We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Visalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Visalia to your Saves list
Marriott Visalia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Napa, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel location is in downtown area so it is very convenient to local shop and restaurants. The room was spacious and bed very comfortable. The décor is modern and pleasant to the eye. They a desk and free wifi for business travelers. They have a nice concierge lounge on the eighth floor for members who have gold or higher status with Marriott. Lots of snacks in the evening and very good buffet in the morning. We only stayed one night so we did not use all the facilities. I would recommend this hotel as it very clean and they have a good room rate.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    106
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
41
66
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waite Park, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I attended a convention at the Marriott consisting of about 850 people from 19 different countries. The facility was excellent --- clean, spacious, courteous staff, and excellent banquet food..

Our meeting moved here from another hotel which we had outgrown. It was a very good decision to make this move. Everyone was impressed.

My room was fine: quiet, clean, and comfortable. The bar and lounge facilities were great.

Top this off with shops and restaurants within very easy walking distance and you have an ideal package. If your looking for a great convention facility, I highly recommend the Marriott at Visalia, California

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, Director of Sales at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time for your awesome feedback. We love having events at our hotel, I'm so glad you've enjoyed your time here with us. Don't forget to recommend us for future and our associates are looking forward to having you back with us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night on the 8th floor, lounge floor. $259/night plus tax. No lounge services on Friday or Saturday morning. So definitely not worth it.

The room AC did not work well. When we opened the sliding glass door to the balcony for fresh air, the room was attacked by moths.

The bed was comfortable, but comforter had a cut on the surface. The room was generally clean, but is showing its age. When we first walked in, like others have reported, there was a very strong mildew smell.

Some of the staff were not very welcoming.

All in all, it's an okay hotel, but worth approximately $150/night. Next time I'm in the area, I'll stay at one of the nearby Fairfield Suites.

not recommended.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, Front Office Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I would like to apologize for the less the exemplary experience you had during your recent stay. I will immediately follow up with our engineering team to make sure your concerns are addressed immediately. Our team is committed to giving excellent guest service and I am sorry if we failed to meet your expectations. I have followed up with all appropriate departments to ensure that we take this as a coaching opportunity for our team. I hope that if you are in this area again we will give us another opportunity to host you brilliantly at our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a native Visalian, I can an honestly say the Visalia Marriott is the best hotel in Visalia. There are two other good ones (Holiday Inn and another new one I don't know the name of) but they are both 15 min out of town, near where 99 and 198 intersect and there is absolutely nothing out there to see.
I've stayed at this hotel several times for weddings, New Year's Eve, and once when my air conditioner failed in the middle of a heat wave. The staff is always friendly and accommodating and the rooms are clean and well kept. The hallways could use some needed attention but hey, I don't spend much time in hotel hallways so I didn't mind too much.
Visalia's Marriott is in the middle of our "downtown" area and an easy, pleasant walk to darling little shops, live theater, (Visalia is BIG on theater and it seems there is always a show being performed somewhere) a children's theater, Regal Movie Cinemas and many, many, restaurants. It's next to our convention center and a block away from our hospital. (I know it might sound like it but I really do have no affiliation with the hotel...I'm just trying to be informative.)
If you're coming to Visalia for a conference, meeting, or family visit, you will have a much better chance of staying busy and entertained if you stay at the Marriott than you will any other hotel in town.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The location was perfect, the little town across the street was cute with some good eateries and the staff were all very friendly. Would not give it 5 stars barely made the 4 stars in my opinion here's a few pro's and cons:
Pro's-
Location, staff was friendly, clean room, bar and restaurant on site with cappuccino/ Starbucks type facility- all a plus especially when there for a convention/ competition
Con's-
Room smelled very musky/ moldie - was happy we could crack the window! The walls are sooo thin you hear everything. No negative to the hotel but unfortunately for me the room next to me/ the wall sharing my headboard had a baby in it that still wakes 2 times at night. Again this is not a negative against the hotel but had they had a fan system that was louder or better insulation you wouldn't hear your neighbors conversations, TVS and babies.... The other negative I have is the amount of staff they have on hand when they know a lot of people will be there. We came up for a cheer competition - they had 2 people in the bar who I think were also the Starbucks and waitresses for the restaurant. Food was slow. Food was decent and the people were obviously trying to be attentive but it was still slow. If a hotel knows there will be a lot of people there have more help on hand.
Overall I would stay here again- I'd just know to bring my own fan/ noise machine and patience. I would recommend this location as long as people understood the above.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Dear Travelinmom2012,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we were pleased to have your organization stay with us. Through the experience we have learned how to better staff for such large groups. We want to thank you for being understanding to the things we sometimes cannot control, and yet build a stronger focus to improve other areas. Thank you again for staying with the Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center.

Sincerely
Visalia Marriott Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

Spent 2 nights. Friendly staff, clean rooms, it was ok. Because its next to the convention center i'm sure they have high high volume, ans as a result the rooms and hallways feel the wear and tear. Not at all saying its bad, but its not close to a 4 star either.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, February 16, 2015
Frequent1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am very sorry our current appearance was not what you had anticipated. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel. Unfortunately, this sometimes requires essential renovations in our guest areas.

Thank you again, we hope when your travels bring you to Visalia you will continue to make us your choice.

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I booked a last minute room to have some me time while in Visalia for the birth of my daughter's first baby and my first grandbaby (that sounds so old). Marriott is my "go to place" when I'm in town and not staying with my daughter. More attention to the hallway areas is needed, not bad, but some guests seem to think that leaving their fast food trash in the sitting areas on each of the floors is how you do things - room service trays from the night before are not picked up until afternoon from what I've seen in my two most recent stays. Front desk staff have always been VERY accommodating - as well as the bartenders - early morning coffee staff in the bar could use some counseling on her people skills starting with smiling. Rooms & beds are very comfortable. Location for walking up the next block for other dining is the draw for me.

Room Tip: On weekend nights, definitely ask for a higher room away from the lobby/entrance or elevators. Marr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, February 16, 2015
Janet S,

Congrats on your newest family member, we are so glad you choose our hotel. Thank you for your feedback, I will look into the hallway issues right away and follow up with staff. Thanks again for staying with us and congratulations.

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Visalia

Address: 300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Visalia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.