We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel for my needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista to your Saves list
TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 South Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very good hotel for my needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was working in San Diego and was looking for a suite hotel near a gym and a Starbucks. This gym fit the bill.

The hotel looked to be new along with most of the development in the area. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Check-in process went well.

There is a Starbucks just on the other side of the parking lot that is open at 4:30 AM. Nice for me as I was staying on east coast time. In addition there is a great 24 hour gym (1265 Laurel Tree Lane Suite 100 Carlsbad, CA 92011) nearby that only charged $30 for the week.

I was getting up early (2 AM) so the commune to La Jolla took about 20-30 minutes, but if you leave later expect it to be at least double that time.

This hotel does serve hard boiled eggs as part of the free breakfast.

The laundry room was large and the machines that I used were working fine. They also having a vending machine for laundry supplies in the launder room do you do not have to go to the front desk.

The hotel also has a nice small pool area.

I hope you find this review helpful.

Room Tip: To be close to the laundry, gym and pool, choose a room to the left of the building as you face it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
12
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles,CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The towneplace had excellent service during our stay. We checked in late at night and we needed milk for our two-year old. When inquiring at the front desk about the nearest supermarket, the front desk staff gave us some milk to tie us over us the morning. The shuttle service to Legoland was very convenient. The shuttle drivers were very friendly and engaging. When we were ready to be picked up, they arrived at the pick-up location in 1/2 hour. This saved us $12 parking at Legoland.
We had a two room suite and the beds were very comforable. They also have a decent breakfast in the morning with cereal, muffins, juice, and sausage/egg muffins.
Cons: As this is a pet hotel, the sofa still had a strong, lingering pet odor. Yet, the rooms were clean and odor-free. In addition, the sound proofing in the walls are very thin. If you have neighbors, they will wake you in the morning with showers/toliet flushes.
Overall, excellent service and comfortable accomodations!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with great amenities with one exception. We were traveling with children and the sofa bed was unusable. The children ended up sleeping on the floor on the cushions and extra pillows because they were miserable in the pull out sleeper. Do not expect to use it. We were there for several days and this was a constant problem that the hotel could not deal with.

Room Tip: The King Suites would be fine for a couple; for a family they just don't work. Book a different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

As a Nurse I work hard, this is my second experience staying in this new property. The two bedroom suite accommodated my family of 5 quite nicely. The showers are hot, the beds comfortable, the staff friendly and polite until you challenge them. upon checking IN I was quoted a price, at checkout one night was 48.00 more than what I was told, the manager a Mrs. Liberty Barajas was unable or unwilling to honor the quoted price by her staff. it is unfortunate that Marriot cannot simply address this issue, I am not a cheap person, but I do have a standard that what is stated in a price is honored outside usual and customary circumstances. Below is the email dialogue for each person to consider the merits at will...
GET YOUR ROOM RATE IN WRITING
Mr. Tjalas,

I apologize, however without anything stating the rate of $169 I am
unable to honor your request. I will say this Mr. Tjalas, if you do
reach out to Marriott they will forward it back to me to reply to.


Warm Regards,

Liberty Barajas
Assistant General Manager I TownePlace Suites by Marriott Carlsbad-Vista
I


Tel 760.216.6010 I Fax 760.216.6090 Iwww.towneplacesuites.com/SANVI


-----Original Message-----
From: kirk
Sent: Wednesday, July 04, 2012 9:39 AM
To: Barajas, Liberty
Subject: Re: Room rate disclosure

I have your customer service representatives word why else would I bring
up this issue I am an educated professional I have no reason or
inclination to squabble over 50.00 it's a matter of principle I was
quoted a price for Saturday night and that price should be honored
either your going to honor it or your not. Please clarify your position
regarding this matter as I stated in my earlier email I am a reasonable
person who is busy as many other executives, however if I don't hold
people to their word then I am not credible as a person or a business, I
have these same expectations from companies I procure and purchase
services from. If you cannot correct this oversight please state that
clearly so I may contact a member of customer relations at marriot
corporate headquarters
Kirk Tjalas PHD, RN CEO
Victory Medical Solutions LLC

On Jul 4, 2012, at 8:27 AM, "Barajas, Liberty"
<Liberty.Barajas@marriott.com> wrote:

> My. Tjalas,
>
> If you have anything that states the $169 rate for the Two Bedroom
Suite
> I would be more than happy to honor it.
>
>
> Warm Regards,
>
> Liberty Barajas
> Assistant General Manager I TownePlace Suites by Marriott
Carlsbad-Vista
> I
>
>
> Tel 760.216.6010 I Fax 760.216.6090 Iwww.towneplacesuites.com/SANVI
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: kirk
> Sent: Wednesday, July 04, 2012 8:02 AM
> To: Barajas, Liberty
> Subject: Re: Room rate disclosure
>
> So at time of reservation I am quoted the wrong price and this is my
> fault I paid 50 dollars more than I was quoted and your attitude is
> "sorry for the miscommunication " I have a choice where I stay and I
> will stay somewhere else. I also am a marriot rewards member I travel
> twice a month and stay at various marriot hotels. This should be fixed
> but this casual reply is clear that it does not matter I am not
> disputing the entire stay only the one night I was quoted wrong that
> price should be honored I will give you Ann opportunity to correct
this
> if not I will write to the corporate office, I am a intentional person
> who owns my own home health company, if I took the time out of my busy
> executive day to compose this email I assure you I will continue to
seek
> an audience if I do not receive the reasonable accommodation I am
> looking for in the fact that your company should honor the price I was
> quoted at time of reservation when I called the property directly.
Thank
> you for your time and attention related to this matter
>
> Kirk Tjalas PHD, RN CEO
>
> Victory Medical Solutions LLC
>
> On Jul 4, 2012, at 7:53 AM, "Barajas, Liberty"
> <Liberty.Barajas@marriott.com> wrote:
>
>> Good Morning Mr. Kirk,
>>
>> I apologize for the delay in my response as I was not in yesterday.
I
>> spoke with Katelyn this morning regarding your concerns.
> Unfortunately
>> she is correct. We do not offer a $169 rate for our Two Bedroom
> Suites,
>> those are our prime rooms and have not offered rates close to those
>> since January.
>>
>> I apologize for any miscommunication that transpired.
>>
>>
>> Warm Regards,
>>
>> Liberty Barajas
>> Assistant General Manager I TownePlace Suites by Marriott
> Carlsbad-Vista
>> I
>>
>>
>> Tel 760.216.6010 I Fax 760.216.6090 Iwww.towneplacesuites.com/SANVI
>>
>>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> From: kirk
>> Sent: Tuesday, July 03, 2012 11:18 AM
>> To: Barajas, Liberty
>> Cc
>> Subject: Room rate disclosure

I'm sending this email because when I checked out the room rate was supposed to be 169 for the first night and 208 for the second night
you cast received reflects that this is not the-case I has to think with
the manager on duty and I was told that Chris Johnson had no ability to
adjust this I have annual passes to Legoland and I stay at your
Resort every three months however if this discrepancy cannot be fixed I will
not be continuing to stay at your resort location anymore if you
Would like to discuss this or your mind please respond to this email or
call

Room Tip: great property get your rate IN Writing so your not surpised at check out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very well kept and pleasant suite at a nice senior rate! Convenient to attractions in the area. Reception staff was welcoming and service focused!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed in a studio suite and got an excellent senior rate. The room was large and clean. The bed was fine. Amenities were good: free and fast internet, adequate, if limited, choices for breakfast. All the staff were friendly, welcoming, and helpful.

Room Tip: Room faced the back and not the parking lot, so it was probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We come to this area frequently to visit relatives but were often disappointed with the choices in lodging available. Many offerings are not up to our standards. So we have always ended up at the Residence Inn by Mariott, but found that too expensive. We were delighted with this new offering by Mariott, the TownePlace. It is reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. There are a couple of downsides. The doors are heavy and close with a loud noise, but every new hotel has these nowadays. Seasoned travelers know to let the door close slowly and softly. Of course, a lot of the guests of this hotel are children and thus unaware of door etiquette. These are noisy beasts and the many we encountered here are no exception. Of course, any hotel in the vicinity of Legoland will have lots of these munchkins. Even so, the noise wasn’t too bad and limited to the morning hours. Be sure to ask for a room on the second or third floors here for less noise. Our room was great, smaller than the one at the Residence Inn but it had everything we needed – a small studio with stove, microwave, and fridge. There is a nice pool, fitness room, and business office with computers and printer. We enjoyed the pool area – no fire pit as with the Residence Inn, but the pool area was great for relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Anthony who we seemed to see every time we turned around. He is a great employee – attentive and kind. This is a great new find in the area and I think you will be as pleased with the amenities as you are with the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#28 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
5.2 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Address: 2201 South Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista Hotel Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.