We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, not very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Visalia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Visalia to your Saves list
Marriott Visalia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, not very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a night and loved the staff. The breakfast offered was wonderful. However, the room was not very clean. We found crumbs in our bed and hair on the bathroom floor. The location is great and close to downtown.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, May 14, 2015
We are sorry hear about the less than perfect stay you had at our hotel. We will make sure to share your feedback with the appropriate departement in order to make improvements at our hotel. We are glad that our staff was able to provide excellent service to you during your stay. Hopefully you will return to Visalia, and see significant improvements in our hotel sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    124
    33
    14
    6
See reviews for
51
76
20
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Mariot Hotel of Vasalia, California is located centrally in town and within easy walking distance to a number of restaurants. It has a somewhat spacious gym and pool and the bed is reasonably comfortable. Unfortunately, we made the mistake of not having booked a room in advance and it seems that the hotel’s policy is to charge such guests the full rack rate, which I usually never pay. Personally, I found the hotel to be somewhat overpriced given the town we were situated in and the myriad of other options available at far more reasonable prices.


We arrived in Carmel just before 9PM and already many of the local hotels has already been completely booked. We were fortunate enough to have bumped into some fellow travelers who recommended the Pine Inn (Carmel by the Sea) and we were quite pleased for their kind suggestion. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The room and the hotel were cute and cozy and quite quaint. Its location was very central and included free parking, which was a welcome relief after having had to pay what seemed to be a ransom at other hotels in nearby cities. One thing that could be improved upon is the $5 coupon off of the price of breakfast; with the price of breakfast being what it is these days and given the price of the hotel room I think it would make more sense to offer a more significant benefit. In perspective this is really a minor issue as we enjoyed our stay here, however perhaps the hotel can find another way to make breakfast at the hotel a more attractive option. Frankly we had no idea what was available for breakfast nor the cost. In any event we are sure you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
JimboBerlin,

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you were able to enjoy our downtown accessibility and hotel features and amenities. I understand your concerns, our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel we offer good value given our downtown location and full-service facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that I am truly sorry.

We hope to exceed them upon your return,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Marriott Visalia is a nice hotel with a great location. The convention side has a nice view of the city and mountains in the distance. There are many restaurants and small shops within walking distance. The Starbucks and hotel restaurant are both very good.

The downside is that the main street side of the hotel is a bit loud and I had trouble sleeping when I was on that side of the hotel. The workout room and spa were both only OK. I've seen a lot better in other Marriott's.

Make sure to visit Sequoia National Forest while you are in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the convention center. The main road on the other side is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Todd S.

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you were able to enjoy the Starbucks and our restaurant upon your visit. We sincerely regret the disturbance. Our downtown location can mean extra street activity, as much as we try to contain it. We will always do our best to meet your requests, we look forward to your return Visalia visit soon.

Regards,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here for one night en route from lake tahoe to palm springs. Plus points are a nice big car park. Quick check in and friendly lively bar, the hotel is within easy walking distance of main street where the bars and restaurants are. Rooms are spacious if a little dated. The concierge lounge is nothing to write home about. Food ran out at breakfast and i had to chase up the staff to restock the hotplates. It wasnt really worth it. Runny eggs, ovrrcooked bacon and stale bread. So to sum up its okay in parts good but not excellent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, May 14, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Rest assured, we have been working towards addressing the issues you encountered during your stay. Hopefully next time you visit Visalia, you will stay with us and see significant improvement at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I believe the hotel is in the process of being rebranded, so perhaps it and the staff were not at their best. The restaurant was shut for a convention/meeting of some kind- and odd thing for an hotel to do without an alternative eating place. The staff were blase about this, and not at all helpful. But to be charitable, they were perhaps feeling a little insecure. The location, thankfully, is handy for the main street with lots of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Mr. Skipper,

I apologize your experience was less than exemplary. We are certainly not being re-branded and am concerned how that impression came across to give you that feeling. Marriott Hotels and Resorts has create a new greatroom atmosphere, whereby our dining experience is a lounge lobby dining. Our dining room is open for breakfast and by popular demand, and the new greatroom experience efforts, we host our lunch and dinner in our lobby lounge. I apologize that we did not make that very clear, as you were unaware this was your option. I would love if you have the opportunity, please contact me directly, as I wish to understand more of your experience.

Regards,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foligno, Italy
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times and I would never change if I have to be near Visalia.
It is not far from Sequoia National Park, so if you are on the way from Los Angeles or San Francisco, you might stop and spend the night there. Walking distance from the hotel you have few good choices of restaurants: the Italian and the Brazilian ones are very good!
The parking is quite large and free of charge, so definitely a good place if you have your own or a rental car. Highway 99 is pretty close.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Gianluca, Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of your stay, our team appreciates your loyalty to our hotel during your central valley travels, we hope you come back soon and can enjoy more of the shopping and restaurants, it truly is a great community and place to explore.

Many Thanks,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is older but has been kept in very nice condition. The staff is good, the services seem to be good and it is very conveniently located. We were there on a weekend, so I can't comment on the concierge lounge. The air conditioning blew cold but has been set so that the room did not fully cool off but this hotel was better than most. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the charming downtown. The hotel gave us a map with 45 restaurants on it, all within walking distance on Main Street. See my review for Fazio's which was terrific. The hotel restaurant is only open for breakfast (very good) but dinner was available in the bar area. There was a big party going on in one of the convention rooms (it is close to or part of the convention center) so we didn't try the food. It looked simply but good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you, for your review, we are so glad to hear you got to enjoy the downtown Visalia experience. Our team looks forward to having you again, we would love to serve you in our new Marriott Greatroom, as folks seem to enjoy the evening atmosphere over the dining room. Thanks again for staying with us!

From all of us here at the Visalia Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#6 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Visalia

Address: 300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Visalia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.