We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Visalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Visalia to your Saves list
Marriott Visalia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed here for one night. Ideally to go on to Yosemite next day, not far from the local shops and we had a comfortable bed and room.The receptionn staff were very helpful about local resturants. a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Woostershropshire,

Thank you very much for choosing our Visalia Marriott for your travels to our beautiful Yosemite National Park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our team prides themselves on service and will be happy to see they have met, hopefully exceeded, your expectations in Visalia.

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    102
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
39
64
19
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wish there were a rating option between Good and Very Good. I'd give this place 3.5 dots.

My husband and kids and I stay at this hotel frequently when visiting family in the area. There really aren't a lot of hotel options in Visalia, and we've pretty much tried them all. I'd say the Marriott is the best choice in the area, but not without drawbacks.

The lobby is really nice looking, and clean in my experience. The front desk is hit or miss but Chelsea is very helpful and friendly if you can get her. The hotel is pretty stingy about handing out breakfast coupons. I'm a Marriott Gold and breakfast for two is supposed to be included, but I usually have to ask for it, and I've had front desk staff argue with me about it (not Chelsea!) Last time I stayed I actually reserved and paid for a breakfast-included rate because I was sick of dealing with the resistance.

The rooms are just OK. They are older and need an update, and they can be noisy. Housekeeping does a good job, but the carpets need replacing.

The wifi is inconsistent and they should work on getting better speed/signal to all rooms. I've had to go sit in the lobby with my laptop in order to get adequate signal so that I could get some work done.

The restaurant breakfast is good. On the weekends they have an omelette station with plenty of options. The usual buffet is decent too. The two waitresses we most frequently have are both as sweet as can be. Visalians are generally nice people.

The big downside to this place is the parking situation. Because we are visiting family in the area, we usually spend evenings with them and return to the hotel late at night. On the weekends if you're coming back after 9PM or so, you're going to have trouble with parking. The parking lot is shared with the Convention Center directly behind the hotel, so every event held there has people parking in the Marriott lot. Yes, the Marriott staff put out a sign that says Hotel Parking Only, but that is completely ignored and unenforced. This particular aspect stresses my husband out and can make him antsy all evening, worrying about whether we'll have parking when we get back to the hotel. It's really a shame. For the amount of business the Marriott does, they could afford to have a security guard work Friday and Saturday nights and check for hotel room keys when entering the parking lot. The parking issue really needs to be fixed before I would consider this truly a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Sierras on a higher floor. The front side of the hotel can be noisy due to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Mamabearette,

Thank you for your extensive feedback. I am glad to hear overall you enjoy our hotel and amenities. I will certainly follow up regarding your gold awarded coupons, this should not be in anyway difficult to obtain. Each printed coupon is good for 2 people for a complimentary continental breakfast when our concierge lounge is closed on weekends. I apologize you had challenges in anyway.
We recently in late December upgraded our internet, I am not sure when you stayed last, but keep in mind the free internet is only for checking email etc., the upgraded WIFI will give you much more download capability and in fact is a complimentary upgraded with your gold status.
We understand there are some challenges with parking, as we share the parking with the convention center. We continue to make improvements on reserving parking as best as possible for our guests, if your travels bring you back to the area and you have any challenges please let our team know and we will help assist upon your return each evening.
Thank you again for letting us know,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in was fast, staff member polite & friendly. Room was clean, housekeeping was consistent and prompt. Beds were comfortable. No refrigerator (may have been available upon request but we didn't pursue it) and no safe in room. We did ask about that, I was told they could keep valuables at the front desk. Great location to access Sequoia National Park and easy walking distance to downtown restaurants. Starbucks coffee in the lobby.

The negative: PARKING, PARKING, PARKING. We were there Friday through Monday and two of the three nights the parking lot was completely full, absolutely no parking. I drove around for 30 minutes and finally someone left & I followed them to their car. There was a city lot across the street but we were told by hotel staff that there was no overnight parking. If they are hosting special events they need to designate parking for hotel guests. Ridiculous. Although the room was fine, Next visit to Visalia I will look into other accommodations based on not wanting to worry whether I have a place to park when I return to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
PadStevens,

I am glad that overall your experience at our hotel was positive, and that our staff was accommodating. I am however terribly sorry to here of your parking situation. We strive to secure our parking for our registered guests with staff and signage, so I will look into what might of happened. Please, if your travels bring you back to the area, just let one of our team members know and we will be happy to ensure your parking is accommodated by moving cars if needed.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good functional hotel with comfortable bed and spacious rooms..the pricing is a bit on the higher side but its a very convenient hotel to and back on to the freeway - either for LA or to the Sequoia national park..

breakfast is good (includes starbucks on request) and the staff is helpful

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay and our location near the downtown shops and restaurants. We hope your experience at the Sequoia's brings you back again to the area, thank you for choosing our hotel.

Sincerely,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I visited family in Visalia and booked accommodation here. The room was clean and spacious with a couple of nice room features worth mentioning. The first was that there was a buffet-like built-in in the room housing a microwave and refrigerator pair. Also, there was a coffee niche just inside the entryway and conveniently next to the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable with lots of fluffy pillows. There were also lots of plugins for the traveler with lots of devices. One item to improve on is a room safe would've been handy.

The hotel staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located near a vibrant downtown. We're staying here again when visiting next time.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Roger H,
Thanks for staying with us on your travels to Visalia, glad to hear that you enjoyed the concierge room accommodations, our friendly team, and the downtown area. Hope to see you when you visit the family again in town.

Sincerely,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

They need to update their furnishings, etc., but the hotel is still very comfortable, and the people who work there are first-rate. There is a good breakfast restaurant and bar (which serves Starbucks in the morning). There's also a nice outdoor pool and hot tub. There aren't that many choices in Visalia so this was a good one for us when we went to visit family for Thanksgiving. I've stayed there for years and always felt safe and at home, but it could use some loving attention. Also, Sequoia National Park is only an hour away, so that was a good activity the day after Thanksgiving.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the elevators as possible. For some reason you can hear them moving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, December 11, 2014
LynneS,
Thank you very much for your comments. We strive to maintain the highest standards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel. Unfortunately, this sometimes requires essential renovations in our guest areas. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our staff and amenities and have made us your choice when visiting Visalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Okay, I'll admit it: I've come to EXPECT a complimentary breakfast at hotels. Thus, it was an unpleasant shock to realize that there was nothing other that the obligatory Starbucks (NOT free!) in the hotel lobby. The hotel itself is up to snuff; the rooms are comfortable and the usual amenities present and accounted for...but if toddling downstairs in your jammies for coffee and a waffle is important to you, stay across the street at the Comfort Suites instead...

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Arlene744,

Thank you for choosing our Visalia Marriott. I am glad to here our amenities met your comfort. I did want to help clarify any confusion. While many of our Marriott brands offer a complimentary breakfast included in the hotel stay, our full-service brand (hosting just the Marriott red sign) continues to provide a robust breakfast that is not included as part of the room purchase. We do offer a Stay for Breakfast deal that includes breakfast in the room rate, please look for those at many of our Marriott hotels in the future, as they provide a discount to otherwise purchasing breakfast outside the room rate. Thanks again for your choice in hotels, we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Visalia

Address: 300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Visalia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.