We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to your neighbors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Save Saved
You added TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 South Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Vista
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Close to your neighbors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I felt close to the other occupants in this hotel, so close, that I could hear my neighbor next to me brush their teeth and shower at 5:15AM. Then I heard the neighbor on the other side of me microwave his breakfast at 6:05AM. Bottom line, Marriott either revamped an old Extended Stay or poorly constructed their TownePlace Suites. It doesn't matter if they have updated wall paper if you can't sleep. Also, the wireless internet never worked during my stay. The signal varied from room to room, so I was hooked up with an ethernet chord. The staff was very nice and helpful, but things like these become frustrating when you travel every week. Next trip, I will happily forego my Marriott points to stay at the Hyatt Place two blocks South, where I've slept soundly and enjoyed a good business trip stay in the past.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor away from the elevators which didn't help with the noise reduction at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanvitps, General Manager at TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Good Morning Anne L.,

I am sorry to hear that you had troubles with hearing your neighbors and your WiFi connectivity during your recent stay with us.

Our hotel which is newly constructed from 2010 and up to the latest specs for the TownePlace Suites brand, has never experienced any concerns of there being a major problem with noise from one room to another. We all have varying degrees of sensitivity to noise and I am sorry we were not able to provide you with enough sound proofing in your room to receive the rest you needed.

Regarding the WiFi connection we have in the past month upgraded our wireless routers to send a stronger wireless signal throughout the hotel and I don't know if you stayed with us prior to this or not.

Ultimately I want to thank you for your feedback and rest assured that we continously strive to improving our guest experience and I apologize for not being able to do so in your case.

Next time you have travel plans to the area please feel free to call me directtly at the hotel for any assistance.

Best Regards,
Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
7
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was working in San Diego and was looking for a suite hotel near a gym and a Starbucks. This gym fit the bill.

The hotel looked to be new along with most of the development in the area. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Check-in process went well.

There is a Starbucks just on the other side of the parking lot that is open at 4:30 AM. Nice for me as I was staying on east coast time. In addition there is a great 24 hour gym (1265 Laurel Tree Lane Suite 100 Carlsbad, CA 92011) nearby that only charged $30 for the week.

I was getting up early (2 AM) so the commune to La Jolla took about 20-30 minutes, but if you leave later expect it to be at least double that time.

This hotel does serve hard boiled eggs as part of the free breakfast.

The laundry room was large and the machines that I used were working fine. They also having a vending machine for laundry supplies in the launder room do you do not have to go to the front desk.

The hotel also has a nice small pool area.

I hope you find this review helpful.

Room Tip: To be close to the laundry, gym and pool, choose a room to the left of the building as you face it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles,CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The towneplace had excellent service during our stay. We checked in late at night and we needed milk for our two-year old. When inquiring at the front desk about the nearest supermarket, the front desk staff gave us some milk to tie us over us the morning. The shuttle service to Legoland was very convenient. The shuttle drivers were very friendly and engaging. When we were ready to be picked up, they arrived at the pick-up location in 1/2 hour. This saved us $12 parking at Legoland.
We had a two room suite and the beds were very comforable. They also have a decent breakfast in the morning with cereal, muffins, juice, and sausage/egg muffins.
Cons: As this is a pet hotel, the sofa still had a strong, lingering pet odor. Yet, the rooms were clean and odor-free. In addition, the sound proofing in the walls are very thin. If you have neighbors, they will wake you in the morning with showers/toliet flushes.
Overall, excellent service and comfortable accomodations!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with great amenities with one exception. We were traveling with children and the sofa bed was unusable. The children ended up sleeping on the floor on the cushions and extra pillows because they were miserable in the pull out sleeper. Do not expect to use it. We were there for several days and this was a constant problem that the hotel could not deal with.

Room Tip: The King Suites would be fine for a couple; for a family they just don't work. Book a different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

As a Nurse I work hard, this is my second experience staying in this new property. The two bedroom suite accommodated my family of 5 quite nicely. The showers are hot, the beds comfortable, the staff friendly and polite until you challenge them. upon checking IN I was quoted a price, at checkout one night was 48.00 more than what I was told, the manager a Mrs. Liberty Barajas was unable or unwilling to honor the quoted price by her staff. it is unfortunate that Marriot cannot simply address this issue, I am not a cheap person, but I do have a standard that what is stated in a price is honored outside usual and customary circumstances. Below is the email dialogue for each person to consider the merits at will...
GET YOUR ROOM RATE IN WRITING
Mr. Tjalas,

I apologize, however without anything stating the rate of $169 I am
unable to honor your request. I will say this Mr. Tjalas, if you do
reach out to Marriott they will forward it back to me to reply to.


Warm Regards,

Liberty Barajas
Assistant General Manager I TownePlace Suites by Marriott Carlsbad-Vista
I


Tel 760.216.6010 I Fax 760.216.6090 Iwww.towneplacesuites.com/SANVI


-----Original Message-----
From: kirk
Sent: Wednesday, July 04, 2012 9:39 AM
To: Barajas, Liberty
Subject: Re: Room rate disclosure

I have your customer service representatives word why else would I bring
up this issue I am an educated professional I have no reason or
inclination to squabble over 50.00 it's a matter of principle I was
quoted a price for Saturday night and that price should be honored
either your going to honor it or your not. Please clarify your position
regarding this matter as I stated in my earlier email I am a reasonable
person who is busy as many other executives, however if I don't hold
people to their word then I am not credible as a person or a business, I
have these same expectations from companies I procure and purchase
services from. If you cannot correct this oversight please state that
clearly so I may contact a member of customer relations at marriot
corporate headquarters
Kirk Tjalas PHD, RN CEO
Victory Medical Solutions LLC

On Jul 4, 2012, at 8:27 AM, "Barajas, Liberty"
<Liberty.Barajas@marriott.com> wrote:

> My. Tjalas,
>
> If you have anything that states the $169 rate for the Two Bedroom
Suite
> I would be more than happy to honor it.
>
>
> Warm Regards,
>
> Liberty Barajas
> Assistant General Manager I TownePlace Suites by Marriott
Carlsbad-Vista
> I
>
>
> Tel 760.216.6010 I Fax 760.216.6090 Iwww.towneplacesuites.com/SANVI
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: kirk
> Sent: Wednesday, July 04, 2012 8:02 AM
> To: Barajas, Liberty
> Subject: Re: Room rate disclosure
>
> So at time of reservation I am quoted the wrong price and this is my
> fault I paid 50 dollars more than I was quoted and your attitude is
> "sorry for the miscommunication " I have a choice where I stay and I
> will stay somewhere else. I also am a marriot rewards member I travel
> twice a month and stay at various marriot hotels. This should be fixed
> but this casual reply is clear that it does not matter I am not
> disputing the entire stay only the one night I was quoted wrong that
> price should be honored I will give you Ann opportunity to correct
this
> if not I will write to the corporate office, I am a intentional person
> who owns my own home health company, if I took the time out of my busy
> executive day to compose this email I assure you I will continue to
seek
> an audience if I do not receive the reasonable accommodation I am
> looking for in the fact that your company should honor the price I was
> quoted at time of reservation when I called the property directly.
Thank
> you for your time and attention related to this matter
>
> Kirk Tjalas PHD, RN CEO
>
> Victory Medical Solutions LLC
>
> On Jul 4, 2012, at 7:53 AM, "Barajas, Liberty"
> <Liberty.Barajas@marriott.com> wrote:
>
>> Good Morning Mr. Kirk,
>>
>> I apologize for the delay in my response as I was not in yesterday.
I
>> spoke with Katelyn this morning regarding your concerns.
> Unfortunately
>> she is correct. We do not offer a $169 rate for our Two Bedroom
> Suites,
>> those are our prime rooms and have not offered rates close to those
>> since January.
>>
>> I apologize for any miscommunication that transpired.
>>
>>
>> Warm Regards,
>>
>> Liberty Barajas
>> Assistant General Manager I TownePlace Suites by Marriott
> Carlsbad-Vista
>> I
>>
>>
>> Tel 760.216.6010 I Fax 760.216.6090 Iwww.towneplacesuites.com/SANVI
>>
>>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> From: kirk
>> Sent: Tuesday, July 03, 2012 11:18 AM
>> To: Barajas, Liberty
>> Cc
>> Subject: Room rate disclosure

I'm sending this email because when I checked out the room rate was supposed to be 169 for the first night and 208 for the second night
you cast received reflects that this is not the-case I has to think with
the manager on duty and I was told that Chris Johnson had no ability to
adjust this I have annual passes to Legoland and I stay at your
Resort every three months however if this discrepancy cannot be fixed I will
not be continuing to stay at your resort location anymore if you
Would like to discuss this or your mind please respond to this email or
call

Room Tip: great property get your rate IN Writing so your not surpised at check out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very well kept and pleasant suite at a nice senior rate! Convenient to attractions in the area. Reception staff was welcoming and service focused!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed in a studio suite and got an excellent senior rate. The room was large and clean. The bed was fine. Amenities were good: free and fast internet, adequate, if limited, choices for breakfast. All the staff were friendly, welcoming, and helpful.

Room Tip: Room faced the back and not the parking lot, so it was probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
Free Parking, P...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Free internet...
Show More
5.3 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Free Parking, I...
Show More
3.4 mi away
Vista Inn
Vista Inn
#8 of 10 in Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
5.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
2.5 mi away
Motel 6 Vista
Motel 6 Vista
#7 of 10 in Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Address: 2201 South Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista Hotel Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.