We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, unhelpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2645 South Melrose Drive, Vista, CA 92081   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Vista
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, unhelpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was new and nice. Its location worked for our needs and it had nice views. The room was typical of a Hyatt Place and we liked its studio feel. The only downside was when we tried to book a second night the front desk attendant had no interest in assisting us with that so we checked out after just one night. It is a fine place if you're in the area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear JackJennPetefish,

I sincerely apologize that our team did not meet your needs in your attempt to reserve another night and we lost your business. I will discuss your comments with the associates in question so they can improve for the next time...

I am delighted that you enjoyed the facility and layout of the rooms as well as the views.

When returning to our area, please contact me, and I will personally see to your accommodations.

Wes Lavender
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    32
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
65
17
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We are retired and travel frequently up and down the California coast. Hyatt Place met and exceeded all our expectations. I would recommend this hotel while visiting the Vista, Ca. area. P.S. I'm a fussy old man

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Retiredtravler,

I am delighted that you chose our hotel to meet your needs during your recent trip to Vista and that we have earned your recommendation!

We hope to see you again during your next trip to southern California!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I like this new concept. Rooms are spacious and beautiful. Perfect design for a road warrior with a handy desk and internet connection. A work out space and spa perfect for relaxing at the end of the day. Hot breakfast was better than normal fare. The availability of a modest meal and beverage is very handy for one who does not need a big meal and just wants a quick bite to eat either at the bar or to take to the room. Business center available to check-in for flights.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel may be a little quieter, but not a problem in other locations if that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear ScottStPaul,

I am delighted that you selected our hotel to meet your needs during your trip from the frozen tundra of Minnesota. I hope our weather cooperated with you during your time with us!

Thank you for your recommendation! With our suite of high-tech amenities and spacious work space, we are a great option for the business traveler. We offer both wired and wireless internet with 50 mb/s speeds so you can stream data from your computer onto the 42" HDTV in each of our rooms.

We do have rooms that are quieter than others, so we always encourage our guests to request a room that suits their needs and we will do our best to accommodate.

We hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. We were in town for the Tough Mudder race in Temecula, so this was a convenient option. We had a great stay the first time about a year ago, and this time was great as well. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is extremely clean with flawless internet etc.

We had to check out really early to get to the race on time, so the breakfast buffet wasn't open yet. The staff still accomodated us, and let us take some of the items that were available. Much appreciated.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Jay J,

Thanks for coming back to our hotel during your trip down to compete in the Tough Mudder! I saw you and your family as you were heading out the door, and hope you did well! It was warm that Saturday!

We look forward to seeing you when you return from the rainy Pacific Northwest!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipahu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Located oddly in a business district sort of hidden from everything else but malls are a short 10-15minute drive away. Nice contemporary decor. FREE breakfast, parking, and wi-fi were a plus. We were a family of 4 (kids are 3 and 5) and our 2queen room was oh soo spacious. Didn't like that the bathroom was directly in front of the bed so when I got up early to get ready before the kids I had to do things with minimal lighting. No safe but a decent sized fridge. Also liked that there was a separate living area with a pull out. Breakfast was delicious and had hot items and a microwave was available. We stayed here for 3nights and traveled to the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld San Diego, and Legoland.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Mahalo 808mommi!

Thanks for spending your vacation from the islands with our hotel! I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time with us!

Our spacious rooms are perfect for a family of four and our other complimentary amenities create a compelling value for those looking to stretch their dollar!

We are less than an hour drive from SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and the Safari Park (and 5 minutes from LEGOLAND)!

We hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

When we first walked in, there was a dirty, wet face cloth sitting on the night stand. A pack n play playpen for our baby that was dirty and had holes and the mattress pad for it was thin and had a giant lump in the middle from being folded which the baby kept waking up all night because of it. And in other hotels we have stayed in, you can request microwave if the room doesn't have one already and it will be delivered to your room. Not this hotel. So if you have a baby, don't count on being able to warm up a bottle of milk quickly in the middle of the night or food because you will have to go all the way downstairs to the breakfast centre past the front desk. There's no bath tub so be prepared to either not bathe your baby or hold a scared screaming child in the shower with you and try to clean them at the same time. There were French fries left on the floor by the couch. Fridge didn't close tight and we had to put a suitcase against it to keep it closed because we lost food and yogurt before discovering it. We waited 4 hours with 2 requests to have extra pillows and towels brought up. Area of hotel is kind of weird. There's nothing around it. So don't expect to be able to walk anywhere for shopping or convenience stores.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Bits58,

I do sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced while staying with us last week. It is frustrating to have these type of issues when traveling with a baby. I hope that our discussions regarding your concerns left you confident in our desire to exceed your expectations for your next trip to our area in December. I have discussed your comments with our housekeeping and engineering departments and they have addressed the issues with their teams.

As I stated in our discussions, we are unable to provide microwaves in the guest room per Hyatt brand standards, but we understand that guests like to be able to heat up items like bottles and leftover pizza so our team are ready to meet your needs by heating up whatever you need 24 hours a day. In all of our King bedded rooms we provide walk-in shower enclosures, but in our rooms with two queen beds we do have tubs.

There is not a convenience store or shopping mall within walking distance, but we are 1 mile from the Bressi Ranch Shopping Center with everything from Trader Joe's to a Shell gas station and myriad dining options. Our complimentary shuttle can take up to 7 at a time there in less than 5 minutes.

We look forward to your return later this year, and are eager to redeem ourselves!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel has it all: great location, comfortable rooms, good breakfast buffet and friendly staff. We booked our rooms with group sales/booking for our kids' school team and couldn't be more happy with our experience there. We would stay at the hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Pammon,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip with your school group to our area this month! I'm delighted that our sales team were easy to work with and you enjoyed your stay with us!

Our Autumn Sale is ending on October 31st, so make sure if you plan to return before the end of the year you take advantage of the deep discounts!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad

Address: 2645 South Melrose Drive, Vista, CA 92081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.