We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Place Vista /. Carlsbad - Well Worth It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad to your Saves list
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2645 South Melrose Drive, Vista, CA 92081   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Vista
GreenLeadersSilver level
Murrieta, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hyatt Place Vista /. Carlsbad - Well Worth It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Overall, this hotel is very nice with several features that are quite appealing. For example, there is a large 50+ inch LG swivel HDTV in the room with easily accessible input jacks to plug in HDMI cables so that your IPad or tablet can project right onto this big screen. If you are working from your hotel room on business, you can easily project a PowerPoint presentation from your laptop just as well. Free WiFi was easy to set up and worked just fine. The sitting area in a King room has a spacious couch and Ottoman so that it comfortably can accommodate 4-5 people. The bed seemed a little firm, so if you prefer that you should like it, but if you are used to a softer mattress you may feel a bit sore in the morning. The in-room coffee is not too good (generic hotel Arabica), but downstairs there's a pretty decent Italian roast. The complimentary breakfast buffet is solid with everything you would expect - e.g. cereal, fruit, toast, ham & egg English muffins with cheese. I had the oatmeal and was pleasantly surprised to see apricot and nut toppings, which were quite yummy. The hotel staff is friendly and I have rarely ever encountered a more cheerful and pleasant Housekeeping staff as they were all smiles and quick to respond to requests for service. This hotel is practically brand new, so you get a sense that there is pride in keeping things well-maintained. I recommend Hyatt Place quite enthusiastically as the guest experience very positive, and for the money you definitely get good value - i.e. a quality hotel experience where you feel like your money was well spent.

Room Tip: King Rooms have plenty of room for small groups to talk shop on business or families to hang out and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Elmer L,

Thank you for the thorough review of our hotel last weekend! We appreciate you pointing out all fo the details regarding our amenities. The oatmeal we serve on the breakfast is actually high quality steel-cut oatmeal prepared fresh daily, and comes with everything from brown sugar to nuts and fruit (as you pointed out).

I am particularly excited that you noted the service from our Housekeeping Hosts. We have a great team, and they are completely focused on delighting our guests.

We eagerly anticipate your return soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    41
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
81
20
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were extremely pleased with this hotel. It just opened a few months ago so everything is modern and new. The room was spacious and comfortable. The morning breakfast was hot and delicious. The rooms had energy conservation devices that I had never seen before, like putting your key in a slot to run the power and a/c. The locaton while out there a way was actually freeway close to all of North San Diego County and Escondido. What I absolutely liked the best was the friendliness of the staff which always makes a hotel stay so nice. We were sitting in the lobby our first night and the manager Michael approached us to introduce himself and made us feel very comfortable. Another thing I like was no parking fees which many of the San Diego hotels are now charging. I hope the staff here keeps up the good work, we really enjoyed our stay and will for sure be back.

Room Tip: They have energy efficient refridgerators in the rooms that make a clicking sound when they cycle on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Bmvend,

Thank you for your review of our hotel last month! We are excited that we were able to exceed your expectations with our suite of high-tech amenities as well as our service! I will pass along your comments to Michael, as I know he will be delighted with the feedback.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very nice hotel with ample parking and very helpful staff! Breakfast was good with the cook willing to make me a custom breakfast sandwich. Spotless room and facilities. Refrig in room and nice TV and shower.My 12 year loved it and the pull out bed. He asked if we could live here. Comfy bed. Was able to program my A/C just to the right temp. Easy access to Vista and La Costa. Good location if you have a car.

Room Tip: No view on the first floor, but easy to get in and out. No ice maker on this floor, but reception wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Dentistmom,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us!

I'm delighted to hear that our Gallery Hosts met your needs in our a.m. Kitchen Skillet.

I also appreciate your praise for our rooms layout and sofa bed. Of course you can live here!

Please let us know the next time you are coming down.

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

From the moment we checked in, we had very friendly and prompt service. As we expect from Hyatt properties, the room was very clean and stocked with everything we needed. We had two little kids in tow, who slept on the pull out sofa. This was actually a really great option as we could put them to bed early and darken just that part of the room as there was a half partition between the sofa area and our bed. Loved the big glass enclosed shower too.

The complimentary breakfast was hot and plentiful. I thought having a little snack and drink bar near reception was a nice touch.

The location was great - only about 10 minutes from I-5 and the coast and in a newer development area. All the services we look for were close - gas stations, bank, Starbucks, even a Trader Joe's. It took about 20 minutes to get to the beaches in La Jolla and only 10 minutes to get to the Carlsbad beaches. We loved Carlsbad State Beach the best anyway - really laid back vibe, good waves, lots of room for the kids to play, and good restaurants. We would definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Jessica B,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us this month! We are delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed the layout of the room and the shower.

I'm excited to hear you enjoyed our a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast, and I appreciate you rcomments regarding our location that is central to the beaches and other businesses to support your travel.

We look forward to seeing you return!

Travel Safe

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

New, clean and comfortable.

Good choice in the Vista area. The complimentary breakfast is very nice...lot of choice; however, the place gets packed during peak hours.

Service was a high point here. The staff seems to go above and beyond the call of duty. The decor isn't the greatest (darker, neutral tones throughout property and rooms) but not a big deal.

Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Miamilocal1,

I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this summer!

You are correct, service is our primary concern! We want to make sure that we meet the needs of all our guests with purposeful service.

We are delighted you intend to return, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Travel Safe!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very good room - clean, nice towels, bedding, etc. The closet was a little small, and there's no tub, but that was OK for us as it was only one night. The pool was good, a little small but the kids had fun. They have a phone at the pool to call the front desk, which was nice as I used it to get more towels. The free breakfast was great - lots of healthy choices: oatmeal, fresh fruit, cereal, breads, coffee, juices, etc. Had a few TV channels that were for kids only, which was really nice since I have a 3 and a 5 year old that likes to watch some TV in the evenings. Very nice crew - even the housekeeping staff greeted you with a friendly smile.

Room Tip: We got a room on the first floor, which was very convenient to the pool and breakfast. There was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Grace,

Thank you for the review of your stay with us last month!

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed our pool, the a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast, our HDTV channel selection, and the first floor room.

I'm also glad our Hosts met your needs regarding the replacement of towels at the pool. I will also pass on your comments regarding the friendliness of our Hosts to the team.

We look forward to your speedy return. Give us a call and we will block a first floor room for you!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

my family and i had a wonderful stay at the Hyatt Place San Diego Carlsbad Vista. the rooms are huge and comfortable, and the free breakfast was fantastic. and the price? shockingly low (but don't tell them that!). i highly recommend this terrific hotel. oh, and they even charged my iphone for me!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Ericlouis8,

We are delighted to hear about your stay with us last month! Our a.m. Kitchen Skillet is one of the signature elements of the Hyatt Place that sets us apart from our contemporaries, and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

I'm also excited to hear that our Hosts were able to meet your needs by charging your iPhone. I will pass on your comments to the team.

Please let me know how I can be of service.

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad

Address: 2645 South Melrose Drive, Vista, CA 92081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.