We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine with one caveat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Save Saved
You added TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 South Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Vista
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine with one caveat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with great amenities with one exception. We were traveling with children and the sofa bed was unusable. The children ended up sleeping on the floor on the cushions and extra pillows because they were miserable in the pull out sleeper. Do not expect to use it. We were there for several days and this was a constant problem that the hotel could not deal with.

Room Tip: The King Suites would be fine for a couple; for a family they just don't work. Book a different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
7
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

As a Nurse I work hard, this is my second experience staying in this new property. The two bedroom suite accommodated my family of 5 quite nicely. The showers are hot, the beds comfortable, the staff friendly and polite until you challenge them. upon checking IN I was quoted a price, at checkout one night was 48.00 more than what I was told, the manager a Mrs. Liberty Barajas was unable or unwilling to honor the quoted price by her staff. it is unfortunate that Marriot cannot simply address this issue, I am not a cheap person, but I do have a standard that what is stated in a price is honored outside usual and customary circumstances. Below is the email dialogue for each person to consider the merits at will...
GET YOUR ROOM RATE IN WRITING
Mr. Tjalas,

I apologize, however without anything stating the rate of $169 I am
unable to honor your request. I will say this Mr. Tjalas, if you do
reach out to Marriott they will forward it back to me to reply to.


Warm Regards,

Liberty Barajas
Assistant General Manager I TownePlace Suites by Marriott Carlsbad-Vista
I


Tel 760.216.6010 I Fax 760.216.6090 Iwww.towneplacesuites.com/SANVI


-----Original Message-----
From: kirk
Sent: Wednesday, July 04, 2012 9:39 AM
To: Barajas, Liberty
Subject: Re: Room rate disclosure

I have your customer service representatives word why else would I bring
up this issue I am an educated professional I have no reason or
inclination to squabble over 50.00 it's a matter of principle I was
quoted a price for Saturday night and that price should be honored
either your going to honor it or your not. Please clarify your position
regarding this matter as I stated in my earlier email I am a reasonable
person who is busy as many other executives, however if I don't hold
people to their word then I am not credible as a person or a business, I
have these same expectations from companies I procure and purchase
services from. If you cannot correct this oversight please state that
clearly so I may contact a member of customer relations at marriot
corporate headquarters
Kirk Tjalas PHD, RN CEO
Victory Medical Solutions LLC

On Jul 4, 2012, at 8:27 AM, "Barajas, Liberty"
<Liberty.Barajas@marriott.com> wrote:

> My. Tjalas,
>
> If you have anything that states the $169 rate for the Two Bedroom
Suite
> I would be more than happy to honor it.
>
>
> Warm Regards,
>
> Liberty Barajas
> Assistant General Manager I TownePlace Suites by Marriott
Carlsbad-Vista
> I
>
>
> Tel 760.216.6010 I Fax 760.216.6090 Iwww.towneplacesuites.com/SANVI
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: kirk
> Sent: Wednesday, July 04, 2012 8:02 AM
> To: Barajas, Liberty
> Subject: Re: Room rate disclosure
>
> So at time of reservation I am quoted the wrong price and this is my
> fault I paid 50 dollars more than I was quoted and your attitude is
> "sorry for the miscommunication " I have a choice where I stay and I
> will stay somewhere else. I also am a marriot rewards member I travel
> twice a month and stay at various marriot hotels. This should be fixed
> but this casual reply is clear that it does not matter I am not
> disputing the entire stay only the one night I was quoted wrong that
> price should be honored I will give you Ann opportunity to correct
this
> if not I will write to the corporate office, I am a intentional person
> who owns my own home health company, if I took the time out of my busy
> executive day to compose this email I assure you I will continue to
seek
> an audience if I do not receive the reasonable accommodation I am
> looking for in the fact that your company should honor the price I was
> quoted at time of reservation when I called the property directly.
Thank
> you for your time and attention related to this matter
>
> Kirk Tjalas PHD, RN CEO
>
> Victory Medical Solutions LLC
>
> On Jul 4, 2012, at 7:53 AM, "Barajas, Liberty"
> <Liberty.Barajas@marriott.com> wrote:
>
>> Good Morning Mr. Kirk,
>>
>> I apologize for the delay in my response as I was not in yesterday.
I
>> spoke with Katelyn this morning regarding your concerns.
> Unfortunately
>> she is correct. We do not offer a $169 rate for our Two Bedroom
> Suites,
>> those are our prime rooms and have not offered rates close to those
>> since January.
>>
>> I apologize for any miscommunication that transpired.
>>
>>
>> Warm Regards,
>>
>> Liberty Barajas
>> Assistant General Manager I TownePlace Suites by Marriott
> Carlsbad-Vista
>> I
>>
>>
>> Tel 760.216.6010 I Fax 760.216.6090 Iwww.towneplacesuites.com/SANVI
>>
>>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> From: kirk
>> Sent: Tuesday, July 03, 2012 11:18 AM
>> To: Barajas, Liberty
>> Cc
>> Subject: Room rate disclosure

I'm sending this email because when I checked out the room rate was supposed to be 169 for the first night and 208 for the second night
you cast received reflects that this is not the-case I has to think with
the manager on duty and I was told that Chris Johnson had no ability to
adjust this I have annual passes to Legoland and I stay at your
Resort every three months however if this discrepancy cannot be fixed I will
not be continuing to stay at your resort location anymore if you
Would like to discuss this or your mind please respond to this email or
call

Room Tip: great property get your rate IN Writing so your not surpised at check out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very well kept and pleasant suite at a nice senior rate! Convenient to attractions in the area. Reception staff was welcoming and service focused!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed in a studio suite and got an excellent senior rate. The room was large and clean. The bed was fine. Amenities were good: free and fast internet, adequate, if limited, choices for breakfast. All the staff were friendly, welcoming, and helpful.

Room Tip: Room faced the back and not the parking lot, so it was probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We come to this area frequently to visit relatives but were often disappointed with the choices in lodging available. Many offerings are not up to our standards. So we have always ended up at the Residence Inn by Mariott, but found that too expensive. We were delighted with this new offering by Mariott, the TownePlace. It is reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. There are a couple of downsides. The doors are heavy and close with a loud noise, but every new hotel has these nowadays. Seasoned travelers know to let the door close slowly and softly. Of course, a lot of the guests of this hotel are children and thus unaware of door etiquette. These are noisy beasts and the many we encountered here are no exception. Of course, any hotel in the vicinity of Legoland will have lots of these munchkins. Even so, the noise wasn’t too bad and limited to the morning hours. Be sure to ask for a room on the second or third floors here for less noise. Our room was great, smaller than the one at the Residence Inn but it had everything we needed – a small studio with stove, microwave, and fridge. There is a nice pool, fitness room, and business office with computers and printer. We enjoyed the pool area – no fire pit as with the Residence Inn, but the pool area was great for relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Anthony who we seemed to see every time we turned around. He is a great employee – attentive and kind. This is a great new find in the area and I think you will be as pleased with the amenities as you are with the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

If you find yourself in this part of the world, you could do far worse than this property. Service was friendly and efficient, Internet is free, as is basic breakfast and wine or beer at happy hour.

Rooms are set up like small apartments. Kitchenettes are equipped with all basics, one of our rooms had a minuscule bathroom, the second room had a more spacious one. There are a couple of pieces of cardio equipment in a room on the ground floor, and a small pool/whirlpool.

The hotel is located in a strip mall that boasts a drive-thru Starbucks and a Mrs. Taco. We didn't get to try either.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

sofabed was so horrible, it was unusable as a bed. "king" bed in seperate bedroom was situated right next to the elevator shaft. Staff unhelpful and sometime non-existant. tried to ungrade to another suite or change to another property in the area, but the "manager" would not address any of our concerns, rather had front desk staff say no to all attempts to make our 4 day stay more enjoyable.
I am a frequent business traveler, our company uses marriott properties exclusively and i have always been accomodated with the utmost in professionalism......this site is the exact opposite. although the we had a great time at Legoland and the beach, the hotel was the most unpleasant hospitality experience we have had in a long time.

Room Tip: stay away from the one bedroom suites next to elevators (i think the few they have are). bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Address: 2201 South Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista Hotel Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.