We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista to your Saves list
TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 South Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Waddell, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very nice hotel, comfy spacious room, friendly staff. The only reason I wouldn't give them an Excellent is the Continental breakfast. No waffle iron number one. Very plain and basic choices. Other than that nice place to stay. Patricia at the front desk in the mornings is very nice and helpful. Also close to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
12
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I just spent 4 nights at this hotel. I was very impressed with the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. Every staff member smiled and said Hello or Good Morning, etc. I was looking for a box to hold a fragile item that I had purchased, and 2 maintenance staff helped me! Kaitlyn at the front desk went out of her way to help me print my boarding passes.
I liked the setup of the room. It really is a place that one could spend an extended period of time. There was a full size refrigerator, microwave, kitchen sink, 2 burner stove with pots & pans.
Monday-Thursday there is happy hour from 5-7 with wine and beer. Lots of storage space. A huge desk with lots of plugs and an "ultra modern" chair.
For more information I would refer to Cdthikerxxx review. I agree with everything she said except I was the one sleeping on the sofa bed and I found it OK. In the single room that we stayed in, when the sofa bed was made, it extended all the way to the king bed. There was no walking around, which can be a problem for old folks like us that need to get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This past weekend, our family of five made are way over to San Diego for an impromptu getaway. While not quite on par with the Residence Inn by Marriott, this hotel was definitely comfortable and spacious and within driving distance of all the major San Diego attractions without the hefty price tag. One drawback is that traffic in San Diego is heavy, so be prepared to battle your way down the I-5 if you are going driving from Vista to San Diego proper. If you have the luxury of time, then this is definitely a good deal.

Our suite consisted of two rooms with queen beds, and there was a sofabed in the living room. While the queen beds were quite comfortable, the sofa bed mattress was a bit worn out and my nephew ended up having a crick in his neck from crashing on the sofa bed. The price of our room included breakfast which was a cold breakfast and was limited in choices (bagels, cold cereals, jimmy dean sandwiches, yogurt), After staying at a Residence Inn before, it was a bit of a let down but not a deterrent to stay here. We were better off buying our own groceries and preparing our own meals. For those not interested in preparing own meals, the hotel is conveniently located across a Starbucks and other eateries within the same strip mall.

The hotel has a swimming pool, however, our intention was to go beach hopping so we did not make use of the pool/whirlpool. Also, there is an onsite laundromat which made it convenient for running quick loads to wash/rinse beach gear after a lovely day of romping in the sand.

Overall, the hotel was clean and safe, and I had no qualms about parking my car out in the parking lot, and the staff were quite friendly and helpful. I would stay here again on a future trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here memorial day weekend for my son's wedding. On the plus side, the hotel was very close to the wedding venue. Our only interaction with the staff was on arrival and at checkout. Friendly and pleasant staff at the desk. First, the elevator had an extremely bad odor which may have been a combination of musty and heavy duty industrial cleaner. The room was adequate, bed comfortable, what I expected. Biggest issue is that the room was never serviced during our stay. We left the room about 1:30 p.m. on Saturday and returned at 11 pm. I called guest services when we left the room and asked that the room be serviced as we were leaving and would be gone all day. Returned at 11 to find the room in the same condition we left it. Not what you want to come back to after a long day. Really put a damper on our stay. The bathroom door made a horrendous squeaking, groaning noise. Any one getting this room ready for guests should have observed this and had it corrected. The hotel provides bar soap in the bathroom, but no soap dish?? When I left, I advised the front desk of our experience, to which their response was "we're very sorry". Nothing about advising management or talking to housekeeping, nothing to offer other than "sorry". Well, I'm sorry, but as a Rewards member, I'm truly disappointed in the experience and can't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanvitps, Manager at TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with the TownePlace by Marriott San Diego Carlsbad/Vista. First and foremost, congratulations on your son’s marriage. I am glad that you found our location to be convenient to the wedding venue and that our staff was friendly.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced from your room not being refreshed. I have addressed the refresh issue and the elevator odor with our lead room attendant. Our lead engineer has also been notified to repair any doors that make a squeaking noise when used.

All of our rooms do have a flat soap dish on the bathroom vanity with toiletries placed on top. Since it is not the traditional shaped soap dish, I can see how it could have been overlooked. If the flat soap dish was missing entirely, I do apologize.

We appreciate that you are loyal Marriott Rewards member. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have a positive experience on your next visit. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Warm Regards,

Carly Lathrum

Carly Lathrum
Assistant General Manager
Town Place Suites by Marriott | Melrose Event Center
2201 South Melrose Dr
Vista, CA 92081
P: 760.216.6010
F: 760.216.6090
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I recently stayed this past weekend and I must say I enjoyed my stay. It was close to my family and my sister liked the lay-out. The staff were friendly and I loved that my request the type of room I wanted and location I wanted was accommodated. I came in and out of the side entrance straight to my car which was parked close was convenient. Special thank you to Lucy, Brittany, Tiffany and Patty for great customer service. Although it was only for 3 days I had a great time relaxing and spending time away from home. Thank you guys!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed for two nights wanting to enjoy the carlsbad area. Great location, convenient to shopping and flower fields.

We utilized their laundry services. Breakfast choices were limited (no hot breakfast like others Residence Inn I have stayed at).

Warm whirlpool and pool.

Their kitchenettes had all dishes etc. Clean environment and kitchen

Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Recently had a three day stay @ TownePlace in Vista, CA. for work. By the second day, Staff was calling me by name. Brittany, Tiffany, Lucy and Michelle made me and my co-workers feel like family and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. Even though I did not need to use them, my room had a stovetop, microwave, diswasher and decent size refridgerator that would be nice for extended stays.Work arranged for my accomodations on this trip, however if I am ever in the area again, I will make sure that we stay at this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#28 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
5.2 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Address: 2201 South Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista Hotel Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.