We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cal-A-Vie Spa and Resort

Cal-A-Vie Spa and Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cal-A-Vie Spa and Resort
Save Saved
You added Cal-A-Vie Spa and Resort to your Saves list
2249 Somerset Rd., Vista, CA 92084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Vista
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Beauty everywhere indoors & out. All staff are knowledgable & helpful-a delight! They all go out of their way for you-spa and hotel are of the highest standard. Gorgeous decor and beautiful antiques. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
7
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have visited many destination spas over the years and I have to say that this was the very best (as well as the most expensive). But even at that cost, it can't possibly cover their expenses for each guest. Everything was fabulous. They listen to what you want and truly arrange your schedule, room location, meals accordingly. Food is delicious, rooms lovely, bathrooms spacious and well fitted out, beds extraordinarily comfortable. I was in Room 3 because I told them that I could not walk long distances. I loved the classes I attended and the treatments were outstanding. I am very critical of masseurs, but Eric was amazing! Other guests were interesting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently stayed at Cal-a-vie for 4 nights with a large group and it was truly remarkable. Upon arrival you immediately feel as if you've been transported to Provence. The fitness facilities and classes are first rate and the spa services are everything you could hope for after a morning of exercise. I really felt like I had earned my afternoon spa treatments. The fitness schedule and spa services are personally tailored and provided to you each morning. Even though you are provided a schedule, it is flexible and staff are available to make changes for you. And if you choose to stick to the full schedule, they provide for "rest & relaxation" time to stroll the grounds, sit by the pool or peruse th boutique. You tell them at the outset how many calories you want to eat per day and regardless of the calories selected and what they were normally accustomed to, no one in our group ever felt hungry and the food was excellent. We even bought the cookbook! The staff was very attentative yet unobtrusive. It is on the expensive side, however it strikes a remarkable balance of healthy living and indulgence!! Highly recommended for a quiet escape from the daily grind or a jumpstart to a healthier lifestyle!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Cal a vie is in Vista, CA about 42 miles from the San Diego airport. Vista is a stunning location for a retreat. The rooms were lovely and the service was very attentive. You can choose a 3, 4 or 7 day package. The longer the better. There are choices every morning for various exercise classes, or private instruction, starting with an optional hike at 6:15am. The afternoons were spent indulging your body with all the wonderful treatments available. There are some more gentle classes offered in the late afternoon. The grounds are lovely. The food was amazing. The portions are small but you can always ask for more. I never needed to. The meals are very satisfying. This is a place to splurge and enjoy. This is a very small spa, 30 gusts max.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton Landing, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have been to most destination spas and this one offers incredible luxury, fantastic food, phenomenal service, fun and innovative classes and great spa services. Beautiful accommodations and incredible furnishings throughout. You feel like you are in Provence. With a staff of about 4 to 1 you are taken well care of and just about any request is never denied. A health and fitness destination that goes above and beyond.

Room Tip: Great for traveling solo, with a friend or significant other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have never been to this type of spa and chose Cal -a-Vie based on their web site and program...wow it was amazing! The staff at all levels (admin, massage therapists, manicurists, trainers) was fantastic! SO friendly and helpful... The food - amazing!! My husband, who has been to many other spas, could not beleive how wonderful it was. The other guests were fabulous - we all had so much fun and tons of laughter.

The program works like this: meet at 6:15am for either a 2 mile walk or a hike in the hills. Breakfast at 8 and then 4 hours of classes ranging from yoga (all different types) to spinning, to weight intervals etc. Although they do set you up with a schedule you can choose to attend any class you desire and are not tied into anything. You can also just work out on your own. If you want to sit by the pool with a book instead you are free to do so. In the afternoon you have the spa treatments. There are also 'gentle' work outs and a walk in the afternoon if you prefer that.

They supply all your work out clothes - it is a very casual, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. They also do your personal laundry every day - so pack light!

Really a wonderful experience...looking at the calendar so I can figure out when I can go back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife has been going to Cal a Vie for a few years and, in a moment of weakness, I said I would join her for a short week this year. It was fabulous. The site is stunning, the facilities are world class and the staff was, almost without exception, the absolute best blend of skill and personality you could wish for. The food, even on a low calorie diet, was fantastic. I got a great week of working out, getting massaged, meeting wonderful fellow prisoners (my term for those of us lucky enough to be there), and eating great meals. Don't wait for your wife to cajole you into going, do it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cal-A-Vie Spa and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal-A-Vie Spa and Resort

Address: 2249 Somerset Rd., Vista, CA 92084
Location: United States > California > Vista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Vista
Also Known As:
Cal-a-Vie Hotel Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cal-A-Vie Spa and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.