Waffles or cold, breaking apart pancakes. Lines 30 people deep. Gotta be a better way. The coffee is good.

Room Tip: Corner rooms... I was promised, but never delivered.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great ... but tell us about the key card slot. Don't wait for us to drag our baggage back down to the desk to ask for a room with power.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Christy K,

I so sincerely apologize for your less than excellent experience at our hotel. I am very disappointed that we didn't meet your needs (especially since you are from my home town)! We do have construction going on and the 2 block detour is very inconvenient but I am glad you were able to find us!

Let me clear up the confusion regarding laundry for you: We do not have an on-site laundry room, but we do have a service that can turn around laundry in the same day if need be. They do not operate on Sunday's.

Breakfast is the pride and joy of our host of amenities, and it is very popular. At times there is a very high demand and queues develop, but we do our best to manage the flow. BTW, I assure you that our eggs are not powdered. We do offer sandwiches during the week, but based on the sheer volume of guests we do alter our menu to keep up the pace and make sure everyone can enjoy breakfast. I am delighted you enjoyed our Starbucks coffee!

I hope you give us another chance to meet your needs, this is not typical of the level of service we are so proud of!

Wes Lavender
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife, son, and I stay here two to three times a year when visiting family in the area. We used to stay at budget places, but found that we go what we paid at those places. Then a couple of years ago, we found this place online and decided to give it a try. We pay a little more now than the other budget places, but it is worth the price. This now is the only place we book.

The front desk service has always been friendly and helpful.

The free breakfast is a big plus, especially when you want to eat quickly in the morning before going out for the day. It does get crowded in the breakfast area, so go early if you can.

A few other good things: The rooms are spacious and clean, wifi has worked in every room I've been in, and the hotel is in a nice, quiet location.

We're headed back there in two weeks and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear travelbug301,

It's awesome to read that we are your hotel of choice for your frequent trips from the OC to Carlsbad! I am delighted that you feel our value proposition is worth the increased price from some of the budget chain hotels near us!

We do have very fast (50 mb/s) internet speeds, and the breakfast is one of our most popular features and we always encourage our guests who want a fast experience to join us earlier than 8:30am.

We look forward to hosting your family again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night while visiting town for a wedding. Check in was quick and easy and the front desk (if you could call it a front desk) staff were very friendly. My wife and I loved the fresh take with which the hotel approached everything when building the hotel. No forbidding long desk with an office to hide the front desk staff, no TV in the bedroom(!) and a nice division between the sitting area and sleeping area. The hotel is close to everything (grocery stores, Starbucks, etc) and only 6 miles to Carlsbad State Beach. Breakfast exceeded expectations and the pool area was clean and well maintained. We will look for Hyatt Place hotels in our travels going forward.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear adurb44,

We are delighted that we were able to host your wedding party! Thanks for staying with us!

Hyatt Place as a brand is only 6 years old, and it is a very intentional brand with specific expectations of value and purposeful service at guest touch points. What this means is we are not like a "typical" hotel because we want our guests to feel as if they are staying with close friends rather than being a transaction. Our team of professionals are constantly on the lookout for opportunities to meet the needs of our guests in creative ways, and I am excited that we met did so for you and your wife!

Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to seeing you at our location again!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad

Address: 2645 South Melrose Drive, Vista, CA 92081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.